Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The Cold Dish: A Walt Longmire Mystery (Walt…
Carregando...

The Cold Dish: A Walt Longmire Mystery (Walt Longmire Mysteries) (original: 2004; edição: 2012)

de Craig Johnson

Séries: Walt Longmire (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2,2001387,238 (3.99)384
Fiction. Literature. Mystery. Western. HTML:

Introducing Wyoming??s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting first Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of Wolves
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming??s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire??s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at
… (mais)

Membro:Janedb
Título:The Cold Dish: A Walt Longmire Mystery (Walt Longmire Mysteries)
Autores:Craig Johnson
Informação:Penguin Books (2012), Paperback, 400 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

The Cold Dish de Craig Johnson (2004)

  1. 30
    Iron Lake de William Kent Krueger (sjmccreary)
    sjmccreary: similar remote locations, small towns near Indian reservations, both are cold weather settings
  2. 00
    The Inland Sea de Sam Clark (MM_Jones)
    MM_Jones: Mystery with lots of local color and great characters. Small town police depending on legwork and intuition.
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 384 menções

Inglês (135)  Espanhol (1)  Francês (1)  Todos os idiomas (137)
Mostrando 1-5 de 137 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Very strong for a series opener…with complex characters who have long histories together.I always have problems with plots that involve rape and especially violence toward children.it is handled well here and I’ll definitely try more books in the series. The settings and bits of culture and folklore make it absolutely fascinating ( )
  cspiwak | Mar 6, 2024 |
Johnson does a good job of evoking the landscape and the people of Wyoming. The story covers a series of revenge killings, and Sheriff Longmire's reluctant pursuit of the murderer. The victims pretty much deserved what they got, IMHO. I enjoyed following this dogged lawman as he put the clues together. The story did drag in places, and I thought the solution kind of came out of nowhere, but overall it was a satisfying read. ( )
  TheGalaxyGirl | Jan 31, 2024 |
1st in series. KIRKUS REVIEWRevenge killings disrupt the serenity of a small western community and greatly complicate life for a sheriff nearing retirement.Kent Haruf?s readers will feel immediately comfortable in newcomer Johnson?s Absaroka County. Everybody in the beautiful, isolated Wyoming area knows each other. Conversations are spare and, if not always irony-free, certainly lacking coastal self-pity, analysis, or politics. And the inhabitants are smart enough to handle their own business, even when that business is murder and the clues are few. Responsibility for solutions rests in the broad hands of Sheriff Walt Longmire, Vietnam Marine veteran and widower, overweight, and excessively fond of beer. The victims are two of the four local high-school boys who got off way too lightly for the rape of and assault on Melissa Little Bird, a mentally disabled Cheyenne girl. Longmire realizes after the first murder that if his plan to name his successor is to succeedtricky enough even before the murders, since his fondest wish is to pass the badge to Deputy Victoria Moretti, a foul-mouthed but extremely capable Philadelphian¥he?s going to have to solve things before the state police muscle in. Considerable assistance with the police work comes to Walt from Cheyenne publican Henry Standing Bear, the sheriff?s best friend and also a Vietnam vet. Henry is Walt?s Virgil as the sheriff steps onto the local reservation. Melissa had many friends and a large family, and feelings ran high after the rape. Bullets at the crime scene seem to have come from an elegant 19th-century rifle like the one owned by Melissa?s father. Moving carefully (the pace is exceptionally deliberate), Walt reconstructs crime scenes and picks through lab analyses, but the sparse clues are slow to yield their truths. Indian spirits step in to help, but they don?t solve the puzzle. Walt does.The police work comes slow and the solution comes out of nowhere, but Johnson?s gorgeous Wyoming and agreeable characters make the trip very, very pleasant.
  bentstoker | Jan 26, 2024 |
(2005) First in Longmire series introduces Sheriff in Durant Wyoming who is not young but is trying to fill the shoes of a retiring sheriff with a staff that doesn't really want to work with him and an Indian friend who is one of the suspects in the murder of one of 4 men who had been accused of raping a native American girl years ago. When he solves the case, discovers that it is the woman he almost gets involved with who was raped by her father as an adolescent and is taking revenge for the other girl's rape.(PW) A strong sense of place, a credible plot and deft dialogue lift Johnson's good-humored debut novel, the first of a new series, set in Bighorn Mountain country. Walt Longmire, the veteran sheriff of Absaroka County, Wyo., usually has little to do on his patrols. When Cody Pritchard is found shot to death near the Cheyenne reservation, everyone, including Deputy Victoria Moretti, a transplanted Philadelphian, believes he died in an accident. But two years earlier, Cody was one of four high schoolers convicted of raping a young Native American girl. All were given suspended sentences, and when another of the four turns up dead, it appears that someone is out for revenge. As fear mounts, Sheriff Longmire feels tension in the air between the white population and the Native American community, and he's not pleased to think that his lifelong friend, Henry Standing Bear, might be directly involved in the murders. While the prose could stand tautening at times simply to up the suspense, Johnson has made an assured start that should appeal to a wide range of mystery fans.
  derailer | Jan 25, 2024 |
I'm a fan of the Longmire TV show on A&E and decided to read the books that the series is based on. This version of Longmire and the crew from Absaroka county is a little different from the one I am used to but I enjoyed this Western mystery and it was perfect to read while on vacation. There are 16 books in this series and I'm not sure if I'll make it through them all but I have already started on the second one.

( )
  hmonkeyreads | Jan 25, 2024 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 137 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Johnson, Craigautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Guidall, GeorgeNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Revenge is a dish best served cold. --Pierre Ambroise Francois Choderlos de La Clos, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For
The Dairy Princess of Wayne Count
And the Crack Shot of Cabell ...
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
"Bob Barnes says they got a dead body out on BLM land."
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

Fiction. Literature. Mystery. Western. HTML:

Introducing Wyoming??s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting first Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of Wolves
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming??s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire??s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.
With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Classificação decimal de Dewey (CDD)

813.6Literature English (North America) American fiction 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (3.99)
0.5 2
1 6
1.5
2 21
2.5 4
3 94
3.5 62
4 286
4.5 32
5 178

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 205,931,221 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível