Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Binding

de Bridget Collins

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,0447414,675 (3.7)24
"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives"--
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 24 menções

Inglês (69)  Holandês (3)  Alemão (1)  Espanhol (1)  Húngaro (1)  Todos os idiomas (75)
Mostrando 1-5 de 75 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
What a fantastic book. Really well put together, gorgeous prose and sensitive story. I fell in love with the main characters and also cared about secondary characters. Vivid scene painting too. What a pleasure to read this book. ( )
  BananaSquirrel | Jul 31, 2021 |
Dear me why did I bother. Awful. A mixture of sub-Dickens, a tiny dash of Tolkien and a huge dollop of Mills and Boon. A love story tied up in ribbons of normalised witchcraft. Overlong, over sentimental, lacking in proper research into the book binding of the title. Never again. ( )
1 vote Steve38 | Jun 20, 2021 |
This is a book that I want to give more than five stars, in fact, all the stars. It's a very unique and interesting concept: people go to binders to get rid of bad memories which are put into a book. The books are supposed to be saved, but there's an illegal trade in marketing them and also writing a sort of fan-fiction which become novels.
Emmett is a farmer's son who becomes very ill. When he recovers somewhat, he's sent to an old bookbinder to learn her trade. The story unfolds from there in a surprising and novel manner involving Emmett, his sister Alta, and the mysterious Lucien Darnay. It's a morality tale in some ways and a fantasy story that enchants the reader. Parts are very grim but the author writes in what I call word pictures that paint the story clearly while not being too graphic. That's probably not a good explanation, but I found the writing very immersive.
This is definitely an author I'll read more from, and I recommend you should also. ( )
  N.W.Moors | Mar 30, 2021 |
4.75*
This was beautifully written! I loved the concept of people being able to have their memories removed and kept in the pages of a book even if it wasn't always being done for the best of reasons. The relationships felt so natural and had an enchanting love story. This read like an adult Disney movie and I loved it! The only thing that keeps me from giving it a full 5* was that the beginning was a little slow and I went into this thinking it was going to be more of an action story. There was also something about the way the passage of time was written that I didn't enjoy as much. I could tell that time was passing in the indirect way that Collins wrote about it, but it didn't feel quite as natural to me.

I listened to this as an audiobook and while I didn't enjoy the narrator at first he grew on me, and after a while I didn't want to stop listening to it. ( )
  courty4189 | Mar 24, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 75 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
“The Binding” succeeds in creating the magic it proposes: the experience of memory returning, a rush of recollection that can change the whole world, if only for one person at a time — or sometimes two.
adicionado por KayCliff | editarNew York Times, Naomi Novik (May 8, 2019)
 
The Binding is an unpretentious work of escapist fiction. The morality of the book is simple; the good are essentially noble and their enemies unambiguously wicked. The vaguely antiquated setting could as easily be Westeros or Hardy’s Wessex. At the heart of the novel is a love story that develops along a familiar trajectory, from immediate dislike to inexplicable flutters of the heart to full infatuation with its feeling of being “breathless and dizzy, as if my blood was too thin”. When the protagonists are happy, it’s spring outdoors. When things go wrong, a wet snow falls.... The Binding is a kissing novel par excellence, and on this level, it is like a wonderful meal made from a few simple ingredients: the feeling in your chest when you hold someone in your arms for the first time; the sight of a host of bluebells. In recent years, the state of the world has threatened to make us forget the simple pleasures of kisses and bluebells and thick novels that tell stories of heartbreak. Here is a book to help us remember.
adicionado por KayCliff | editarThe Guardian, Sandra Newman (Jan 4, 2019)
 
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Nick
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
When the letter came I was out in the fields, binding up my last sheaf of wheat with hands that were shaking so much I could hardly tie the knot.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.7)
0.5
1 3
1.5 2
2 15
2.5 2
3 49
3.5 20
4 83
4.5 11
5 35

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 160,544,216 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível