Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind: A Novel de…
Carregando...

Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind: A Novel (edição: 2023)

de Molly McGhee (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaConversas
582457,000 (3.82)Nenhum(a)
"Molly McGhee reminds me of absolutely no one. Here's an original mind brimming over with invention and comic ferocity . . . [a] mad, hilarious writer." --Ben Marcus, author of The Flame Alphabet For readers of Patricia Lockwood and Ling Ma, a debut novel for the modern working stiff Jonathan Abernathy is a loser . . . he's behind on his debts, he has no prospects, no friends, no ambitions. But when a government loan forgiveness program offers him a literal dream job, he thinks he's found his big break. If he can appear to be competent at his new job, entering the minds of middle class workers while they sleep and removing the unsavory detritus of their waking lives from their unconscious, he might have a chance at a new life. As Abernathy finds his footing in this new role, reality and morality begin to warp around him. Soon, the lines between life and work, love and hate, right and wrong, even sleep and consciousness, begin to blur. Written with all the dramatic irony of Charlie Kaufman as written by Kurt Vonnegut, Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind touches on a theme most people know all too well--the relentlessly crushing weight of debt. A workplace novel, at once tender, startling, and deeply funny, Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind is a stunning, critical work of surrealist fiction. With a keen sense of her readers, a wry wit, and an undeniable dexterity with language, Molly McGhee's debut novel is a piercing critique of late-stage capitalism and a reckoning with its true cost.… (mais)
Membro:jimsob8
Título:Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind: A Novel
Autores:Molly McGhee (Autor)
Informação:Astra House (2023), 304 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:*****
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind: A Novel de Molly McGhee

Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Exibindo 2 de 2
Begins somewhat lighthearted with some great snarky sarcastic humor, but along the way it takes a very dark turn. ( )
  wellred2 | Jun 29, 2024 |
"A company always has multiple revenue streams. If you can't easily identify at least two, it's likely you're one of them." (page p214)

The collection of writers who wrote the blurbs sold this one to me. Usually, I don't need to read blurbs for a book, really just the names will tell me all I need to know. Ah, Jonathan Abernathy. It's all in the title. He tries! He tries so hard! And he has so much up against him! Another possible title could be 'Jonathan Abernathy You Are Naive" but I do see him as kind, even when he does bad things. The book here skewers labor and poverty and that endless hamster wheel. All while throwing in a surreal plot about auditing dreams to take out anxiety and depression to create more productive workers. The book is dedicated to "the forgotten who have been worked to death" so that just immediately hits hard when you open the book. It just really hits hard -- a book about labor, poverty, capitalism, that it really is a privilege to spend time in fiction, in books. So many people are working hard every day of their life to have a chance to give time or energy to something like literature, so it makes me appreciate books all the more, AND all the people who are out there working away at the hard jobs, whether physically or mentally. To tie so much about WORK to a plotline that is so bizarre, like dream auditing, is also an interesting feat. I love the realism of capitalism mixed with the bonkers plotline. So much is brilliantly, yet subtly, funnily said here! I *think* this is a systems novel? Though I haven't read many of them, so I can't say for sure. I really like McGhee's writing style, so I will be eagerly waiting for what she writes next. I would set this on the shelf beside 'The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida' by Shehan Karunatilaka and 'Subdivision' by J. Robert Lennon and 'The Visitors' by Jessi Jezewska Stevens and 'Severance' by Ling Ma. ( )
  booklove2 | Dec 2, 2023 |
Exibindo 2 de 2
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Molly McGhee reminds me of absolutely no one. Here's an original mind brimming over with invention and comic ferocity . . . [a] mad, hilarious writer." --Ben Marcus, author of The Flame Alphabet For readers of Patricia Lockwood and Ling Ma, a debut novel for the modern working stiff Jonathan Abernathy is a loser . . . he's behind on his debts, he has no prospects, no friends, no ambitions. But when a government loan forgiveness program offers him a literal dream job, he thinks he's found his big break. If he can appear to be competent at his new job, entering the minds of middle class workers while they sleep and removing the unsavory detritus of their waking lives from their unconscious, he might have a chance at a new life. As Abernathy finds his footing in this new role, reality and morality begin to warp around him. Soon, the lines between life and work, love and hate, right and wrong, even sleep and consciousness, begin to blur. Written with all the dramatic irony of Charlie Kaufman as written by Kurt Vonnegut, Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind touches on a theme most people know all too well--the relentlessly crushing weight of debt. A workplace novel, at once tender, startling, and deeply funny, Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind is a stunning, critical work of surrealist fiction. With a keen sense of her readers, a wry wit, and an undeniable dexterity with language, Molly McGhee's debut novel is a piercing critique of late-stage capitalism and a reckoning with its true cost.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.82)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 2
4 4
4.5
5 2

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 208,489,356 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível