Página inicialGruposDiscussãoExplorarZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

A Theory of Relativity de Jacquelyn Mitchard
Carregando...

A Theory of Relativity (original: 2001; edição: 2002)

de Jacquelyn Mitchard (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
5791031,994 (3.36)5
"[An]astonishing pleasure." --Seattle Times   "A graceful, moving, and compelling novel. Jacquelyn Mitchard at her finest." --Scott Turow, author of Innocent   A poignant and unforgettable novel from Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of the monumental New York Times bestsellers The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity is a powerful tale that explores the emotional dynamics and dramas of two families fighting for custody of a young child. The very first author selected by the Oprah Book Club, Mitchard is a matchless, wise, and warm chronicler of families and their human foibles--and A Theory of Relativity is contemporary women's fiction at its best, a must-read for fans of Sue Miller, Jane Hamilton, and Elizabeth Berg.… (mais)
Membro:KelleyDoan
Título:A Theory of Relativity
Autores:Jacquelyn Mitchard (Autor)
Informação:HarperTorch (2002), 416 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Work Information

A Theory of Relativity de Jacquelyn Mitchard (2001)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 5 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 10 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I think this author has a way of looking at important issues that can happen in family life. The rights of adopted children in family inheritance was explained very well. Unfortunately she also can get long worded on things that have nothing important to add to the story. Although throughout the story the reader wants to have Gordon succeed in getting custody, he sure makes enough mistakes about his life to question it. Also it was never understood why Keefer's parents were changing their will right before they died so that the father's family would have custody. What happens to Delia's family solved the problem but I did not like the very ending of Gordon's way to live. ( )
  kshydog | Dec 13, 2020 |
This book took me ahile to get through. It was good but a little slow at times. It starts out with the death of a husband and wife who have a one year old daughter. It's about the conflict of the famiies over child custody. Arrangements for her were somewhat started because the wife was dying of cancer when the fatal car accident happened. Written though th uncle's point of view. ( )
  camplakejewel | Oct 22, 2013 |
I enjoy Mitchard's writing and feel she is adept at fleshing out her characters. This book was no exception. I particularly enjoyed the theme of what constitutes family and whether a blood tie is a mandatory requirement.

However, I grossly disappointed in the ending of the book. I am always upset when an author takes the time to craft a story and subplots complete with the problems and pitfalls that naturally occur in life - only to find ways to tie up all the loose ends in pretty bows for the ending. Sadly, this is what Mitchard seems to be attempting with this novel. I found the ending to be completely contrived and unbelievable. ( )
  ddirmeyer | Aug 6, 2012 |
Loved it! One of my favorite books ever! ( )
  jenny.whitman | Apr 9, 2012 |
I really enjoy her writing, because her characters are really well drawn. She does have a way of wrapping things up very neatly and a bit oddly in the last 2 books of hers that I've read, but I'll keep reading. A very good exploration of some of the loopholes in the law...in this case, adoption law, but really there are quite a few out there. I'd enjoy a conversation with a number of these characters, although I'm not crazy about the way Gordy treated women, Keefer excepted. ( )
  PermaSwooned | Apr 4, 2009 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 10 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Een aangrijpende roman over liefde en vergeving.
How swiftly the strained honey
of afternoon light
flows into darkness

and the closed bud shruggs off
its special mystery
in oder to break into blossom

as if what exists, exists
so that it can be lost
and become precious.

- Lisel Mueller, 'In Passing'
De belangrijkste verdienste van de aanduiding 'relativiteit' is het feit dat het ons eraan herinnert dat een wetenschapper onvermijdelijk deelnemer is in het systeem dat hij bestudeert...Kortom, zouden de natuurwetten voor iedereen hetzelfde zijn, ongeacht zijn plaats en beweging?

- Nigel Calder, Einstein's Universe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Voor Christopher en voor Maria Christopher
En voor Moochie
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Ze waren op slag dood.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Holandês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

"[An]astonishing pleasure." --Seattle Times   "A graceful, moving, and compelling novel. Jacquelyn Mitchard at her finest." --Scott Turow, author of Innocent   A poignant and unforgettable novel from Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of the monumental New York Times bestsellers The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity is a powerful tale that explores the emotional dynamics and dramas of two families fighting for custody of a young child. The very first author selected by the Oprah Book Club, Mitchard is a matchless, wise, and warm chronicler of families and their human foibles--and A Theory of Relativity is contemporary women's fiction at its best, a must-read for fans of Sue Miller, Jane Hamilton, and Elizabeth Berg.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.36)
0.5 2
1 4
1.5
2 14
2.5 2
3 36
3.5 10
4 34
4.5 4
5 13

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 164,503,004 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível