Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

Little Darlings (2019)

de Melanie Golding

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2424884,541 (3.94)4
"Unforgettable."--The New York Times "Lyrical and atmospheric." --Bustle "A satiating psychological horror tale." --Cultured Vultures SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE An April 2019 Library Reads Pick! "Mother knows best" takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms' Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother. Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they're right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she's never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own...creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she's imagining things. A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren's side in a park. But when they're found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley--to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies. Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she's wrong about what she saw...she'll be making the biggest mistake of her life. Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some of our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking--and rechecking--your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 4 menções

Inglês (47)  Alemão (1)  Todos os idiomas (48)
Mostrando 1-5 de 48 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
** spoiler alert ** Not since the novel “Baby Teeth” have I gotten serious chills from reading. This book was extremely hard for me to put down, and after reading the passages stayed with me. It is not only a thriller in the likes of Stephen King, but also an honest depiction of new motherhood, and the history of folklore. ⁣
Lauren is a new mom of twin boys, so one would expect her to be exhausted and overwhelmed. Her husband Patrick means well but like some new dads, doesn’t quite know what to do and ultimately leaves the majority of the childcare to Lauren. As someone who had her first child a year ago, I sympathized with Lauren’s feelings of pure exhaustion, worry, and frustration. When she was angry with her husband, I felt it along with her. When the doctors wouldn’t listen to her, I wanted to shout at them on her behalf. That’s on behalf of the author, who writes very vividly. ⁣
One night in the maternity ward, a strange woman attempts to abduct Lauren’s children. But no one seems to believe her, except a kindly police officer. Once Lauren and the babies are home, more strange events seem to happen. You are never quite sure what is a legitimate feeling and what is an exaggerated response as a result of postpartum depression. ⁣
I read in the book jacket that the movie rights for this novel have already been optioned, which I can’t wait to see who they cast and hope they give this book the adaptation it deserves. This novel unsettled me, kept me on the edge of my seat, and yet I would read it again and recommend it to others. I am looking forward to the author’s next work as well.⁣ ( )
  brookiexlicious | May 9, 2021 |
Folklore, myth and reality intertwine in this heart wrenching thriller. A mother’s worst fear...he children abducted and then returned but the children were not hers but something sinister.

This book gives a front seat look into postpartum Depression mingled with otherworldy influences.

The ending left me wanting more. I hungered for more information on the River mother. What happened to her? What lead her to this?

Overall a decent read.

*ARC provided by Netgalley* ( )
  ReviewsByKay | Mar 1, 2021 |
Little Darlings by Melanie Golding is a 2019 Crooked Lane publication.

Creepy, atmospheric mix of psychological suspense and supernatural folklore

Lauren is understandably exhausted after giving birth to twins, but enough to imagine she saw a woman enter her hospital room and attempt to swap out her babies? Lauren insists someone is out to steal her twins, but the only person who is giving her the benefit of the doubt is Joanna Harper, the officer who responded to Lauren’s initial 999 call.

Then, just as Lauren is starting to feel confident about going out again her babies are abducted, just has she’d feared. Although they are quickly recovered, Lauren has horrifying reaction, insisting the babies aren’t hers, which promptly lands her in an institution.

As Jo investigates the odd goings on, she makes some interesting discoveries about Lauren’s husband, some lurid folklore tales about twins, and a shockingly similar case that took place decades earlier...

This book was super-hot with many of my friends on social media last year. I’d been dying to see what all the fuss was about, but as I was still doing a lot of assigned work at that time, the book slid down my TBR list and off my radar. I don’t think I realized the novel had such a strong paranormal tone, thinking it was more of a psychological thriller. As it turns out the novel is adept at genre bending- mixing suspense and mystery with supernatural elements, while painting a vivid portrait of the length's parents will go to, and willing sacrifices they will make in order to protect or save their children.

It’s an interesting mashup, and it works spectacularly. If all horror novels were like this one, I’d read this genre more often. I liked Joanna, but occasionally her personal thoughts and relationship woes didn’t really interest me and slowed down the momentum, breaking the carefully woven spell on a few occasions. Other than that, this is a super tense story, very eerie and atmospheric, and despite the slightly disappointing ambiguousnesses of the conclusion, it still left me with a lingering feeling of poignancy long after the final page was turned. ( )
  gpangel | Sep 16, 2020 |
Eerie and disquieting journey into the world of folk lore and myths.

Lauren is a first time mother who has just given birth to her twin baby boys, Morgan and Riley. While recovering in hospital from the difficult births, Lauren is woken in the middle of the night by mysterious noises coming from the hospital bed next to her. Curious because the noises seem to be a new mother with her own set of twins, Lauren is confronted by the sight of a horrid woman who wants to trade her babies for Lauren's boys. After a second encounter where the woman demands Lauren's babies, Lauren lock herself in the washroom and calls police but no one is found. Lauren is finally released from the hospital with her babies but is still convinced a strange woman tried to take her babies so insists on staying at home and protecting her newborn babies. Eventually, her husband convinces Lauren to go for a walk with the babies and while resting. the babies disappear and the police are called. Thankfully, the babies are found unharmed but Laurn is certain that the babies are not hers and have been "changed".

I absolutely adored how this book was written. The surreal encounters with the mysterious woman, Lauren's experience of being a first time mother, her growing horror of realizing the babies are not hers, the police woman who has a hunch that Lauren is telling the truth, the background of folklore ingrained in the story... it isn't easy to incorporate all of that into one book seamlessly but the author nailed it.
I liked the side story about the police woman who believes Lauren very much. She was not the main protagonist but I liked her character (and hope there will be more police stories with her in them... hint hint). I have to say I detested the husband but you need a negative character sometimes just to spice things up a notch. I really can't say too much because I don't want to give spoilers away. The book is more than it seems, and either way you interpret the book, you are in for a wonderful debut novel. ( )
  Veronica.Sparrow | Jul 20, 2020 |
Delightfully unsettling. A blend of Grimm fairytales and domestic noir, with a heavy dose of unreliable narrator, Golding weaves a tale of the horror of motherhood. Is a mysterious woman trying to steal Laurens twins or is she wrestling postpartum, depression and exhaustion playing tricks on her mind? A gripping, compelling story. ( )
  hestapleton | May 3, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 48 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Unforgettable."--The New York Times "Lyrical and atmospheric." --Bustle "A satiating psychological horror tale." --Cultured Vultures SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE An April 2019 Library Reads Pick! "Mother knows best" takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms' Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother. Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they're right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she's never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own...creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she's imagining things. A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren's side in a park. But when they're found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley--to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies. Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she's wrong about what she saw...she'll be making the biggest mistake of her life. Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some of our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking--and rechecking--your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.94)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 10
3.5 4
4 39
4.5 1
5 14

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 158,867,831 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível