Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The Beekeeper of Aleppo: The must-read…
Carregando...

The Beekeeper of Aleppo: The must-read million copy bestseller (original: 2019; edição: 2020)

de Christy Lefteri (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
6073229,836 (4.14)20
"Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again. Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways"--… (mais)
Membro:RichardGault
Título:The Beekeeper of Aleppo: The must-read million copy bestseller
Autores:Christy Lefteri (Autor)
Informação:Manilla Press (2020), Edition: 01, 400 pages
Coleções:first glass shelves, Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Detalhes da Obra

The Beekeeper of Aleppo de Christy Lefteri (2019)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 20 menções

Inglês (28)  Holandês (3)  Alemão (1)  Todos os idiomas (32)
Mostrando 1-5 de 32 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
De eerste helft las ik door omstandigheden in kleine stukjes met veel tussenpozen. Het begon met te storen dat ik het verhaal niet goed mee had... tot ik door had dat niet ik, maar het hoofdpersonage in de war was. Daarna las ik de 2e helft heel vlot.
Het boek is iets zwaarder op lezen omdat het ons confronteert met de psychische en andere problemen die samen gaan met oorlog, rouw, vluchten, ... Dat maakt het boek ook wat uniek, want veel andere boeken over vluchtelingen vertellen wel de miserie, maar lijken vooral te focussen op de grote veerkracht van de vluchtelingen. ( )
  ArtieVeerle | Aug 22, 2021 |
Aleppo was a beautiful city in Syria before the bombs started to fall and it became a horrific war zone. This wonderfully written novel tells the story of Nuri Ibrahim and his wife, Afra Ibrahim, who were prospering with Nuri and his cousin's beehives in the countryside. But, they stay too long and suffer terrible consequences, including Afra's loss of her eyesight. We follow their path through Turkey and Greece as they seek to join cousin Mustafa in England. Their journey is harrowing, physically and mentally, as they are forced to do things to survive and move on. Author Christy Lefteri's time as a NGO volunteer working with refugees has given her insights and her endnote should not be skipped. I also liked her mid-chapter pivot around a word or phrase where she ends one section and starts another as I've never seen an author use such a technique. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
A thoroughly thought provoking story, more so because it is based on true experiences as told to the author.

This is the story of Nuri and Afra, a loving couple who tragically lost their young son Sami. Afra is blind and reluctant to leave Aleppo as they will be leaving Sami behind. She is in a world of physical darkness but has immense courage and resilience. Nuri is in a different sort of darkness that disconnects him from Afra and what he sees and experiences. He is a sensitive person who had lived a gentle and quiet life looking after bees with his cousin Mustafa. He finds the grief, suffering and uncertainty overwhelming.

I was grateful that it was not more graphic, I found some parts, especially when they were still in Aleppo, quite difficult and upsetting to read. So many ordinary people who find themselves in extraordinary, horrible circumstances, struggling to find safety and some place where they can try to pick up their lives, no longer knowing what the future holds for them. It is life-changing.

Although the subject matter is very disturbing this is a wonderful book. ( )
  Matacabras | May 18, 2021 |
All members of our book club loved The Beekeeper of Aleppo. They found it very enlightening, particularly regarding the mental and immigration difficulties. Some incidents that happened to Afra and Nuri were horrifying and members felt almost guilty for enjoying the book despite the gravity of the subject matter. All members loved the writing style, though some members found the single word connections between different scenes a little bit jarring. The characterisations and relationships in the book were well developed. All in all, members gave this book an 8/10. ( )
  Tofey | Mar 29, 2021 |
In the tradition of The Kite Runner, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a story of suffering and the remarkable ability of the human spirit to survive against a background of war, slaughter and heartache.
Nuri, his wife Afra, and their son Sami are residents in war torn Aleppo. By profession he is a beekeeper and carries out this dedicated vocation with his friend Mustafa. Running through this insightful story is a fond adoration of the daily life of the humble bee, the delicious honey they produce, and their importance in the ecological system. Life is irrevocably changed when a bomb explodes, killing Sami and blinding Afro. As the desperate situation in Syria/Aleppo disintegrates Nuri takes the decision together with his wife to make the perilous journey across Europe and obtain residency in the UK as an asylum seeker, and by so doing join his friend Mustafa who has already established a business in Yorkshire. What follow is not only the hardships of such and endeavour but a story of 2 people deeply traumatised attempting to save a relationship fractured by events in an escalating war...

….”But as the years passed, the dessert was slowly growing, the climate becoming harsh, rivers drying up, farmers struggling, only the bees were drought-resistant. Look at those little warriors Afra would say on the days when she came with Sami to visit the apiaries, a tiny bundle wrapped up in her arms. Look at them still working when everything else is dying”...”Nice to meet you he said...I wish you a day of morning light”....” How many tissues will people need to buy? Maybe this is a city of crying”....”Can you see the bees Nuri? Try to see them in your mind. Hundreds and thousands of them in the sunlight, on the flowers, the hives and the honeycomb. Can you see it?”.....”I am standing away from them by the glass doors, watching them, and I think about the little boy who never existed and how he had filled the black void that Sami had left. Sometimes we create such powerful illusions, so that we do not get lost in the darkness”.....

Provocative, thought provoking prose, make this a story long remembered. Highly recommended. ( )
  runner56 | Jan 9, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 32 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Lefteri’s slow-building narrative rarely veers into sentimentality or overwhelming bleakness.
adicionado por gypsysmom | editarTIME magazine, Naina Bajekal (Aug 22, 2019)
 
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Dad
Also, for S
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
I am scared of my wife's eyes.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo--until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destroyed by war, they are forced to escape. But what Afra has seen is so terrible she has gone blind, and so they must embark on a perilous journey through Turkey and Greece towards an uncertain future in Britain. As Nuri and Afra travel through a broken world, they must confront not only the pain of their own unspeakable loss, but dangers that would overwhelm the bravest of souls. Above all, they must journey to find each other again. Moving, powerful, and beautifully written, The Beekeeper of Aleppo brings home the idea that the most ordinary of lives can be completely upended in unimaginable ways"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Melvil Decimal System (DDC)

823.92 — Literature English English fiction Modern Period 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (4.14)
0.5
1
1.5
2 4
2.5 3
3 12
3.5 9
4 57
4.5 7
5 45

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 162,499,863 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível