Picture of author.

Jorge Amado (1912–2001)

Autor(a) de Gabriela, Cravo e Canela

135+ Works 9,086 Membros 192 Reviews 29 Favorited

About the Author

Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912. Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his mostrar mais politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor. (Bowker Author Biography) Jorge Amado has been called the greatest twentieth-century Brazilian novelist. He was born in 1912 in Ilheus, in the northeastern-most state of Bahai. This area serves as the backdrop for most of Amado's work, which reflects a deep appreciation of the Brazilian essence. Amado's works have made him a national figure in Brazil. Amado's early novels were shaped by a belief in Marxism, and relate the sufferings of humble fishermen and cocoa plantation workers. By the 1950s, he had turned his attention to the plight of middle-class Bahains. This more jovial approach brought him worldwide acclaim, and his keen comic sense and appreciation of the common man have drawn comparisons to the novels of Charles Dickens. Music, cuisine, and passion figure prominently in Amado's literary output. Amado's works have been translated from Portuguese into more than forty languages, have sold over fifty million copies worldwide, and have been reworked for film, television, and stage. His portraits of commanding female characters, including Gabriela from Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon, and Dona Flor from Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands, have been adapted to the screen, and actress Sonia Braga earned her initial success in these roles. Other titles include The Sand Captains; Memory of a Child; The War of the Saints; and Home Is the Sailor. (Bowker Author Biography) mostrar menos
Image credit: Courtesy of Serpent's Tail Press

Séries

Obras de Jorge Amado

Gabriela, Cravo e Canela (1958) 1,480 cópias
Dona Flor e seus dois Maridos (1966) 1,334 cópias
Capitães da Areia (1937) — Autor — 890 cópias
Tent of Miracles (1969) 480 cópias
Home Is the Sailor (1959) 360 cópias
The War of the Saints (1988) 303 cópias
Sea of Death (1936) — Autor — 293 cópias
The Violent Land (1943) 288 cópias
Tieta do Agreste (1977) 285 cópias
Showdown (1989) 284 cópias
Jubiabá (1935) — Autor — 280 cópias
Shepherds of the Night (1980) 217 cópias
Cacao (1933) 158 cópias
Pen, Sword, Camisole (1979) 156 cópias
The Golden Harvest (1944) 106 cópias
Bahia de tous les saints (1945) 104 cópias
Il paese del carnevale (1931) 89 cópias
Seara Vermelha (1946) 86 cópias
Suor (1934) 76 cópias
Agonia della notte (1954) 46 cópias
Menino Grapiúna (1982) 40 cópias
ABC de Castro Alves (1987) 27 cópias
La Palla Innamorata (1998) 22 cópias
O amor do soldado (1973) 21 cópias
Capeta Carybé, O (1996) 11 cópias
Los coroneles 11 cópias
The Miracle of the Birds (1983) 10 cópias
Leute aus Bahia. (1933) 8 cópias
Hora da Guerra (Portuguese) (2008) 7 cópias
Romanzi - Volume II (2002) 6 cópias
Essencial Jorge Amado (2010) 5 cópias
In giro per le Americhe (2004) 4 cópias
Morte Nas Nuvens (2000) 3 cópias
o compadre de ogum Ed. 2013 (2013) 2 cópias
Cinco histórias. (2004) 2 cópias
Seara Vermelha 1 exemplar(es)
Cacau 1 exemplar(es)
Fotobiografia 1 exemplar(es)
Kindheit in Grapiuna 1 exemplar(es)
LITERATURA BRASILEIRA 1 exemplar(es)
Suor, 45ª edição 1 exemplar(es)
Bahia Colorida 1 exemplar(es)
os ásperos tempos I 1 exemplar(es)
o amor de soldado 1 exemplar(es)
o gato malhado 1 exemplar(es)
perminio asfora 1 exemplar(es)
DEN BLODDRÄNKTA JORDEN 1 exemplar(es)
Titel aus Agreste 1 exemplar(es)
Obra conjunta 1 exemplar(es)
Kultahedelm maa (1944) 1 exemplar(es)
Viva o Povo Brasileiro 1 exemplar(es)
Obras de Jorge Amado. 4, Jubiaba — Autor — 1 exemplar(es)
Země zlatých plodů 1 exemplar(es)
Amado Jorge 1 exemplar(es)
Jubiabá — Autor — 1 exemplar(es)
Tendas dos milagres 1 exemplar(es)
As Mortes e o Triunfo de Rosalinda (2010) 1 exemplar(es)
Mucizeler Dükkanı 1 exemplar(es)
Alınteri 1 exemplar(es)
Jorge Amado 1 exemplar(es)
Kizgin Toprak (2008) 1 exemplar(es)
רועי-לילה 1 exemplar(es)
A B C de Castro Alves 1 exemplar(es)
Bahia Boa Terra Bahia 1 exemplar(es)

Associated Works

Grande Sertão: Veredas (1956) — Introdução, algumas edições977 cópias
The Eye of the Heart: Short Stories from Latin America (1973) — Contribuinte — 154 cópias
A Hammock Beneath the Mangoes: Stories from Latin America (1991) — Contribuinte — 148 cópias
Queremos tanto a Julio: 20 autores para Cortázar (1984) — Contribuinte — 4 cópias

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Nome padrão
Amado, Jorge
Nome de batismo
Jorge Leal Amado de Faria
Outros nomes
AMADO DE FARIA, Jorge
AMADO, Jorge
Data de nascimento
1912-08-10
Data de falecimento
2001-08-06
Local de enterro
Cremated, Ashes in his garden
Sexo
male
Nacionalidade
Brazil
Local de nascimento
Itabuna, Brazil
Local de falecimento
Salvador, Brazil
Locais de residência
Itabuna, Bahia, Noordoost-Brazilië
Salvador de Bahia, Brazilië
Ocupação
politician
writer
Relacionamentos
Gattai, Zelia (wife)
Organizações
Brazilian Academy of Letters
Premiações
Prêmio Nacional de Romance do Instituto Nacional do Livro (1959)
Prêmio Graça Aranha (1959)
Prêmio Paula Brito (1959)
Prêmio Jabuti (1959)
Prêmio Jabuti (1995)
Prêmio Luísa Cláudio de Sousa, do Pen Club do Brasil (1959) (mostrar todas 14)
Prêmio Carmen Dolores Barbosa (1959)
Troféu Intelectual do Ano (1970)
Prêmio Fernando Chinaglia, Rio de Janeiro (1982)
Prêmio Nestlé de Literatura, São Paulo (1982)
Prêmio Brasília de Literatura (Conjunto de obras, 1982))
Prêmio Moinho Santista de Literatura (1984)
Prêmio BNB de Literatura (1985)
Prêmio Camões (1995)
Pequena biografia
Blurb: Jorge Amado, geboren in 1912, wordt beschouwd als de grootste schrijver in Brazilië. Met meer dan 8 miljoen exemplaren van zijn boeken in druk is hij de spreekbuis en getuige van zijn geliefde volk. Hij weet zowel hun armoede als hun strijd, hun hartstochten en hun dromen op onnavolgbare wijze op te roepen. Amper 19 jaar oud publiceerde Amado zijn eerste werk en reeds op 23-jarige leeftijd was hij een der succesvolste auteurs van Zuid-Amerika. De tientallen romans die deze eminente volksverteller heeft gecreëerd, waaronder de internationale bestsellers Gabriele, Dona Flore en haar twee echtgenoten, Vlinders van de nacht en Tereza Batista, zijn vertaald in 45 talen en gepubliceerd in 60 landen. Tocaia Grande, in drie haar tijd geschreven, is de meest gedurfde en meest luisterrijke roman uit Amado’s roemrijke schrijversloopbaan. Deze wonderlijke, onvergetelijke geschiedenis van een werkelijk unieke stad, waarin opnieuw de zelfkant van de Braziliaanse samenleving centraal staat, is wederom onmiddelijk een wereldwijde bestseller geworden (flaptekst).

Membros

Discussions

Group Read, May 2016: Gabriela, Cinnamon and Clove em 1001 Books to read before you die (Maio 2016)

Resenhas

Desde o seu lançamento, em 1937, Capitães da Areia causou escândalo: inúmeros exemplares do livro foram queimados em praça pública, por determinação do Estado Novo. Ao longo de sete décadas a narrativa não perdeu viço nem atualidade, pelo contrário:a vida urbana dos meninos pobres e infratores ganhou contornos trágicos e urgentes. Várias gerações de brasileiros sofreram o impacto e a sedução desses meninos que moram num trapiche abandonado no areal do cais de Salvador, vivendo à margem das convenções sociais. Verdadeiro romance de formação, o livro nos torna íntimos de suas pequenas criaturas, cada uma delas com suas carências e suas ambições: do líder Pedro Bala ao religioso Pirulito, do ressentido e cruel Sem-Pernas ao aprendiz de cafetão Gato, do sensato Professor ao rústico sertanejo Volta Seca. Com a força envolvente da sua prosa, Jorge Amado nos aproxima desses garotos e nos contagia com seu intenso desejo de liberdade.… (mais)
 
Marcado
AlbertLeonhardGieg | outras 20 resenhas | Aug 9, 2023 |
Uma jovem simples, às vezes ingênua, às vezes loucamente sensual, trabalha no bar Vesúvio, na cidade de Ilhéus, e está apaixonada pelo dono, que desaprova a forma como ela seduz homens sem necessariamente os querer. Apesar do pano de fundo político e social, Amado aqui abandonou os temas sociais que lhe haviam marcado a carreira de romancista - em obras como Terras do Sem Fim, Jubiabá, Mar Morto e outros
 
Marcado
jgcorrea | outras 25 resenhas | Oct 4, 2022 |
Seu Irmão josé partira porque a visão dos cangaceiros, da sua bárbara e ruidosa alegria, da sua liberdade defendida a tiros todos os dias, fora irresistível. Como poderia ficar na fazenda depois de tê-los vistos? Já antes partira jão, o irmão mais velho.
 
Marcado
bibliotecaceres | 1 outra resenha | Jul 20, 2022 |
1a. Edição - 150mil exemplares
 
Marcado
HelioKonishi | outras 8 resenhas | Jun 15, 2021 |

Listas

Prêmios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
135
Also by
5
Membros
9,086
Popularidade
#2,646
Avaliação
3.9
Resenhas
192
ISBNs
756
Idiomas
21
Favorito
29

Tabelas & Gráficos