Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Welcome to Your Period
Carregando...

Welcome to Your Period

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaConversas
5417485,777 (4.33)Nenhum(a)
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
I've been looking through various books on puberty and periods for my 10 year old; these days, there are girls even younger than she is getting their periods. I would say this particular book is best either for girls who are older or for younger girls whose parents think they are mature enough or interested enough to wade through lots of information (including having sex on your period and using The Pill or IUD to alter your period).

So while I appreciated authors' willingness to engage in a frank discussion of periods and I loved the diverse cast of characters in the illustrations, the way it covers sex comes off as a little blase ("Sometimes a guy..." when introducing graphic information about ejaculation) that you can avoid with other books that cover physical changes and menstruation. And of course, if you are planning to read this with your daughter, which is ideal, you can augment the information with your own perspective (Tweens aren't physically or mentally ready to be having sex; many teenagers don't have sex and don't have these experiences with "sometimes a guy", feeling alienated from or betrayed by your body during puberty definitely doesn't mean you are transgender, hormonal birth control comes with side effects).
1 vote drm19 | Aug 20, 2020 |
Exibindo 17 de 17
120000
  filbo_2024 | Apr 22, 2024 |
Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
This is a great introduction to bleeding, and I managed to learn a few things even as I race towards menopause. It's cheerful and matter of fact, recognizing but never catering to the taboos around menstruation and puberty. In short and energetic sections accompanied by diverse illustrations it tells what to expect, what is going on, variations that are normal, questions that often come up, options and how to evaluated each on (options on different sanitary supplies to different ecological concerns to different pain relief possibilities, etc). Transgender people are included, as are different cultural expectations.

This would be great to share with anyone, although I guess girls would get the most practical use from it. Boys would learn a lot and maybe know how to be better allies.

I received a free review copy from LibraryThing EarlyReviewers. ( )
1 vote ejmam | Apr 2, 2021 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
This book couldn't have come at a better time. My daughter and I gleaned much information concerning a newly arrived menstral cycle. Although my daughter is very shy about the entire subject, this book helped her find the questions she needed to ask me in person, and answers to her questions she was too uncomfortable to ask...good job! The one thing I'm not sure is necessary is the sex information. I realize it's an integral part of puberty, but maybe not necessary in a "Welcome to Your Period" book, especially for young girls. ( )
  julieandbeli | Mar 18, 2021 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
My oldest daughter is eight and will likely start her period in a few years. I pre-read Welcome to Your Period by Yumi Stynes and Dr. Melissa Kang because I wanted to ensure the information was accurate and presented properly. I loved the positive feel of the book and how it normalizes having a period. It encourages girls to embrace all aspects of their bodies, including having a period. The book is very thorough, and I learned some information that I had not known before. It covered everything – human biology, how to tell your parents, how to use sanitary products, dealing with period pain, etc.

I think Welcome to Your Period by Yumi Stynes and Dr. Melissa Kang is a wonderful resource for girls as they transition into this new phase of life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I was provided a copy of this book by the author or publisher. All opinions in this review are my own. ( )
  BeautyintheBinding | Jan 1, 2021 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
My eleven year old daughter started her period this year. I offered her this book after her mother and I found it excellent (after getting an ARC of it through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program). She didn't embrace it at first, but I've seen her with it a few times since. She has chosen special washable period underwear instead of the usual other choices, so a lot of the book's talk about those aren't interesting to her. As parents, we found the book VERY informative, but a child has to go about these things in their own way. ( )
  antmusic | Dec 19, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
I think this book is great. The authors do a great job of covering all aspects of starting your period from the point of view of a teenager who might have questions but feel too embarrassed to ask. This books also would help put teenagers at ease that getting your period is natural and nothing to be ashamed about, which is a message that doesn't always come from peers. From the science elements to the emotional elements, the books talk about periods with flare and good humor, but it is also matter-of-fact. It also mentions the diversity of women (including disabilities) with the same ease of grace, and includes antidotes from a variety of women. I highly recommend this book for teens/tweens.
  CynthiaM | Dec 12, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
This is a great introduction to bleeding, and I managed to learn a few things even as I race towards menopause. It's cheerful and matter of fact, recognizing but never catering to the taboos around menstruation and puberty. In short and energetic sections accompanied by diverse illustrations it tells what to expect, what is going on, variations that are normal, questions that often come up, options and how to evaluated each on (options on different sanitary supplies to different ecological concerns to different pain relief possibilities, etc). Transgender people are included, as are different cultural expectations.

This would be great to share with anyone, although I guess girls would get the most practical use from it. Boys would learn a lot and maybe know how to be better allies.

I received a free copy of this book from LibraryThing EarlyReviewers program. ( )
  ejmam | Sep 25, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Welcome to Your Period contains excellent information on all methods of handling menstrual flow, from paper pads and tampons through period underwear, cloth pads, moon cups, and even free bleeding. That alone makes it unique. It also has many helpful practical suggestions for preparations and precautions. I'm going to start shopping for black panties in my granddaughter's size right away, and starting a "Period Pack" is a fabulous idea too, (although I do draw the line at stocking it with chocolate which is hard to store for reasons of heat, fragility, and non-hormonal cravings -- or sibling theft). Sections on the environmental impact of various menstrual products and on "Period Poverty" are also valuable in helping girls to understand the wider implications of their menarche.

The sections on various period challenges are absolutely great. This is the sort of thing women have all dealt with and wish someone had helped us prepare for. Four pages on the monthly hormone cycle? Outstanding.

However, I have serious reservations with some other elements in the book. The section on transgender is far too little information for a genuinely dysmorphic child and far too much for a girl trying to understand what it means to be a woman, which is a very important journey that could have been given more coverage herein. I think perhaps if they want to be sensitive to both, the authors should have written two versions of the book. And while the coverage of puberty and its manifold effects on body and brain is excellent, there's no mention that birth control pills (suggested as a PMS treatment, or an option for stopping menstruation if you don't want to bleed) and puberty blockers may irreversibly damage or prevent some of this necessary body and brain development. Just saying "see your doctor" about artificial hormones doesn't make it okay to suggest highly dangerous treatments. The authors were apparently trying to be inclusive here; in a further gesture towards inclusiveness, the "Period Vocabulary" section includes non-period trans-friendly words, for example "misgendered" which doesn't even appear in the text.

All in all, it's a very useful and wonderful book which I cannot recommend just handing off to a 10 year old, but which I can recommend for reading along with a pubescent girl and for parents and parental figures who want to know what children (of both sexes) and adults need to know to navigate this interesting time of life. ( )
  muumi | Sep 13, 2020 |
I think this book is great. The authors do a great job of covering all aspects of starting your period from the point of view of a teenager who might have questions but feel too embarrassed to ask. This books also would help put teenagers at ease that getting your period is natural and nothing to be ashamed about, which is a message that doesn't always come from peers. From the science elements to the emotional elements, the books talk about periods with flare and good humor, but it is also matter-of-fact. It also mentions the diversity of women (including disabilities) with the same ease of grace, and includes antidotes from a variety of women. I highly recommend this book for teens/tweens.
  CynthiaM | Sep 5, 2020 |
This book couldn't have come at a better time. My daughter and I gleaned much information concerning a newly arrived menstral cycle. Although my daughter is very shy about the entire subject, this book helped her find the questions she needed to ask me in person, and answers to her questions she was too uncomfortable to ask...good job! The one thing I'm not sure is necessary is the sex information. I realize it's an integral part of puberty, but maybe not necessary in a "Welcome to Your Period" book, especially for young girls. ( )
  julieandbeli | Aug 28, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
My eleven year old daughter read this book and then gave it to me and wanted me to read it right away. She said it was much more informative than the short presentation they received at school and that she learned a lot from it. She loved the format with text bubbles and questions and stories from real kids.

This is a fantastic book to open discussion with your daughter regarding puberty and getting their period. The authors talk very conversationally and frankly about a wide variety of subjects and really encourage kids to discuss periods and growing up with each other and the grownups in their lives. The book has short sections which often refer to other sections of the book. This means you can either read the book straight through (my daughter's choice) or you can simply turn to an area that you have questions about. My daughter plans to keep this on her bookshelf so she can refer to it often and also to share it with her little sister in a couple of years when she starts going through puberty.

I love the body positive message throughout the book that periods are completely normal and nothing to be embarrassed to discuss. The authors really encourage girls to be open with their friends and to help each other out when periods hit at school or in other social situations. Being prepared with a "period pack" is fantastic advice.

One note to parents: This book does contain references to various forms of birth control, sex, and gender identity issues. I had no issues with my daughter learning about these things so we can openly discuss them however I recognize that all parents do not feel the same. ( )
  DonnerLibrary | Aug 27, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
This is a great book for introducing the topic of menstruation, body care, periods, hygiene, and other topics related to growing. The book is a nice length and easily flippable to find a few pages to talk about then putting it down to wait for the next time to talk about different parts of menstruation. I also hope males pick up the book so they understand menstruation and how to talk about it with others. ( )
  eo206 | Aug 21, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
I've been looking through various books on puberty and periods for my 10 year old; these days, there are girls even younger than she is getting their periods. I would say this particular book is best either for girls who are older or for younger girls whose parents think they are mature enough or interested enough to wade through lots of information (including having sex on your period and using The Pill or IUD to alter your period).

So while I appreciated authors' willingness to engage in a frank discussion of periods and I loved the diverse cast of characters in the illustrations, the way it covers sex comes off as a little blase ("Sometimes a guy..." when introducing graphic information about ejaculation) that you can avoid with other books that cover physical changes and menstruation. And of course, if you are planning to read this with your daughter, which is ideal, you can augment the information with your own perspective (Tweens aren't physically or mentally ready to be having sex; many teenagers don't have sex and don't have these experiences with "sometimes a guy", feeling alienated from or betrayed by your body during puberty definitely doesn't mean you are transgender, hormonal birth control comes with side effects).
1 vote drm19 | Aug 20, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
I have a daughter who is eight - I am hanging on to this book for a couple of years down the road!! It seems like a great resources. There are pictures and speech bubbles throughout the book, making it really inviting as a resource. Not sure about the content yet - but the layout will definitely capture the interest of the intended audience!

I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
  mrsknic | Aug 14, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Welcome To Your Period. Yumi Stynes, Dr. Melissa Kang

I am 72 years old and left periods behind in my early forties following a hysterectomy. For me they were extremely painful and managed by medications. Thank goodness for the pill!’ I learned things from this book and I hope it will help my great niece and her dad as they go through this phase of her growing-up.

It can be read from beginning to end or by topics that cover different aspects of the arrival of one’s period. It starts by telling you how to prepare and learning why it happens then to a variety of topics: packing a period pack, to the products available, the challenges like gym class, swimming, clots and camping. It answers question on having sex during your period, pain during periods and when to see a doctor among other things.

There are page references from one topic to another, for example if your tampon is stuck it refers you to “Is Something Wrong” Page 126). However, one topic I am familiar with “How To Handle Period Pain” is six pages long and makes no reference to serious regular pain and seeing a doctor, more information would be helpful. A see reference here would also be useful as I did find it dealt with later in the book.

Throughout the text are quotes from girls and women, giving a first name and age, and their personal experiences on sleepovers and getting their first period, swimming, getting a blood clot and on most topics covered. One topic I found strange was having a Period Party, but I think it is an age thing!

The size of the book, 4 3/4” h. X 3 3/4” w (12 1/2 cm X 9 1/2 cm) is easy to handle and will fit in a purse or backpack. The layout changes using straight text, rectangles and balloons with lots of illustrations. My par-publication copy is black, white and gray, however it will be published in full colour. It is easy to use and attractive. It will be interesting to hear what my nephew and his daughter think of it.

I shared this book with a friend of mine and her 13 year old daughter. This is what they had to say:

As a mother, I have to start off with, what a great book it is. It has humour, and an incredible amount of useful information. I am particularly fond of the chapter about hygiene. As a parent, I'm finding it difficult at times to get my daughter to shower, and make sure the blood is washed away completely before drying off. I especially appreciate the chapter that is geared towards other people who can read the book as well..(the book refers to them as allies). This chapter helps others to understand what us females go through, and asks for their understanding and support.

I appreciate how this book offers the chance for our youngsters to really step up, and grow up, form some leadership, and take on a teaching role to others, like their Dads, and male friends. My daughter loves to teach people things, so this book has inspired her to realize that she can take on that role. I appreciate how this book explains every aspect of a youngsters life, that would have been taboo when I was growing up, such as the chapters about talking to your parents, to understanding your own body, to sex, and to the period vocabulary. None of these chapters would have ever been discussed when I was a kid...they were too uncomfortable. But to be able to read about it in this book, allows one to absorb this info privately, until they are familiar enough with it to talk about it. I love the pictures, and the conversation bubbles that goes with them. They are positive, and provide a better visual understanding to that particular picture.

As a parent to a 13 year old, I felt that the area about contraceptives was a little too advanced for her right now to read. That is definitely a chapter that is beneficial to an older person. My daughter didn't understand it at all....but its still good to provide that info.

Lastly I love the "Period Boss Pledge"! My daughter and I have taken it.. As women, we are empowered by this pledge, and I think every woman should know about it and take it. Lol.

Thanks for this wonderful book. It was a great read. I read it in a day and a half. It was difficult to put down. Jen Costa.

Following is her 13 year old daughter’s review.

First of all, thank you for your offer, for me to read the book....since I'm a teenager. The book was good. I liked it. I thought the pictures were kind of funny. I've had my period since before i was 11 years old, therefore, all the information about worrying about when it will start, was not a concern for me. My mother teaches me about hygiene, and this book explains it more to me. The period party idea is funny, but I don't know if I'd want one. I found it useful that the book has suggestions on what to do to be prepared for starting my period, or if I have an accident. My parents always tell me too, that I can call them if I needed clean clothes, or more pads. Me and my Mother have both taken the period boss pledge. My mother wants to get me my own copy of this book too. I would like to see the book in colour, and to just be able to read it over again. Thanks again. Megan Carter.

I received this through LibraryThing Early Reviewers Program. Thanks to them and the many publishers who donate prepublication books in exchange for a review.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2 ( )
  pmarshall | Aug 9, 2020 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Excellent. My girls loved it. ( )
  rentie | Aug 8, 2020 |
Exibindo 17 de 17

Revisores inicias do LibraryThing

O livro de Yumi Stynes, Welcome to Your Period!, estava disponível em LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (4.33)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5 1
5 6

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 207,543,951 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível