Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

New Kid de Jerry Craft
Carregando...

New Kid (original: 2019; edição: 2019)

de Jerry Craft (Autor), Jerry Craft (Ilustrador)

Séries: New Kid (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
8888018,516 (4.31)52
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?… (mais)
Membro:JasmineCh12
Título:New Kid
Autores:Jerry Craft (Autor)
Outros autores:Jerry Craft (Ilustrador)
Informação:Quill Tree Books (2019), Edition: 1, 256 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Detalhes da Obra

New Kid de Jerry Craft (2019)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 52 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 80 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
This was a great book about the lower class, diversity, and stereotyping. It is about a kid named Jordan who is going to a more prestigious school because his parents think it will be better for him. But this school is not used to diversity, even a few of the teachers do not know how to act around them. It talks about his experience with being bully for his background. ( )
  kimmiestack | Jul 11, 2021 |
Jordan Banks is a seventh grader, living in the 'hood of Washington Heights, a very diverse neighborhood. His pushy mother and pushover father send him to Riverdale Academy Day School (RAD), where he struggles to fit in, find himself and a posse, eventually becoming fast friends with a lonely white kid (whose father travels) and a black athlete. He faces some racism, some blatant and some not. I especially enjoyed his daily metamorphosis on the bus where he goes from cool to nerd going to school and the reverse coming home. He also struggles to fit back in his 'hood as he becomes 'private school.' Good graphic art and an authentic feel about being accepted or ostracized racially, economically, socially. 3.5 stars. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
Really good. A must-read for librarians and teachers, but everyone else should read it too! ( )
  CaitlinMcC | Jul 11, 2021 |
diverse middlegrade graphic novel (Jordan is a light-skinned black kid starting 7th grade at a mostly-white private school on scholarship)

This story took me a little while to settle into (partly because I was just tired in general) but by the end of the story I'd really taken to Jordan and his funny new friends--J. grows quite a bit in his first year, learning to stand up for himself and others (while somehow not getting into trouble for the double-standards that teachers/administrators demonstrate for white students/black students) amidst various forms of microaggressions and bullying, and also trying to make things better for other classmates that he sees struggling to make friends.

Surprisingly sweet for a story about middle school. More, please! ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
This story is about a young boy named Jordan, who moved into a new school. He began to attend a private school that specialized in art. However, Jordan was one of the only students of color in the entire school. He lived in an urban area that lacked diversity. This book allows for readers to see how Jordan worked to fit in, in a society that had not been exposed to diverse cultures.
  Jessica0614 | Jun 2, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 80 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Don’t let the title fool you. Seventh-grader Jordan Banks may be the new kid at his upper-crust private school, but this remarkably honest and accessible story is not just about being new; it’s unabashedly about race. Example after uncomfortable example hits the mark: casual assumptions about black students’ families and financial status, black students being mistaken for one another, well-intentioned teachers awkwardly stumbling over language, competition over skin tones among the black students themselves. Yet it’s clear that everyone has a burden to bear, from the weird girl to the blond boy who lives in a mansion, and, indeed, Jordan only learns to navigate his new world by not falling back on his own assumptions. Craft’s easy-going art and ingenious use of visual metaphor loosen things up considerably, and excerpts from Jordan’s sketch book provide several funny, poignant, and insightful asides. It helps keep things light and approachable even as Jordan’s parents tussle over the question of what’s best for their son—to follow the world’s harsh rules so he can fit in or try to pave his own difficult road. A few climactic moments of resolution feel a touch too pat, but Craft’s voice rings urgent and empathetic. Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group. Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.
adicionado por KaylaHatcher | editarBooklist Online, Jesse Karp (Nov 15, 2018)
 

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To the Jordan Banks in all of us
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I'm falling without a parachute.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (4.31)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 19
3.5 9
4 69
4.5 11
5 92

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 163,313,672 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível