Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Little Women Cookbook: Tempting Recipes from the March Sisters and Their Friends and Family

de Wini Moranville

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
978280,973 (4.19)2
"Experience the exciting and heartwarming world of the March sisters and Little Women right in your own kitchen. Here at last is the first cookbook to celebrate the scrumptious and comforting foods that play a prominent role in Louisa May Alcott's classic novel Little Women. If your family includes a Little Women fan, or if you yourself are one, with this book you can keep the magic and wonder of the beloved tale alive for years to come. Do you wonder what makes the characters so excited to make -- and eat! -- sweets and desserts like the exotically named Blancmange or the mysterious Bonbons with Mottoes, along with favorites like Apple Turnovers, Plum Pudding, and Gingerbread Cake? Find out for yourself with over 50 easy-to-make recipes for these delectable treats and more, all updated for the modern kitchen. From Hannah's Pounded Potatoes to Amy's Picnic Lemonade, from the charming Chocolate Drop Cookies that Professor Bhaer always offers to Meg's twins to hearty dinners that Hannah and Marmee encourage the March sisters to learn to make, you'll find an abundance of delicious teatime drinks and snacks, plus breakfasts, brunches, lunches, suppers, and desserts. Featuring full-color photos, evocative illustrations, fun and uplifting quotes from the novel, and anecdotes about Louisa May Alcott, this is a book that any Little Women fan will love to have"--… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 2 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 8 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.
  fernandie | Sep 15, 2022 |
This cookbook is perfect for fans of Louisa May Alcott's work. The connection to the book, Little Women, is well done throughout the cookbook. The quotes and texts relate well to the recipes and make it a delightful read. I think this would make a great library program -- celebrate Louisa May Alcott and make recipes from this book! ( )
  MKLahiri | Feb 9, 2022 |
When I was in graduate school I took a course in Early American Female Authorship(at least, that's what it turned out to be). Funnily enough, women have been writing just as much as men except that, while men wrote laws, women wrote recipes.

Those recipes were just as political and telling as the letters and laws written by the men. We actually made some of the recipes. Interesting, right? So when Moranville says she pored over books of the time, I had major flashbacks to that class(so fun).

Which brings back the question of authorship. Who really authors a recipe? They are often built upon recipes that are based on recipes that are borrowed from recipes.

Anyway, I didn't cook any of these. But I found them interesting. ( )
  OutOfTheBestBooks | Sep 24, 2021 |
I collect cookbooks, especially bookish ones. I love Louisa Mae Alcott's book about the March family. It's been one of my favorite classics ever since I first read it as a child. Reading through the recipes and quotes in this cookbook make me want to re-read the novel! I added it to my TBR list! :)

This cookbook is filled with quotes from the book, many color photographs and wholesome recipes. I think Marmee would be proud of all the yummy food in its pages. She would gladly have served every one of these dishes to her girls, and Laurie, too! There are more than 50 dishes ranging from desserts and breakfasts to dinner and party fare. The ingredients are simple and the instructions are concise. A book lover does not have to be a gourmet cook to enjoy making any of these recipes! The dishes would be fun to make for a book club night, or just for a weeknight dinner.

The front cover art is attractive. It definitely caught my eye and made me want to peruse the recipes in this book. The page layout is easy to read. The photographs complement the recipes, rather than crowding the page. The font is easy to read. Definitely a nicely laid out cookbook! There is a full index to all recipes in the back of the book. The recipes are indexed by main ingredient, making things simple to find!

I am definitely getting a copy of this book for my cookbook shelf! My two favorite recipes are the Spice-Trade Deviled Eggs and Hannah's Cottage Pie. Can't wait to try making them, and just about every other dish in the book!

**I voluntarily read an advanced readers copy of this book from Quarto Publishing via NetGalley. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.** ( )
  JuliW | Nov 22, 2020 |
The Little Women Cookbook: Tempting Recipes from the March Sisters and Their Friends and Family by Wini Moranville, Louisa May Alcott

October 1, 2019
Quarto Publishing
112 pages
Health, cooking, nonfiction
Rating: 5/5

I received a digital ARC of this book from NetGalley and Quarto Publishing in exchange for an unbiased review.

This is a must have for all Louisa May Alcott fans! It is vibrantly illustrated and organized into four chapters: breakfast, family gatherings, dinner and desserts. The author also includes some history about Louisa May Alcott and the author's fascination with historic and heirloom recipes.

Food is the kind of love you can see.

It begins with a delightful travel back to the March family and the lessons of generosity learned. Episodes from the story are revisited as they demonstrate how certain foods played an intricate role in their daily lives. The author has done extensive research and where no specific dish was identified she found recipes around 1850-1880 taking into account the March family resources and food popular at that time.

A popular breakfast of Milk-Toast is a reminder of simple times. Of course, the meals changed with the seasons and available crops. It would not be uncommon for one to serve a breakfast of cornbread, fried liver, boiled eggs and fried potatoes. They tended to eat a heartier and more varied breakfast than generally served in America today.

Gatherings with friends and family were not complete without favorite meals over picnics or Sunday roast. Evening suppers were quite light since their hearty meal was at breakfast. Sandwiches and salads were quite popular with rather peculiar ingredients amongst the upper-class including pigeon pie, duck, tongue, blanc-mange, cheese and biscuits. Back in the day, celery was considered a delicacy and displayed proudly in a vessel on the dinner table. An interesting recipe in this book is called Cheese, Butter and Celery Sandwiches. Again, what seems like a humble meal today was deemed a special treat as celery was expensive. Interesting since living in New England at the time, lobsters were plentiful! Salads would often display their flavor a through the greens available than the dressings applied. In addition to milder lettuce, they often had mustard greens, sorrel and watercress.

Family dinners consisted of inexpensive readily available ingredients such as fish and lobster, potatoes, biscuits and pot pies. Some interesting recipes are Creamed Ham on Toast, Hannah's Cottage Pie, Maple Cornmeal Drop Biscuits and Garden Pot Pie.

Sweet treats and desserts are always a favorite. As today, cookies of all sorts used everyday pantry essentials such as flour, sugar, eggs, milk and fruit. You will find a variety of dishes which have been adapted for today's convenience.

I enjoyed this cookbook for its recipes as well as its trip down memory lane.


( )
  marquis784 | Feb 15, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 8 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Experience the exciting and heartwarming world of the March sisters and Little Women right in your own kitchen. Here at last is the first cookbook to celebrate the scrumptious and comforting foods that play a prominent role in Louisa May Alcott's classic novel Little Women. If your family includes a Little Women fan, or if you yourself are one, with this book you can keep the magic and wonder of the beloved tale alive for years to come. Do you wonder what makes the characters so excited to make -- and eat! -- sweets and desserts like the exotically named Blancmange or the mysterious Bonbons with Mottoes, along with favorites like Apple Turnovers, Plum Pudding, and Gingerbread Cake? Find out for yourself with over 50 easy-to-make recipes for these delectable treats and more, all updated for the modern kitchen. From Hannah's Pounded Potatoes to Amy's Picnic Lemonade, from the charming Chocolate Drop Cookies that Professor Bhaer always offers to Meg's twins to hearty dinners that Hannah and Marmee encourage the March sisters to learn to make, you'll find an abundance of delicious teatime drinks and snacks, plus breakfasts, brunches, lunches, suppers, and desserts. Featuring full-color photos, evocative illustrations, fun and uplifting quotes from the novel, and anecdotes about Louisa May Alcott, this is a book that any Little Women fan will love to have"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (4.19)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 3
4.5
5 6

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 205,747,493 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível