Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

Cocaine Blues

de Kerry Greenwood

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

Séries: Phryne Fisher (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,7361299,547 (3.66)284
Fiction. Literature. Mystery. Historical Fiction. HTML:

From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Cocaine Blues, the first historical mystery featuring the sensual, posh, and intrepid murder detective Phryne Fisher...

"Phryne can not get enough of adventure and the reader can not get enough of Phryne."??Deadly Pleasures

Looking for a riveting historical mystery series? This book is for you:

  • Perfect for Fans of Rhys Bowen and Dorothy Sayers
  • Inspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, starring Essie Davis
  • Movie Currently Streaming on Acorn TV

The London season is in full fling at the end of the roaring 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher??she of the green-gray eyes, diamant garters, and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions??is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia.

Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops, and communism??not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse??until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street. Tension and danger rise like steam, and Phryne must save herself and other young women before it's too late. Find these historical mystery series in Kindle books or in print??this lady detective will chase criminals to the end… (mais)

  1. 10
    Veneno fatal de Dorothy L. Sayers (aulsmith)
  2. 00
    Queen of Hearts de Rhys Bowen (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: The Royal Spyness mysteries are set in England in the 1930s; the Phryne Fisher mysteries take place in Australia in the 1920s. Both cozy historical mystery series feature smart, independent, and unconventional heroines, and strong evocations of time and place.… (mais)
  3. 00
    Nobody's Sweetheart Now de Maggie Robinson (Katie.Loughlin)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 284 menções

Inglês (127)  Francês (1)  Todos os idiomas (128)
Mostrando 1-5 de 128 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
A very fun mystery. ( )
  everettroberts | Oct 20, 2023 |
A decent first book in a cozy mystery series. I enjoyed this despite the fact that the solution to the mystery was pretty obvious. A few quibbles - a little too much description of Phyrne's wardrobe and a bit more sexual innuendo than I care for. Of the two, the repeated details of what people were wearing bothered me more (although perhaps it was camouflage for an important clothing-related clue!) and I hope that this is toned down a bit in future books of the series. ( )
  leslie.98 | Jun 27, 2023 |
This was a re - listen and I really enjoyed it. Short enjoyable period set crime novel. I will continue with the series ( )
  LisaBergin | Apr 12, 2023 |
Phryne Fisher is a likeable, charming and vibrant individual. She's kind and generous to those she meets, smart and logical when faced with problems or obstacles and adventurous in her dislike of boredom. She is brave and tenacious and brutal when faced with injustice.

A few deaths of distant relatives were all that stood between her life of poverty and her ascent into luxury at the age of 12 and she never takes her wealth and social standing for granted. The result of which is a kind and generous soul who is always willing to speak up for the victims, the downtrodden or the underdogs and one who relishes fine food, fine clothes and the myriad of pursuits open to her. Her open mindedness leads to an unique and vibrant cast pulled from all walks of life.

Being an Aussie and a proud Melbournian - the Melbourne setting was a highlight. Recognising the street names and places was fun. And Melbournians will understand the delight in recognising how strange our weather is to outsiders.

As far as the genre goes, I don't know if I'd really say it was crime or historical. I mean it is a historical period but it felt kind of modern. The crime was good but it was interspersed with character relationships. There was romance but none of it was meaningful or relevant. It was too lowbrow to be literary and too much reality to be chick lit. It's an odd mix that was an enjoyable read but likely not for everyone.

For all I've had the first book on my shelf for a number of years (after picking it up at Dirt Cheap Books) and regardless of how much I've enjoyed the tv show - I've never gotten around to picking this series up. But I'm glad I did. There was a lot to be liked in this start to the series with few problems. It is fairly different from the tv show (and she's a lot younger in the books) but the main elements are present - like Phryne's love of clothes, her humour, confidence and loveable charming personality.

Plot wise, I enjoyed the twists and turns and the intricate setup of the crime. I adored the way women were portrayed. I loved that all the female characters were strong willed and fierce and able to look after themselves - even when it didn't always seem like it. I also really liked how the cops weren't written as useless or inept - but rather unable to significantly help without someone willing to speak up and testify.

For the characters, I loved them all. Phryne, Dot, Dr Elizabeth MacMillan, WPC Jones, Inspector Robinson, Bert and Cec, they were all fantastic and had me giggling throughout. An enjoyable read, 3.5 stars, rounded to 4. ( )
  funstm | Jan 20, 2023 |
Honorable Miss Phryne Fisher travelers back to Melbourne, Australia after years abroad. But she isn't there on a social visit. A couple has asked her to investigate why their daughter gets terrible ill now and then. Is her husband trying to poison her?

It always a bit tricky reading a book after watching a tv series based on it, and vice versa. But I, despite all the difference between the book and the tv-series still enjoyed the book immensely. But I must admit that I miss the sexual tension between Phryne Fisher and Jack Robinson that exist in the tv-series and alas is absent in the book. But despite that, the story was great and I love to read about Australia in the 1920s.

Phryne Fisher is such a wonderful character, adventurous and glamorous. Now I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series!

( )
  MaraBlaise | Jul 23, 2022 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 128 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores (2 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Kerry Greenwoodautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Daniel, StephanieNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Linares, PepaTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Norling, BethArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To my mother and father
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The glass in the French window shattered.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Also titled:
Miss Phryne Fisher Investigates
Death by Misadventure
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (2)

Fiction. Literature. Mystery. Historical Fiction. HTML:

From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Cocaine Blues, the first historical mystery featuring the sensual, posh, and intrepid murder detective Phryne Fisher...

"Phryne can not get enough of adventure and the reader can not get enough of Phryne."??Deadly Pleasures

Looking for a riveting historical mystery series? This book is for you:

Perfect for Fans of Rhys Bowen and Dorothy Sayers Inspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries, starring Essie Davis Movie Currently Streaming on Acorn TV

The London season is in full fling at the end of the roaring 1920s, but the Honourable Phryne Fisher??she of the green-gray eyes, diamant garters, and outfits that should not be sprung suddenly on those of nervous dispositions??is rapidly tiring of the tedium of arranging flowers, making polite conversations with retired colonels, and dancing with weak-chinned men. Instead, Phryne decides it might be rather amusing to try her hand at being a lady detective in Melbourne, Australia.

Almost immediately from the time she books into the Windsor Hotel, Phryne is embroiled in mystery: poisoned wives, cocaine smuggling rings, corrupt cops, and communism??not to mention erotic encounters with the beautiful Russian dancer, Sasha de Lisse??until her adventure reaches its steamy end in the Turkish baths of Little Lonsdale Street. Tension and danger rise like steam, and Phryne must save herself and other young women before it's too late. Find these historical mystery series in Kindle books or in print??this lady detective will chase criminals to the end

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.66)
0.5
1 6
1.5 2
2 22
2.5 7
3 169
3.5 64
4 232
4.5 5
5 76

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 197,765,468 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível