Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

What Waits in the Woods de Terri Parlato
Carregando...

What Waits in the Woods (edição: 2023)

de Terri Parlato (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
305782,193 (3.75)3
Her ballet career derailed by injury, a once-promising young dancer returns to her hometown only to face a grisly discovery - and the increasingly alarming realization that nothing from her past is quite what she believed - in this electrifyingly twisty suburban thriller for fans of Stacy Willingham, Greer Hendricks, and Megan Miranda. When Esme Foster left the Boston suburbs to become a professional ballerina, the future shimmered with promise. Eleven years later, her career has been derailed by an injury, and Esme knows it's time to come back to Graybridge to help her brother care for their ailing father. But her return coincides with an unthinkable crime. Kara Cunningham, one of Esme's high school friends, is found dead in the woods behind the Fosters' house. Esme is shocked and grieving, but also uneasy. In her dreams, she still sees the man who showed up at the scene of the car accident that killed her mother-and told Esme he was going to kill her too. Family and friends insisted the figure was a product of Esme's imagination, that she was concussed after the crash. But she and Kara looked alike, sharing the same petite build, the same hair color. Could Kara's murder have been a case of mistaken identity? Detective Rita Myers is familiar with close-knit communities like Graybridge, where, beneath the friendliness, there are whispers and secrets. The town has seen other tragedies too, including the long-ago drowning of a young girl in a pond, deep in the woods. Even within the once-close circle of friends that included Kara and Esme, Rita discerns a ripple of mistrust. Day by day, Esme discovers more about the place she left behind-and the friends and family she thought she knew. Soon, shining a light into the darkness to learn what really happened the night Kara died is the only way she can bring the nightmare to an end . . .… (mais)
Membro:michryder
Título:What Waits in the Woods
Autores:Terri Parlato (Autor)
Informação:Kensington (2023), 304 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

What Waits in the Woods de Terri Parlato

Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 3 menções

Exibindo 5 de 5
This is a pretty boilerplate mystery, but I liked this better than most. I appreciate that the two perspectives are both present day, I'm getting a little sick of past and present timelines being used to create suspense.
The setting and characters are believable, though the one main character who thinks someone is hunting her 13 years later is a little eyeroll inducing. ( )
  KallieGrace | Jan 18, 2024 |
Esmé has returned home after a failed ballet career and even worse relationship. She knows her father is in bad health and she needs to be there to help her brother. So, she is going to make the best of it. That is until her best friend from high school is murdered in the woods behind her home. This stirs up some memories of a past Esmé had hoped to forget.

I really enjoyed all these twists and turns. There are really two storylines moving throughout this novel…the murder and Esmé’s memory. I loved how the author wove these around each other. And NO, it does not turn out the way you think!

The narrators, Christina Moore and Leah Horowitz are wonderful together. I have said this before and I will say it again…I love a good tag team.

Need a good mystery with a kick…THIS IS IT! Grab your copy today.

I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review. ( )
  fredreeca | Jan 7, 2024 |
crime-thriller, fiction, mystery, suspense, dual-narrators, procedural, Massachusetts, friendship, former-ballerina, relationships, relationship-issues, nightmares, detective***

I really expected to love this, but I wasn't a good match this time. The alternating chapter narrations from Esme and Detective Meyers were a distraction as I wanted to skip around to make a better sense of it. The suspense was pretty good, the twists were inspired, but too many of the characters felt flat for me. But I am looking forward to the next in series.
I requested and received an EARC from Kensington Books via NetGalley. ( )
  jetangen4571 | Dec 28, 2023 |
Esmé Foster left Graybridge, Massachusetts eleven years ago to pursue her dream of becoming a ballerina. That dream was quashed when she developed a hip problem. She returns home on the day her best friend from high school is found murdered in the woods behind her family home.

As she renews her friendship with her old clique, suspicion falls on many of those close to her. It is up to Detective Rita Myers to solve the mystery. Secrets that have been hidden for years are revealed about many of Esmé’s friends, family, and acquaintances.

There is no shortage of possible suspects in this character driven, engrossing thriller. This dark tale of a small town is told from two POVs, Esmé’s and Rita’s. There are twists, turns, red herrings, and a surprise ending.

Although this book is not touted as part of a series, this is the second Parlato novel I have read featuring Rita Myers. She is a good detective who is sometimes “creative” in her pursuit of criminals. I follow a number of mysteries/police procedural series featuring strong,capable female characters and I am pleased to add this one to the list.

Thanks to #netgalley and @kensingtonbooks for the ARC ( )
  vkmarco | Nov 4, 2023 |
I received a copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley.

Esme returns to her hometown, where she was threatened on the night of her mother's accidental death, to find that the body of one of her childhood friends has just been discovered in the backyard of her father's house. The novel alternates between the perspectives of police detective Rita and Esme. I enjoyed this, and found the short chapters kept the story moving along, although there wasn't much to distinguish the two voices, despite the difference in their ages.

The resolution seemed rather over the top, and there were little details which didn't really tie up - was Esme always the last to be picked up after dance classes or did her mother always drive her and her three friends together? I'm not sure what purpose Rita's brother Danny served in the story - he was never tied in to the main plot, and her 'love interest' Joe, only made an appearance at the 98% mark.

An easy read, but I doubt it will stick in my mind. ( )
  pgchuis | Aug 5, 2023 |
Exibindo 5 de 5
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Her ballet career derailed by injury, a once-promising young dancer returns to her hometown only to face a grisly discovery - and the increasingly alarming realization that nothing from her past is quite what she believed - in this electrifyingly twisty suburban thriller for fans of Stacy Willingham, Greer Hendricks, and Megan Miranda. When Esme Foster left the Boston suburbs to become a professional ballerina, the future shimmered with promise. Eleven years later, her career has been derailed by an injury, and Esme knows it's time to come back to Graybridge to help her brother care for their ailing father. But her return coincides with an unthinkable crime. Kara Cunningham, one of Esme's high school friends, is found dead in the woods behind the Fosters' house. Esme is shocked and grieving, but also uneasy. In her dreams, she still sees the man who showed up at the scene of the car accident that killed her mother-and told Esme he was going to kill her too. Family and friends insisted the figure was a product of Esme's imagination, that she was concussed after the crash. But she and Kara looked alike, sharing the same petite build, the same hair color. Could Kara's murder have been a case of mistaken identity? Detective Rita Myers is familiar with close-knit communities like Graybridge, where, beneath the friendliness, there are whispers and secrets. The town has seen other tragedies too, including the long-ago drowning of a young girl in a pond, deep in the woods. Even within the once-close circle of friends that included Kara and Esme, Rita discerns a ripple of mistrust. Day by day, Esme discovers more about the place she left behind-and the friends and family she thought she knew. Soon, shining a light into the darkness to learn what really happened the night Kara died is the only way she can bring the nightmare to an end . . .

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.75)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 4
4.5
5

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 201,909,764 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível