Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

New Kid de Jerry Craft
Carregando...

New Kid (original: 2019; edição: 2019)

de Jerry Craft (Autor), Jerry Craft (Ilustrador)

Séries: New Kid (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
7767621,335 (4.3)44
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?… (mais)
Membro:BrownellLibraryVT
Título:New Kid
Autores:Jerry Craft (Autor)
Outros autores:Jerry Craft (Ilustrador)
Informação:Quill Tree Books (2019), Edition: Illustrated - Unabridged, 256 pages
Coleções:Youth, Juvenile, Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Detalhes da Obra

New Kid de Jerry Craft (2019)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 44 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 76 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
This story is about a young boy named Jordan, who moved into a new school. He began to attend a private school that specialized in art. However, Jordan was one of the only students of color in the entire school. He lived in an urban area that lacked diversity. This book allows for readers to see how Jordan worked to fit in, in a society that had not been exposed to diverse cultures.
  Jessica0614 | Jun 2, 2021 |
New Kid is a coming of age story, that is loosely based on the writers life, He writes about his sons’ experience in a predominately white private school. The main character, Jordan Banks, a 12 year old African-America boy, witnesses the biased behavior of both teachers and students at his school. He also befriends his guide Liam, who is very rich and a third generation RAD student. In class he meets Andre another African American student who is encountering racism at the school. Jordan also faces difficulty on where to sit in the cafeteria and explaining to his neighborhood friends his friendship with Liam.

This book is a good example of racial stereotypes and injustice in Ivy League schools. This book was the first graphic novel to win a Newberry Medal Award. It also received rave reviews and additional awards: The Coretta Scott King and Kirkus Prize.

It would be an excellent classroom read and a great selection for an Equity, Inclusion, and diversity unit in the middle school classroom. ( )
  BookwormMarie | May 23, 2021 |
Read an an ebook.
  nicsreads | May 13, 2021 |
Jordan is the protagonist, very artistic twelve year old. He thought his parents were sending him to an art school but instead they send him to a prestigious school called “Riverdale Academy.” He is one of the few colored students in the school. This book goes through his first day to his last day of school. This book teaches the reader to be confident in yourself, don’t let people treat you badly because you don’t look like them. ( )
  andreawilliams12 | Apr 29, 2021 |
Another graphic novel that won a 2021 Nutmeg book award, the New Kid follows Jordan and his struggles as the "new kid" at a new school that his mother seems more excited for him to attend than he is. Readers of the Diaries of a Wimpy Kid will enjoy this piece of realistic fiction as young readers will be able to relate to Jordan and form a connection to his personal struggles. As such, this book is great for middle school students, though elementary school students will still love following the story with along with the beautiful artwork. ( )
  amassa1994 | Apr 27, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 76 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Don’t let the title fool you. Seventh-grader Jordan Banks may be the new kid at his upper-crust private school, but this remarkably honest and accessible story is not just about being new; it’s unabashedly about race. Example after uncomfortable example hits the mark: casual assumptions about black students’ families and financial status, black students being mistaken for one another, well-intentioned teachers awkwardly stumbling over language, competition over skin tones among the black students themselves. Yet it’s clear that everyone has a burden to bear, from the weird girl to the blond boy who lives in a mansion, and, indeed, Jordan only learns to navigate his new world by not falling back on his own assumptions. Craft’s easy-going art and ingenious use of visual metaphor loosen things up considerably, and excerpts from Jordan’s sketch book provide several funny, poignant, and insightful asides. It helps keep things light and approachable even as Jordan’s parents tussle over the question of what’s best for their son—to follow the world’s harsh rules so he can fit in or try to pave his own difficult road. A few climactic moments of resolution feel a touch too pat, but Craft’s voice rings urgent and empathetic. Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group. Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.
adicionado por KaylaHatcher | editarBooklist Online, Jesse Karp (Nov 15, 2018)
 

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To the Jordan Banks in all of us
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I'm falling without a parachute.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (4.3)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5
3 17
3.5 9
4 63
4.5 11
5 83

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 159,164,240 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível