Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

A Master of Djinn

de P. Djèlí Clark

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

Séries: Dead Djinn Universe (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,2315815,531 (3.96)110
"Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns to his popular alternate Cairo universe for his fantasy novel debut, A Master of Djinn Cairo, 1912: Though Fatma el-Sha'arawi is the youngest woman working for the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities, she's certainly not a rookie, especially after preventing the destruction of the universe last summer. So when someone murders a secret brotherhood dedicated to one of the most famous men in history, al-Jahiz, Agent Fatma is called onto the case. Al-Jahiz transformed the world forty years ago when he opened up the veil between the magical and mundane realms, before vanishing into the unknown. This murderer claims to be al-Jahiz, returned to condemn the modern age for its social oppressions. His dangerous magical abilities instigate unrest in the streets of Cairo that threaten to spill over onto the global stage. Alongside her Ministry colleagues and a familiar person from her past, Agent Fatma must unravel the mystery behind this imposter to restore peace to the city-or face the possibility he could be exactly who he seems... A Master of Djinn is poised to launch P. Djèlí Clark's SFF career to new heights as the highly-anticipated debut readers are clamoring for"--… (mais)
Adicionado recentemente porfalantern, s_carr, blueraven57, ChilePacheco, mollyalex, midgemash, miriam2k, biblioteca privada, maryellencg
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 110 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 58 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
A murder mystery in alternate reality 1912 steampunk fantasy Egypt. Sure, bring it on.
I could have done with less descriptions of snappy suits, and a brighter detective, but I liked the world building and characters in general. Also, the descriptions of the food made my mouth water. ( )
  Yggie | Oct 12, 2023 |
Fun read. The ending was simple to figure out, but didn't detract from the fun Egyptian setting.
  Tom_Wright | Oct 11, 2023 |
A book filled with magic and murder could only be heightened by smart, competent, kick-ass women! So, settle down for a treat as this book has all that and so much more.

Fatma, is an amazing character and I absolutely got the biggest thrill following her thought process and seeing her work. This book was just a whole lot of fun with a great pace and I feel like saying more would start spoiling it.

If you like great worldbuilding, dialogue, characters, read this. Come for the magic, and stay for the other deeper meanings or not, but I guarantee you will have a great time while here. ( )
  DramPan | Sep 6, 2023 |
I love the setting of this novel, an alternate-historic Cairo where Djinn, Jann, "Angels," and other magical beings live amongst regular mortals. Because of the reintroduction of magic to the world, and Cairo being the epicenter of it, the city has become a world power again in the early 20th century. Because of the amount of magical beings now in existence, a new governmental agency was created to investigate magical crimes, events, or incidents, the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities. Our protagonist, Fatma el-Sha’arawi, is tasked to investigate a grisly group murder, one where a secret Brotherhood devoted to al'Jahiz, the man responsible for bringing djinn back to the world, is murdered in a mysterious manner. The investigation leads Fatma to the lowest slums in Cairo, to the highest echelons of society, where she uncovers a plot that won't just destroy Cairo, but will destroy the whole world. The book has funny moments, riveting action, plenty of suspense, romance, and interesting characters, who also appear in the novela and short story set in this world. I recommend it if you are interested in alternate history, djinn, non-Western settings, or steampunk. ( )
  quickmind | Aug 19, 2023 |
Carrying straight on from where The Haunting of Tram Car 015 left off, with all our favourite characters involved, this really is some great writing.

This trilogy has been my first taste of Djèlí's writing and i'm very impressed.   His imagination is excellent and his ability to put that imagination into words for all us avid readers is simply marvellous.   I'm certainly going to be reading more of his work in the future: i'm hooked.

All in all, a wonderful blend of steampunk, fantasy and folklore all thrown into an alternative history in Cairo with lots of shenanigans mixed will in.   And it's great to have main protagonists who are strong women, from different religions, who also happen to be in a same sex relationship. ( )
  5t4n5 | Aug 9, 2023 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 58 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
With its richly imagined world and characters and its high-stakes and thrilling plot, this novel would make such a fantastic show in the vein of The Nevers and Carnival Row, but better.
adicionado por Dariah | editarBuzzfeed
 
What a wonderful world P. Djélì Clarke has created here ― an Arab world never colonized, where magic-powered trams glide through a cosmopolitan Cairo and where djinns make mischief among humans.
adicionado por Dariah | editarNational Public Radio (NPR)
 
Clark deftly explores colonialism and the history of Cairo with an immersive setting that acts as another character in this delightful combination of mystery, fantasy, and romance. Give this to alternate history enthusiasts and mystery readers who enjoy a dose of the magical.
adicionado por Dariah | editarBooklist, starred review
 
Clark reconfigures history with a keen, critical eye toward gender, class, and imperialism. An epic tale of magic and mystery, this is sure to wow.
adicionado por Dariah | editarPublishers Weekly, starred review
 

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
P. Djèlí Clarkautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Foltzer, ChristineDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Hong, KevinIlustradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Martiniere, StephanArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Claudette,
who many others called Liz, and I just called Mom.
Thanks for all those library visits.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Archibald James Portendorf disliked stairs.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Nebula, Locus, and Alex Award-winner P. Djèlí Clark returns to his popular alternate Cairo universe for his fantasy novel debut, A Master of Djinn Cairo, 1912: Though Fatma el-Sha'arawi is the youngest woman working for the Ministry of Alchemy, Enchantments and Supernatural Entities, she's certainly not a rookie, especially after preventing the destruction of the universe last summer. So when someone murders a secret brotherhood dedicated to one of the most famous men in history, al-Jahiz, Agent Fatma is called onto the case. Al-Jahiz transformed the world forty years ago when he opened up the veil between the magical and mundane realms, before vanishing into the unknown. This murderer claims to be al-Jahiz, returned to condemn the modern age for its social oppressions. His dangerous magical abilities instigate unrest in the streets of Cairo that threaten to spill over onto the global stage. Alongside her Ministry colleagues and a familiar person from her past, Agent Fatma must unravel the mystery behind this imposter to restore peace to the city-or face the possibility he could be exactly who he seems... A Master of Djinn is poised to launch P. Djèlí Clark's SFF career to new heights as the highly-anticipated debut readers are clamoring for"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.96)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 7
2.5 4
3 35
3.5 31
4 110
4.5 21
5 57

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 201,802,861 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível