Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Maid (2022)

de Nita Prose

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

Séries: Molly the Maid (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3,4992003,755 (3.69)169
"A charmingly eccentric hotel maid discovers a guest murdered in his bed, turning her once orderly world upside down--and inspiring a motley crew of unexpected allies to band together to solve the mystery--in this utterly original debut. Molly Dunn is not like everyone else. She struggles with social skills and interprets people literally. Her gran used to interpret the world for her, codifying it into simple rules that Molly could live by. Since Gran died a few months ago, twenty-five-year-old Molly has had to navigate life's complexities all by herself. No matter--she throws herself with gusto into her work as a hotel maid. Her unique character, along with her obsessive love of cleaning and proper etiquette, make her an ideal fit for the job. She delights in donning her crisp uniform each morning, stocking her cart with miniature soaps and bottles, and returning guest rooms at the Regency Grand Hotel to a state of perfection. But Molly's orderly life is turned on its head the day she enters the suite of the infamous and wealthy Charles Black, only to find it in a state of disarray and Mr. Black himself very dead in his bed. Before she knows what's happening, Molly's odd demeanor has the police targeting her as their lead suspect and she finds herself in a web of subtext and nuance she has no idea how to untangle. Fortunately for Molly, a medley of friends she didn't realize she had refuses to let her be charged with murder--but will they be able to discover the real killer before it's too late? A Clue-like, locked-room mystery and a heartwarming journey of the spirit, The Maid explores what it means to be the same as everyone else and yet entirely different--and reveals that all mysteries can be solved through connection to the human heart"--… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 169 menções

Inglês (193)  Húngaro (1)  Alemão (1)  Todos os idiomas (195)
Mostrando 1-5 de 195 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
A great little palette cleanser, The Maid is a mix of Agatha Christie and Mr. Monk.

Molly works at The Regency Hotel as a maid. Clearly on the spectrum, Molly takes everything literal and struggles with social cues. This makes our Molly the Maid very endearing.

Nothing is as it seems at the Regency, and when Mr. Black, a VIP guest, is found dead in his room by our main character, the mystery begins!

This has a few good twists and some red herrings, it's great for fans of Columbo and Murder She Wrote. ( )
  bmcgee1944 | Jul 18, 2024 |
The book is a bit odd, as is the main character, Molly, a hotel maid. She is very naive, and I would say neurodivergent. She seems to take things literally, and not understand what people are saying or meaning a lot of the time. She's an excellent maid though! She becomes involved in a mystery surrounding the death of a hotel guest, and in fact becomes the prime suspect. The story is far-fetched, most of the characters are stock characters, and the ending is not a satisfying one for me.
The book was just fine, not what I would consider great. ( )
  cherybear | Jun 22, 2024 |
Offbeat mystery whose main point is not the easily solvable mystery but the importance of connections and support. Not the world breaker it has been hailed as, but not the misguided attempt at veneer many would have you believe either. ( )
  Fiddleback_ | May 28, 2024 |
Very entertaining! It took me a few chapters to get into this but once I did, I finished within 24 hours. At times I felt a little uncomfortable. Molly, the main character, has an unspecified neurodivergent disorder and sometimes the things she thinks or says are pretty funny. Then I would feel guilty for laughing at a 'differently abled' person. There are also many instances of co-workers who take shameless advantage of her, which was also uncomfortable to read. In the end Molly makes us stop and think about what is 'normal' and especially that when you assume you 'make an A S S out of U and Me' (one of Molly's favorite sayings). I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because the mystery part of it was rather trite and Molly was the only character that was well-developed and multi-dimensional. ( )
  milbourt | May 11, 2024 |
read
  BurlingtonComLibrary | Apr 20, 2024 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 195 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
The aptly pseudonymed debut novelist — her real name is Nita Pronovost — lands at No. 8 on the hardcover fiction list with “The Maid,” a rip-roaring mystery about a housekeeper at a five-star hotel who discovers a dead body in a penthouse suite. (Naturally, she becomes a prime suspect.) Our Crime columnist described the book as an “endearing debut,” with “real emotional heft” — but, for grounded travelers, it also provides a much-needed sojourn to the world of crisp sheets, room service and constantly replenished Crabtree & Evelyn shampoo.
 

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Prose, Nitaautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Ambrose, LaurenNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Armstrong, GailArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Čulić, DraženTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Campos, Julia SobralTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Davis, AndrewDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Giavaldi, ElenaDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Jakubeit, AliceÜbersetzerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Kallio, KatariinaKääNtäJä.autor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Katz, DahliaAuthor photographerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Norey, VirginiaDesignerautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Pronovost, Nitaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To Jackie
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
[Prologue] I am your maid.
I am well aware that my name is ridiculous.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The truth is, I often have trouble with social situations; it's as though everyone is playing an elaborate game with complex rules they all know, but I'm always playing for the first time. I make etiquette mistakes with alarming regularity, offend when I mean to compliment, misread body language, say the wrong thing at the wrong time. It's only because of my gran that I know a smile doesn't necessarily mean someone is happy.
Gran used to say, Never mind what others think; it's what you think that matters.
I don't cut corners, I shine them.
Treat others as you wish to be treated, Gran used to say, and that's a tenet I live by.
Cheryl may be my boss, but she's definitely not my superior. There is a difference, you know. You can't judge a person by the job they do or by their situation in life; you must judge a person by their actions.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"A charmingly eccentric hotel maid discovers a guest murdered in his bed, turning her once orderly world upside down--and inspiring a motley crew of unexpected allies to band together to solve the mystery--in this utterly original debut. Molly Dunn is not like everyone else. She struggles with social skills and interprets people literally. Her gran used to interpret the world for her, codifying it into simple rules that Molly could live by. Since Gran died a few months ago, twenty-five-year-old Molly has had to navigate life's complexities all by herself. No matter--she throws herself with gusto into her work as a hotel maid. Her unique character, along with her obsessive love of cleaning and proper etiquette, make her an ideal fit for the job. She delights in donning her crisp uniform each morning, stocking her cart with miniature soaps and bottles, and returning guest rooms at the Regency Grand Hotel to a state of perfection. But Molly's orderly life is turned on its head the day she enters the suite of the infamous and wealthy Charles Black, only to find it in a state of disarray and Mr. Black himself very dead in his bed. Before she knows what's happening, Molly's odd demeanor has the police targeting her as their lead suspect and she finds herself in a web of subtext and nuance she has no idea how to untangle. Fortunately for Molly, a medley of friends she didn't realize she had refuses to let her be charged with murder--but will they be able to discover the real killer before it's too late? A Clue-like, locked-room mystery and a heartwarming journey of the spirit, The Maid explores what it means to be the same as everyone else and yet entirely different--and reveals that all mysteries can be solved through connection to the human heart"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.69)
0.5 1
1 18
1.5 6
2 54
2.5 21
3 235
3.5 108
4 354
4.5 46
5 167

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 208,638,896 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível