Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect: A Novel…
Carregando...

Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect: A Novel (edição: 2024)

de Benjamin Stevenson (Autor)

Séries: Ernest Cunningham (2)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4201760,729 (3.68)21
Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. HTML:

From the bestselling author of Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone, a fiendishly fun locked room (train) murder mystery that "offers a tip of the hat to the great Agatha Christie novel while at the same time being a modern reinvention of it" (Nita Prose) perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz

When the Australian Mystery Writers' Society invited me to their crime-writing festival aboard the Ghan, the famous train between Darwin and Adelaide, I was hoping for some inspiration for my second book. Fiction, this time: I needed a break from real people killing each other. Obviously, that didn't pan out.

The program is a who's who of crime writing royalty:

the debut writer (me!)

the forensic science writer

the blockbuster writer

the legal thriller writer

the literary writer

the psychological suspense writer

But when one of us is murdered, the remaining authors quickly turn into five detectives. Together, we should know how to solve a crime.

Of course, we should also know how to commit one.

How can you find a killer when all the suspects know how to get away with murder?

.
… (mais)
Membro:sarahb86
Título:Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect: A Novel
Autores:Benjamin Stevenson (Autor)
Informação:Mariner Books (2024), 336 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect de Benjamin Stevenson

Adicionado recentemente porKulmaw, Joannlj, BethanieN1030, LozzasLibrary, biblioteca privada, lkernagh, Mmcneil014, ZeldasLibrary, mlvogel
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 21 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 14 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I didn't read the first book, but I don't think that mattered despite the frequent references to it - it's written into this book as if the author is the main character. This is another fun take on a traditional mystery trope, Murder on the Orient Express. I enjoy the meta mystery elements and found the characters enjoyable to spend a book with. ( )
  KallieGrace | May 8, 2024 |
I don't mind an author telling me that he's aware he's writing for readers, but in this book, it was done often, and often annoyingly. I gave in to the temptation to buy this book at retail price when I saw it in my local bookstore (99.9 percent of the books I buy are at used prices), and that was fun and impulsive, but I regret doing it because I won't read the book again. I liked his storytelling style; it really pulled me along; but there were two scenes that were ridiculously over the top. So ... don't regret reading it (though I do regret paying retail), and while I wasn't completely satisfied, I do find myself wanting to read the one before it - a title something like 'Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone.' But this time, I'll borrow it from the library! ( )
  ReadMeAnother | Mar 13, 2024 |
This is ok. The plot is over complicated. I found the style of narrating the book writing process as part of the plot to be an interesting idea in the first book. In this one, its just annoying. ( )
  grandpahobo | Mar 13, 2024 |
After the terrifying events the previous year, Ernest Cunningham has written a book and now he has been invited to take part in a Crime Writers Festival. The bonus is that it is a three-day luxury trip on The Ghan, a train from Darwin to Adelaide. Ernest boards hopefully but he finds his fellow authors quite unpleasant and there are obviously tensions. When a best-selling writer is murdered Ernest finds himself at the centre of a mystery again.
This time Stevenson's focus turns to homage of 'Murder on the Orient Express' and it's great! The detection is suitable opaque, the plot nicely twisty and our anti-hero quite engaging. Essentially this is a book which updates Golden Age writing and plot construction with a modern and very humorous attitude. ( )
  pluckedhighbrow | Mar 5, 2024 |
First sentence:
Hi ,
It's a hard no on the prologue, I'm afraid. I know it's the done thing in crime novels, to hook the reader in and all that, but it just feels a bit cheap here. I know how to do it, of course, the scene you want me to write.

Premise/plot: A handful of mystery writers board a train on their way to the Australian Mystery Writers' Festival. But not everyone who boards the train exits the train....still breathing. Hence, everyone on this train is a suspect.

Ernest Cunningham is the main character "author" who wrote the book Everyone In My Family Killed Someone based on a horrific family reunion. He's working on a second novel, hopefully a book not based on his personal life, but events of the train are proving challenging. If he survives the trip, then a second book has conveniently unfolded right when he needs it. (Though is that a motive for crime???)

Most all of the characters are new in this one--with the exception of his love interest.

My thoughts: I absolutely loved Everyone In My Family Killed Someone. I thought Ernest Cunningham was a delightful narrator. I liked the gimmick of it, the premise of it. In theory, I like the premise of this one as well. In theory. I didn't quite love this one. I'm not sure if I just wasn't in the right mood for it, or, if the first book was just better. I still like the main character, and, sometimes with detective novels, each mystery has a little bit of hit or miss to it. Some you just enjoy more than others all the while loving the detective character at the center of the novel. ( )
  blbooks | Mar 4, 2024 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 14 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores (3 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Benjamin Stevensonautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Smart, MeganNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Welch, BartonNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em Italiano. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. HTML:

From the bestselling author of Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone, a fiendishly fun locked room (train) murder mystery that "offers a tip of the hat to the great Agatha Christie novel while at the same time being a modern reinvention of it" (Nita Prose) perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz

When the Australian Mystery Writers' Society invited me to their crime-writing festival aboard the Ghan, the famous train between Darwin and Adelaide, I was hoping for some inspiration for my second book. Fiction, this time: I needed a break from real people killing each other. Obviously, that didn't pan out.

The program is a who's who of crime writing royalty:

the debut writer (me!)

the forensic science writer

the blockbuster writer

the legal thriller writer

the literary writer

the psychological suspense writer

But when one of us is murdered, the remaining authors quickly turn into five detectives. Together, we should know how to solve a crime.

Of course, we should also know how to commit one.

How can you find a killer when all the suspects know how to get away with murder?

.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.68)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 21
3.5 16
4 40
4.5 9
5 14

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 206,950,504 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível