Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Another Man's Moccasins: A Walt…
Carregando...

Another Man's Moccasins: A Walt Longmire Mystery (Walt Longmire Mysteries) (original: 2008; edição: 2009)

de Craig Johnson

Séries: Walt Longmire (4)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
9925021,112 (4.06)140
Fiction. Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. HTML:

The fourth Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of Wolves
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love the fourth mystery in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson??s award-winning Longmire Mystery series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit drama series now streaming on Netflix. It delivers more of the taut prose, engrossing characters, beautiful Wyoming setting, and satisfying depth that reviewers have been hailing since his first book, The Cold Dish. In Another Man's Moccasins, the body of a Vietnamese woman dumped along the Wyoming interstate opens a baffling case for Sheriff Longmire, whose only suspect is a Crow Indian with a troubled past. But things get even stranger when a photograph turns up in the victim??s purse that ties her murder to one from Longmire??s past??a case he tackled as a Marine Corps investigator forty years earlier in V… (mais)

Membro:Janedb
Título:Another Man's Moccasins: A Walt Longmire Mystery (Walt Longmire Mysteries)
Autores:Craig Johnson
Informação:Penguin Books (2009), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 336 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

Another Man's Moccasins de Craig Johnson (2008)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 140 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 50 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I thoroughly enjoyed this entry in the Walt Longmire series, the first I'd listened to.
George Guidall's pace and diction was just right for the story, so much so that I didn't take advantage of the 'speed-up' available, and listened to it as read.

Through flashbacks prompted by the murder of a Vietnamese woman in Longmire's territory, we learn a great deal about his time in Vietnam, the corrupt underside of the
war, and the price everyone paid. We also learn about the price paid by Native Americans assumed to be brutal at home. I found it engaging overall, and will try to find the next in the series on Audio. ( )
  ffortsa | Mar 11, 2024 |
(2008) Walt Longmire gets back to Wyoming where he belongs. A dead Vietnamese girl is found near a water culvert with the obvious suspect being a tall silent and powerful Indian asleep there. From the obvious to the not so obvious sex trafficing ring with roots back to Nam where Walt became involved in stopping another ring. KIRKUS REVIEWA decades-dead Vietnamese bar girl plays a starring role in a contemporary Wyoming murder investigation.Walt Longmire, Sheriff of Absaroka County, has been acting as rehab coach for his daughter Cady, an assault victim (Kindness Goes Unpunished, 2007). But he's called away to deal with a dead Vietnamese girl alongside the highway. The murder trail leads to a derelict Crow Indian by the name of Virgil White Buffalo, but the case is complicated when a tattered photograph found in the girl's pocket shows Walt and a young prostitute back in the 1960s. How did this girl come to have this picture? Flashbacks show Walt reliving his war experiences and relationships but hardly prepare him for the arrival of Tran Van Tuyen, who claims to be the dead girl's grandfather. Meanwhile, Virgil's in lockup, wolfing down pizzas at the county's expense. There are indications that Ho Thi Paquet, the dead girl, was here illegally, perhaps a ?dust child,? the offspring of an American GI and a Vietnamese woman, and that another girl was traveling with her before she died. The sad resolution will do little to heal Asian/American tragedies past and current.The back story, with its venality, racism and murder, is riveting, and Johnson dovetails Walt's life then and now with great skill. Readers who've come to admire Walt's cohort, Henry Standing Bear, will want to award him the Medal of Honor for his war exploits.
  derailer | Jan 25, 2024 |
Another solid Longmire mystery this one delving into Walt's past as a Marine serving in Vietnam.

Good story but I prefer Wyoming to the chunks of this book set during the war.
( )
  hmonkeyreads | Jan 25, 2024 |
3.5 stars ( )
  dmurfgal | Dec 9, 2022 |
I love this series. This one switches between present day Wyoming and Vietnam around the time of the Tet Offensive. Walt's war experiences added a lot to both the book and to my understanding of the character. ( )
  tsmom1219 | Feb 24, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 50 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Craig Johnsonautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Aslanides, SophieTraductionautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
guidall, georgeNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Mollica, GregDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Sánchez, María PorrasTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Welch, DarrenArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Great spirit, grant that I may not criticize my neighbor until I have walked a mile in his moccasins. -- Old Indian Prayer
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Bill Bower and all those crazy bastards who flew off the USS Hornet and into those cold, gray skies on the morning on April 18, 1942 -- and everybody who ever threw a salute before and after.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
"Two more."
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

Fiction. Mystery. Suspense. Thriller. HTML:

The fourth Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of Wolves
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr, and Robert B. Parker will love the fourth mystery in New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson??s award-winning Longmire Mystery series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit drama series now streaming on Netflix. It delivers more of the taut prose, engrossing characters, beautiful Wyoming setting, and satisfying depth that reviewers have been hailing since his first book, The Cold Dish. In Another Man's Moccasins, the body of a Vietnamese woman dumped along the Wyoming interstate opens a baffling case for Sheriff Longmire, whose only suspect is a Crow Indian with a troubled past. But things get even stranger when a photograph turns up in the victim??s purse that ties her murder to one from Longmire??s past??a case he tackled as a Marine Corps investigator forty years earlier in V

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Classificação decimal de Dewey (CDD)

813.6Literature English (North America) American fiction 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (4.06)
0.5
1
1.5
2 5
2.5 2
3 47
3.5 26
4 147
4.5 21
5 83

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 205,931,056 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível