Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

Mom's Perfect Boyfriend (Smart Companions)

de Crystal Hemmingway

Séries: Smart Companions (Book 1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3726528,588 (3.54)1
Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Where'd You Go, Bernadette, a smart romantic comedy about mothers and daughters, and the hilarious consequences of a white lie.Crystal has trouble saying no to her lonely, single mother. For 25 years, it wasn't a problem. But when one small mistake leaves Crystal jilted, homeless and unemployed, she has to move back in with the one person who caused it all: her mother.Soon Crystal is sucked into her mother's vortex, partying with boomers and hawking misshapen marshmallows. Desperate for some independence, she hatches a foolproof plan: get an experimental android to play her mom's "perfect" boyfriend. It's only a matter of time before her mom finds out, and Crystal will never live down the hilarious and disastrous consequences.Written in an addicting, fast-paced format, Mom's Perfect Boyfriend is a humorous yet deeply honest portrayal about the complicated friendship between mothers and daughters. Because sometimes the people we least want to rely on are those who can help us the most.… (mais)
  1. 00
    My Not So Perfect Life de Sophie Kinsella (Usuário anônimo)
  2. 00
    The Boy is Back de Meg Cabot (Usuário anônimo)
  3. 00
    Where'd You Go, Bernadette de Maria Semple (Usuário anônimo)
Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 1 menção

Mostrando 1-5 de 26 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
This is a fun and funny lighthearted book. Crystal, through a set of unfortunate circumstances, has to go live with her mother Margot. And shortly after, Margot loses her job and begins making and selling marshmallows as an alternative career. Things aren't working out so well for Crystal - mom is always there, always interrupting her work, always in the way. Crystal's sister Lisa's company is piloting a program with experimental droids - hmmmm, Crystal thinks, maybe mom needs a boyfriend droid just to boost her self confidence and give Crystal a chance to work on her book. So, she gets one, and hilarity ensues.

Mom's Perfect Boyfriend is told in texting conversations, letters, emails and book chapters. While these are the more common ways people communicate these days, as a long time reader I confess it's not my favorite format. It didn't bother me as much as I expected for this book, but don't know that I'll be seeking out more like it.

The characters need a bit more fleshing out, a bit more realism (yes, I know, this is a bit of a sci-fi fantasy book). I especially didn't get the mom - as an older mother myself, she seemed to be more the irritated daughter's impression of what a mom is rather than what she truly is.
  mikitchenlady | Nov 4, 2019 |
Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest



Mom’s Perfect Boyfriend is a funny and beautiful story that focuses on the loving mother-daughter relationship and presents issues in a comedic, but loving way.

Crystal planned an amazing holiday with her boyfriend, but her mother decides to join them last minute. Crystal is having great difficulties to say no to her mother and this causes her to become single, homeless and unemployed. And now, living with her mother is the only option she has left.

When bearing her mum seems, well, unbearable, Crystal decides to sign up for a robot research and fills a form asking for the robot to have all the qualities that Crystal’s mum likes in a person. Crystal does this with the intention to find company for her mother, a best friend, in the hope that then she would be left alone, and doesn’t tell her mum about this robot-companion. This all happens, of course, without the mother knowing.

But what no one expected to happen was for the robot to be so human that it’s unrecognizable. He looks exactly like a human, and a very handsome one as well. He also has no flaws and is perfect in everything he does. Crystal’s mum hasn’t been happier in years and she really enjoys all the attention and caring she is getting – but when she starts to develop feelings for the robot, Crystal has to make a decision: does she hide everything and make the robot disappear, or should she tell her mum the truth?

I loved the style this book was written in: emails, diary entries and letters. A unique style with a fast-paced tempo that made me read it in a day and I enjoyed every moment of it.
The mother-daughter relationship was accurate and at times very comparable, however, I did not agree with Crystal in some of her choices. She was mean to her mum sometimes and didn’t know how to express her feelings. Who has ever forbid their mum’s from calling them? Have you ever said to your mum – look mum, from now on, you will only call me for one hour in a week? Sorry, but ridiculous…

Mom’s Perfect Boyfriend is not a book I would usually pick up and it is way out of my comfort zone, but I did enjoy it. It was everything I expected it to be; cute, dynamic, funny and meaningful. I need more books like this one in my life.

Thank you to the team from LoveReading UK, for proving me with a paperback copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest ( )
  InnahLovesYou | Sep 4, 2019 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
This book was absolutely ridiculous and delightful! I needed a palette cleanser of a book and this fit the bill perfectly. Each time I put it down, I would say, "This is completely goofy and I love it."
The basic overview is that due to a series of circumstances, Crystal has to move in with her loving but overbearing mother Margot. To get her mom off her back, Crystal orders her an android companion, Adam.
Do you have to suspend belief a bit here? Sure. But I love the interactions between characters via text messages and emails. Margot's "I'm grateful for..." statements at the end of her journal entries are sometimes aggravating, but sometimes really funny. The situations are really cute. Everyone gets a happy ending. Crystal's "joke" novel and the emails regarding it in the last 40 or so pages had me in stitches.
I'm sure this isn't meant to be a heavy-hitting read, but if you want something light and fun, pick this up! ( )
  readergirliz | Sep 2, 2019 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
3.5 stars
I received an early reviewer's copy of this from Galbadia Press. Romance is not my usual genre-of-choice, but I was intrigued by the structure, so I applied for a copy. Look, I need to say up front that this is a very silly story with more than one unbelievable plot thread. But it's meant to be lighthearted and a little comical, so I'm not holding the silliness against it. The novel is written in the form of emails, text messages, letter, journal entries and snippets from the protagonist's fiction stories. As with "Illuminae", this format took a little while to get used to, but after that I liked it. There is a lot going on here - broken romance, family drama, career changes, androids and the protagonist's forays into writing not one but two novels: a fairytale retelling and an erotic tale about dinosaurs (yes, really). To be honest, I could have done without the dinosaur erotica, but I quite liked the rest.
My main problem is that while the novel as a whole is written competently enough, the excerpts from the protagonist's "novels" are very amateurish, which was an odd choice, especially given the ending.
It's a very quick and easy read and an original set-up, although quite predictable after that.
I was wavering between 3 and 3.5 stars, but in the end I had a fun time and I wasn't bored, so 3.5 stars seems fair. ( )
  TwoBooksBlog | Aug 27, 2019 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Admittedly, although I text quite adeptly, I do not embrace texting as a preferred way of communicating. This book, Mom's Perfect Boyfriend, uses texting and journal entries to tell the story. I find that the method of storytelling is limiting without much opportunity to explore motivation and background.
I found the book rather shallow and silly. The story lines were trite and it was a little hard to suspend disbelief at the idea that a robot could be created that would be such a perfect boyfriend. It is also hard to embrace a writing style when communication is limited to 4 or 5 word lines. ( )
1 vote joyceBl | Aug 27, 2019 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 26 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Where'd You Go, Bernadette, a smart romantic comedy about mothers and daughters, and the hilarious consequences of a white lie.Crystal has trouble saying no to her lonely, single mother. For 25 years, it wasn't a problem. But when one small mistake leaves Crystal jilted, homeless and unemployed, she has to move back in with the one person who caused it all: her mother.Soon Crystal is sucked into her mother's vortex, partying with boomers and hawking misshapen marshmallows. Desperate for some independence, she hatches a foolproof plan: get an experimental android to play her mom's "perfect" boyfriend. It's only a matter of time before her mom finds out, and Crystal will never live down the hilarious and disastrous consequences.Written in an addicting, fast-paced format, Mom's Perfect Boyfriend is a humorous yet deeply honest portrayal about the complicated friendship between mothers and daughters. Because sometimes the people we least want to rely on are those who can help us the most.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

O livro de Crystal Hemmingway, Mom's Perfect Boyfriend, estava disponível em LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Inscreva-se para obter uma cópia da pré-publicação em troca de uma resenha.

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.54)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 5
3.5
4 12
4.5
5 2

GenreThing

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 159,202,532 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível