Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Bright Star de Erin Swan
Carregando...

Bright Star (edição: 2019)

de Erin Swan (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaConversas
412615,363 (3.67)Nenhum(a)
Rejected all her life for being half-human, half-elf, Andra is a servant in Paerolia's Chief Judge's manor until she is thrust in to a secret rebellion that could make her the land's new leader.
Membro:SnoopySmile
Título:Bright Star
Autores:Erin Swan (Autor)
Informação:Tor Teen (2019), 384 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

Bright Star de Erin Swan

Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

Exibindo 2 de 2
I received an ARC of this title from School Library Journal in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Relationships are at the core of Erin Swan’s new book, Bright Star. Elf, dragon, and human kingdoms have shared the land of Paerolia for centuries, but times are changing across the kingdoms. Females have been forbidden to participate in the Pairing Ceremony, where young dragons choose their Riders, for centuries and the human council of judges is in danger of being overthrown by a tyrant. When a young girl named Andra surreptitiously observes the annual Pairing ritual and inadvertently attracts the attention of an extraordinarily rare dragon but the Pairing is not completed, tragedy and warfare ensue. After being forcibly removed from her home, Andra joins the elves, wild dragons, and humans in open rebellion to the status quo. She must choose between the person she was and the person she might be, with all the corresponding consequences for either choice. The relationships are well drawn between the main characters and particularly engaging between the Paired dragons and their Riders. Swan depicts a society in transition with undercurrents of feminism, racism, and oppression in a dynamic world blend of the pragmatic and the magical. Recommended for fans of Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina series and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone trilogy. ( )
  scatlett | Aug 1, 2023 |
A nostalgic blend of Eragon and early Robin McKinley.

Caught observing a dragon Rider ceremony, Andra is sent from her position at the Hall back to the Chief Judge’s estate. Where Andra was born, where her father was killed, and where further unspeakable horrors are thrust upon her just days after her return. Alone and unwilling to speak, Andra’s suffering routine is interrupted when she witnesses a group of rebels assassinate the Chief Judge’s son. The rebels make their escape, taking Andra with them, starting this servant girl on a path to find her voice, new friends, and reasons that make life worth living.

Andra’s world seems to draw heavy inspiration Paolini’s Alegaesia. Dragon Riders were established in ages past to bring peace between man, dragon, and elf. Rider-dragon pairs have enhanced magic, share a telepathic connection, and are revered by the general populace. And of course, each Rider has a color-coordinated sword. Elves live in the forest, dwarves mind their own business, and humans run around making a mess of things.

And hey, I wasn’t mad about it. It brought me back to the old days of searching internet forums for fan theories on the rock of Kuthian or the Vault of Souls while waiting YEARS for the next book to be released (I’m looking at you, Brisingr).

What made Bright Star spark, other than feel-good reminiscence, was the almost classic tone. It’s part distance, part manner of speech, and a whole lot of things I can’t really describe but made me think of Robin McKinley’s The Blue Sword. This went well with the rousing rebel speeches, moments of sweet romance, and telling quite a bit of story in less than 400 pages.

Sadly, as the action picked up, my enthusiasm declined, and I struggled with the final chapters. Andra remained oblivious or indifferent to her over-powered abilities, I felt cheated out of a training montage, and I couldn’t get past a sense of emotional discontinuity. Several moments stuck out as being huge and powerful, because of what they meant to Andra or other characters, but I spent the first half being baffled because there was no build up. It’s a testament to the writing that I wanted to empathize so badly without being able to understand why the character was displaying such acute emotion.

Oh well. There were dragons to love, one-liners to hate Last sentence of the book: "Because I've always fancied living somewhere close to the sea." Since when?? This had me so frustrated, you don't even know, and enough nostalgia to see me through to the end. ( )
  Pascale1812 | Apr 16, 2020 |
Exibindo 2 de 2
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Rejected all her life for being half-human, half-elf, Andra is a servant in Paerolia's Chief Judge's manor until she is thrust in to a secret rebellion that could make her the land's new leader.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 207,066,587 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível