Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

River Woman, River Demon

de Jennifer Givhan

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1078258,152 (3.42)1
Fiction. Literature. Suspense. Thriller. HTML:

Award-winning Mexican-American and Indigenous author Jennifer Givhan brings us an exquisitely written, spell-binding psychological thriller??weaving together folk magick with personal and cultural empowerment??that is perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic.

When Eva's husband is arrested for the murder of a friend, she must confront her murky past and embrace her magick to find out what really happened that night on the river.

Eva Santos Moon is a burgeoning Chicana artist who practices the ancient, spiritual ways of brujería and curanderisma, but she's at one of her lowest points??suffering from disorienting blackouts, creative stagnation, and a feeling of disconnect from her magickal roots. When her husband, a beloved university professor and the glue that holds their family together, is taken into custody for the shocking murder of their friend, Eva doesn't know whom to trust??least of all, herself. She soon falls under suspicion as a potential suspect, and her past rises to the surface, dredging up the truth about an eerily similar death from her childhood.

Struggling with fragmented memories and self-doubt, an increasingly terrified Eva fears that she might have been involved in both murders. But why doesn't she remember? Only the dead women know for sure, and they're coming for her with a haunting vengeance. As she fights to keep her family out of danger, Eva realizes she must use her magick as a bruja to protect herself and her loved ones, while confronting her own dark history.

River Woman, River Demon is a mysterious incantation of reckoning with the past and claiming one's unique power a… (mais)

Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 1 menção

Mostrando 1-5 de 8 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Note to self, you quit at 65% and should have stopped earlier. It only got worse. Main problem was the main character. ( )
  accidental_hermit | Jan 28, 2024 |
Beautiful story and setting, but it is very difficult at times that our Chicana Nancy Drew patently refuses to ask the right questions. Reading it feels like the depressed fog that she is in, seeing what should be done, and then watching yourself not do it. ( )
  zlinkous | Oct 3, 2023 |
This was a community read near me, so I picked it up without knowing much. I saw it was maybe for fans of Mexican Gothic....I don't think that's the right comparison. This is kind of a murder mystery with a lot of cultural reference and magick. The characters were not exactly lovable, but I think their motivations were understandable. The resolution to some of the mystery surrounding the murder was a little hand-wavey, but given the rest of the book that's not hard to accept. I did enjoy the look into a diverse family with a much different belief system from my own. ( )
  KallieGrace | Jun 8, 2023 |
Thoroughly predictable story. Really couldn't stand Eva. ( )
  Alarine | Mar 24, 2023 |
Spoilers.

I read about 2/3 and then I skimmed the rest. I didn't find the actions consistent or believable, and I disliked Eva so much for the last part of the book. I didn't want to read her stupid thoughts and self-justifications.
  franoscar | Mar 15, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 8 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Literature. Suspense. Thriller. HTML:

Award-winning Mexican-American and Indigenous author Jennifer Givhan brings us an exquisitely written, spell-binding psychological thriller??weaving together folk magick with personal and cultural empowerment??that is perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic.

When Eva's husband is arrested for the murder of a friend, she must confront her murky past and embrace her magick to find out what really happened that night on the river.

Eva Santos Moon is a burgeoning Chicana artist who practices the ancient, spiritual ways of brujería and curanderisma, but she's at one of her lowest points??suffering from disorienting blackouts, creative stagnation, and a feeling of disconnect from her magickal roots. When her husband, a beloved university professor and the glue that holds their family together, is taken into custody for the shocking murder of their friend, Eva doesn't know whom to trust??least of all, herself. She soon falls under suspicion as a potential suspect, and her past rises to the surface, dredging up the truth about an eerily similar death from her childhood.

Struggling with fragmented memories and self-doubt, an increasingly terrified Eva fears that she might have been involved in both murders. But why doesn't she remember? Only the dead women know for sure, and they're coming for her with a haunting vengeance. As she fights to keep her family out of danger, Eva realizes she must use her magick as a bruja to protect herself and her loved ones, while confronting her own dark history.

River Woman, River Demon is a mysterious incantation of reckoning with the past and claiming one's unique power a

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.42)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5 2
3 5
3.5 1
4 13
4.5
5 4

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 207,165,071 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível