Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown…
Carregando...

Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters, 1) (edição: 2019)

de Talia Hibbert (Autor)

Séries: The Brown Sisters (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
6694925,993 (3.79)12
"Absolutely charming... a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page." - Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride Test Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance's brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who's tired of being "boring" and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things--perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang! Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost--but not quite--dying, she's come up with seven directives to help her "Get a Life", and she's already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family's mansion. The next items? Enjoy a drunken night out. Ride a motorcycle. Go camping. Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex. Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage. And... do something bad. But it's not easy being bad, even when you've written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job. Redford 'Red' Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He's also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit. But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe's wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior...… (mais)
Membro:SophiaGL
Título:Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters, 1)
Autores:Talia Hibbert (Autor)
Informação:Avon (2019), 384 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Detalhes da Obra

Get a Life, Chloe Brown de Talia Hibbert

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 12 menções

Inglês (48)  Alemão (1)  Todos os idiomas (49)
Mostrando 1-5 de 49 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Absolutely charming romance which proves that while there is a structure to genre romance that must be obeyed, the stories themselves can be surprising and modern. For years I have followed Hibbert's Twitter (well, i get on Twitter about once a month, but when I do I check her out) and have always found her a delight. So it was disappointing when the two books of hers that I attempted were both, IMO, terrible (both were written early in her career.) This book was my last try before I decided that every writer is not for every reader and threw in the towel. SO glad I gave her another try.

As mentioned I have some Hibbert Twitter stalking in my past, and so I know enough about the writer to know that there is a whole lot of Talia in Chloe. The first obvious parallel is the chronic pain which is an unavoidable controlling force in Chloe's life. The second is the social anxiety. Neither Chloe nor Talia appear to have the hair-eating variety of SAD but both seem happiest in their own space and perhaps find comfort and a sense of control in some low-key obsessive shopping/hoarding and excessive list-making. The third parallel is that both are smart, charming, funny compassionate women despite the ways in which disability limits them.

There are some logical issues with this book, not least of all the question of how on earth Chloe would find clients for her business when she barely leaves her couch (I assume she does not and in fact has no real business and is supported by her parents, but that is an assumption.) I did not care much about those issues. Chloe and Red are lovely, and kind and funny, and and both are riddled with cracks which make them more interesting. The side characters are a blast, especially Gigi, and I am looking forward to reading the other sisters stories. A surprisingly uplifting summer romance. Also, people who regularly read my reviews know that MoMA is one of my favorite places on the planet, and I visit most weeks, so the fact that MoMA serves a special place in this story (set in England though it is) was an extra plus for me. ( )
  Narshkite | Jul 9, 2021 |
I should have probably read the reviews going in that explicitly said this was an adult book, so I wouldn't have been surprised by the honest to god disturbing amount of sex this book has for a teenager. I have the habit of skipping past or just skimming the pages for sex scenes, so i wasn't scarred ;), but it would have been good to know. The star off is not for the sex however, it's just for a bit of the plot.I really loved this book otherwise! I have got to say, this was certainly a good piece of romantic comedy, and the angst was perfectly balanced with all the fluff, so I've got to say, this book was amazing. I really liked the plot as well, but some things just didn't speak to me (teenager here, so it's definitely my fault). I have never seen chronic pain portrayed in a book character before, so it refreshing to see that kind of representation as well. And Red is just adorable!! I recommend it to anyone who likes rom-coms, and doesn't mind the sex scenes. ( )
  trisha_tomy | Jun 1, 2021 |
I loved this book! It was a refreshing romance. The characters were different, not the normal perfect characters you see in many romances. The Heroine had many problems and so did the Hero of the story. I really enjoyed this book. I wasn't sure at first, but the characters grew on me. I can't wait to read the next one! ( )
  ChicagoCubs2000 | May 16, 2021 |
Chloe Brown is nearly hit by a car, and in that moment she realizes her life hasn't been nearly as exciting as she might have hoped. To rectify this, she makes her Get a Life list: go camping, travel the world, have meaningless sex, ride a motorcycle, enjoy a drunken night out, etc. To begin, she moves out of her family home into her own flat. Enter Red, the building superintendent, an artist reeling from a bad relationship. Though neither especially likes the other, Red helps Chloe rescue a cat, and he does own a motorcycle.

I had a really good time with this! I found Chloe a little grating at the beginning, but that definitely improved later in the book, and I really liked Red's character. I really liked how both characters had "real" things going on in their lives, with Chloe's fibromyalgia and Red's dealing with the fallout of his last, abusive relationship. The smut was somewhat more explicit than I might have ideally liked, but I really enjoyed this and will plan to get to the others in the series at some point. ( )
  forsanolim | Apr 17, 2021 |
between 3 and 3.5 stars. this was pretty predictable and early on chloe's character was a little annoying (much like red found her, i guess) but both of them definitely grew on me. their falling in love was much too quick to be realistic, especially for the baggage they were carrying. but this is a relatively fun (i really enjoyed the tone the book took) romance and i liked that chloe's chronic illness (fibromyalgia) is just a part of her that she manages (or not), not something that needs to be fixed or that she is loved in spite of. it is, largely, the reason for her baggage, but that makes sense. the main tension isn't really a miscommunication and i appreciated that as well; also that red says that if he tries to win her back and can't, that he will at least have tried, not that he will continue to try to win her and stalk her. and the sex scenes were pretty good. ( )
  overlycriticalelisa | Mar 30, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 49 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Talia Hibbertautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Andoh, AdjoaNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This is for my mother, who did whatever it took.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Once upon a time, Chloe Brown died. Nearly.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Absolutely charming... a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page." - Helen Hoang, USA Today bestselling author of The Bride Test Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance's brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who's tired of being "boring" and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things--perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang! Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost--but not quite--dying, she's come up with seven directives to help her "Get a Life", and she's already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family's mansion. The next items? Enjoy a drunken night out. Ride a motorcycle. Go camping. Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex. Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage. And... do something bad. But it's not easy being bad, even when you've written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job. Redford 'Red' Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He's also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit. But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe's wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior...

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.79)
0.5
1 6
1.5 1
2 8
2.5 6
3 35
3.5 8
4 83
4.5 15
5 35

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 160,461,291 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível