Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

This Rough Magic (1964)

de Mary Stewart

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,1852712,164 (3.87)88
The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer 'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events. I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . . A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans 'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 88 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 25 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Lucy Waring, a young actress from London, decides to visit her wealthy sister living on the Greek island of Corfu just miles from the Albanian mainland. Her sister is married to a wealthy Italian who owns several homes and a castle compound on Corfu. The castle is rented out to a famous English actor who is recovering from a nervous condition. The actor's son is a musician. The other home is being rented by a photographer. The first night on Corfu, a local young man named Spiro, who works for the photographer, falls overboard the photographer's boat and is lost at sea. Lucy spends a lot of time on the beach in a secluded cove where she meets a friendly dolphin. But someone starts shooting at the dolphin and Lucy. Something odd is happening on Corfu, and Lucy ends up involved as an innocent bystander. Mary Stewart wrote is book in 1964, but it stands up quite well. She is more descriptive than I prefer, and the dialogue is a bit stilted by today's standards. But, the story moves a a fairly fast pace. All in all a quite satisfying read. ( )
  Raspberrymocha | Jul 7, 2020 |
3.5/4! Overall I really enjoyed This Rough Magic! I had originally not known much of anything going into it and incorrectly assumed by the title that magic would be somehow involved, it definitely is not. That being said, the characters were lovely, the descriptions of the beautiful Greek locations were very vibrant!
For context, this is the fourth book I’ve read of Mary’s and her writing, per usual, did not disappoint. Would definitely recommend! ( )
  ambernreads | Apr 15, 2020 |
An enjoyable read in Mary Stewart's usual tense but highly readable style. Lucy is the narrator, Corfu the setting, and 'The Tempest' the source of literary quotations and inspiration for this novel.

There's excitement, a low key romance, a stowaway in a boat, and a most unpleasant villain whose identity I had guessed fairly early on. There's also a delightful dolphin, plenty of swimming, and a pregnant sister married to a wealthy (but absent) man.

I don't think I'd read this before, and found it extremely difficult to put down once I was about half way through. Definitely recommended. This would make a great introduction to Mary Stewart's mid-20th century 'romantic thriller' style of novel. Suitable for older teenagers - I first discovered this author in my teens - but probably enjoyed more by adults of my era.

Full review here: https://suesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2019/11/this-rough-magic-by-mary-stewart.ht... ( )
  SueinCyprus | Nov 30, 2019 |
I was in the mood for a romantic suspense novel and who better to turn to than Mary Stewart? This Rough Magic was totally new to me; I found myself wrapped up in the story. It takes place in the early 1960s and the attitudes are obviously part of that time period. As it is part of my past, I didn't mind it at all. There are also theater people in the book and I loved both of them.

For me, this quotation resonated: "It seems to me you can be awfully happy in this life if you stand aside and watch and mind your own business, and let other people do as they like about damaging themselves and each other." For the good people in this book, they cannot stand aside and let the bad people win. They take action, knowing the consequences could be deadly. As for me, I cared about the characters. When the action started, I wolfed down the book.

If you like romantic suspense, this book needs to be on your list to read. ( )
  Jean_Sexton | Apr 5, 2019 |
Why don't my vacations turn into murder mysteries? I mean, gosh, I've been vacationing for decades now and it's never happened! This Rough Magic, published in 1964, is part of Mary Stewart's large catalog of romantic mystery books. It's more heavy on mystery than romance, which suited me just fine.

The location is dreamy - Corfu, an island off Greece. The characters are engaging, especially Lucy our heroine who has a good heart and a strong sense of justice. The prose is detailed and has a style characteristic of Stewart and the writers she inspired. Pacing is great - there's never a dull moment in nearly 400 pages. However, like other books of the era, I found the plot somewhat predictable. The bad guy was a bit too easy to identify, although his motivations weren't obvious at first.

I read this for BookRiot's Read Harder challenge category, "from the decade you were born." The character's attitudes (both male and female) were typical of that era. The contrasts and similarities to today added another layer to my enjoyment, or alternately, my frustration.

All in all, an enjoyable interlude in another place and time not so long ago. ( )
  TheBibliophage | Mar 20, 2018 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 25 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Mary Stewartautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Griffin, JamesArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Huuhtanen, KaijaTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For John Attenborough
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
"And if it's a boy," said Phyllida cheerfully, "we'll call him Prospero."
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer 'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events. I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . . A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans 'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.87)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 7
2.5 3
3 75
3.5 14
4 93
4.5 15
5 64

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 157,689,464 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível