Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS de EVA RICE
Carregando...

THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS (edição: 2005)

de EVA RICE

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
9485316,962 (3.86)42
Set in the 1950s, in an England still recovering from the Second World War, THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS is the enchanting story of Penelope Wallace and her eccentric family at the start of the rock'n'roll era. Penelope longs to be grown-up and to fall in love; but various rather inconvenient things keep getting in her way. Like her mother, a stunning but petulant beauty widowed at a tragically early age, her younger brother Inigo, currently incapable of concentrating on anything that isn't Elvis Presley, a vast but crumblng ancestral home, a severe shortage of cash, and her best friend Charlotte's sardonic cousin Harry... Eva Rice's novel is an utterly engrossing read, in the tradition of Nancy Mitford and I CAPTURE THE CASTLE.… (mais)
Membro:cjwallace
Título:THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS
Autores:EVA RICE
Informação:HEADLINE REVIEW (2005), Paperback, 448 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Historical, Romance

Detalhes da Obra

The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets de Eva Rice

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 42 menções

Inglês (49)  Francês (2)  Húngaro (1)  Alemão (1)  Todos os idiomas (53)
Mostrando 1-5 de 53 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I picked up this novel because one of my favourite authors EVER, Elizabeth Wein, gave it an excellent review on Goodreads. I had absolutely no idea what it was, except that there were comparisons to Dodie Smith's "I Capture the Castle" which I vaguely remember reading and enjoying. I found this gem on the fifth page -- the main character, Penelope (who has a brother named Inigo!), talking about another girl she had just met: "She was the sort of person one reads about in novels yet raraely meets in real life, and if this was the beginning of the novel -- well! (5)"

Penelope is the tall, plain daughter of a father killed in the war, and a beautiful young mother just seventeen years older than herself. Her chance encounter and subsequent friendship with the charming and outgoing Charlotte brings excitement to her life that has been absent -- living in the giant old estate called Milton Magna Hall, a crumbling old mansion, is a rather dull existence, broken up only by her mother's alternating moods of guilt and emotion, extravagance and spending. Penelope also becomes acquainted with Charlotte's brother, Harry, who is infatuated with an American woman, Marina; he eventually hatches a plot to win her by convincing Penelope to serve as a foil.

I began this book with great hopes, and went merrily along for about half the book, at which point I started to feel disillusioned with the characters; with Penelope and Charlotte's gushing over the popular singer Johnnie Ray, with her mother's whims and emotions, and even with the seeming smallness of things that bothered Penelope, especially in contrast to the larger problems around her. While I was intrigued by the idea of American popular music taking the fancy of young English girls (as in a counter wave to the "British Invasion"), as the novel wrapped up, everything came together a la Daphne du Maurier, and I was left more than a wee bit disappointed, despite the charm and witty prose of the narrator. I would say this is about 4 stars for the first half, then slides down to around 2.5 towards the end, which makes me sad because I really really wanted to like it. ( )
  resoundingjoy | Jan 1, 2021 |
This was beautifully written and I felt fully immersed in the 1950's era as Eva Rice sweeps the reader from cocktail parties at the Ritz to duck suppers at Milton Magna.

The story is very much about Penelope but there is also the mystery surrounding some history between Penelope's mother and Charlotte's Aunt Clare. Although Penelope met Charlotte by chance and immediately became friends, it's almost like they were drawn to each other by a shared link to the past that they knew nothing about.

I enjoyed the part of the story where Harry hatches a plot to win back his ex-girlfriend, Marina. Penelope agrees to pretend to be in love with Harry in order to make Marina jealous. This was fun reading as Marina's jealousy was described in perfect detail whilst a little spark begins to glow between Harry and Penelope.

A lovely feel good story of tea parties, music and magic.

I received this book from the publisher via Bookbridgr in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Michelle.Ryles | Mar 9, 2020 |
mignon, donné
  Danielec | Jun 30, 2019 |
It started with a very intriguing meeting. Penelope is waiting for a ride when she meets Charlotte who convinces her to share a cab and then talks her into meeting her aunt and cousin for tea.

The girls are both in their late teens, but this is during the 1950's in England and they behave much older. Charlotte brings Penelope into her world by introducing her to her eccentric ain't and her spellbinding cousin Harry.
Penelope introduces Charlotte and Harry to her world, a dilapidated mansion, a younger brother and a mostly absent, strikingly beautiful and very young mother.

To further entangle their lives...Harry is still in love with his ex and convinces Penelope to pretend to be his girlfriend at some social events to make her jealous and maybe win her back.

It started off on a great note but just felt slow moving for a lot of the book. ( )
  Mishale1 | Dec 29, 2018 |
Charlotte pulls up in a taxi at a bus stop and approaches Penelope and asks if she'd like to share the ride. She actually convinces Penelope to go to her Aunt's house for tea.
The story is set in London in the 1950's.
Penelope lives in a castle with her widowed mother and younger brother Inigo.
Charlotte thinks the idea of living in the castle is grand, but truthfully, Penelope's family is poor and the castle is falling apart.
Charlotte is the most lively character of the lot and keeps the story going. There's a mystery between Charlotte's Aunt and Penelope's mother.
I didn't care for the ending, but I won't give anything away. ( )
  VhartPowers | Dec 27, 2018 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 53 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
She said that we must do something about the rooms. The walls were all damp and fur had settled on some parts of the wallpaper. But we just closed the doors and hurried down to the kitchen where it was warm.

—Edna O'Brien, The Lonely Girl
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Donald "Capability" Rice, who helped me invent Milton Magna
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
I met Charlotte in London one afternoon while waiting for a bus.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
'How tiresome it must be,' I said, 'being in love. I was always led to believe it would be the most wonderful thing ever.'

'Who on earth told you that?' said Charlotte in amazement. 'I've never known it to be anything other than torture.'
Men, I thought, were more trouble than they were worth. Really, one should stick to books where one sees the hero coming a mile off.
It was a funny question. Who was Papa? He was a million things that I would never know, and a million things that I had made him as a result of never knowing.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Set in the 1950s, in an England still recovering from the Second World War, THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS is the enchanting story of Penelope Wallace and her eccentric family at the start of the rock'n'roll era. Penelope longs to be grown-up and to fall in love; but various rather inconvenient things keep getting in her way. Like her mother, a stunning but petulant beauty widowed at a tragically early age, her younger brother Inigo, currently incapable of concentrating on anything that isn't Elvis Presley, a vast but crumblng ancestral home, a severe shortage of cash, and her best friend Charlotte's sardonic cousin Harry... Eva Rice's novel is an utterly engrossing read, in the tradition of Nancy Mitford and I CAPTURE THE CASTLE.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Melvil Decimal System (DDC)

823.92 — Literature English English fiction Modern Period 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (3.86)
0.5
1 3
1.5 2
2 19
2.5 3
3 51
3.5 19
4 95
4.5 13
5 71

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 162,484,807 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível