Página inicialGruposDiscussãoExplorarZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The Night Tiger: A Novel de Yangsze Choo
Carregando...

The Night Tiger: A Novel (edição: 2019)

de Yangsze Choo (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
8083921,058 (3.79)46
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick INSTANTNEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER "A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." --Kirkus(starred review) An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for. Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever. As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes. Yangsze Choo's The Night Tigerpulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible. "A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection." --Booklist(starred review)… (mais)
Membro:librarypowr
Título:The Night Tiger: A Novel
Autores:Yangsze Choo (Autor)
Informação:Flatiron Books (2019), 372 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Coming of age-Fiction, Malaysia (Colony)-1930s-Fiction, Mysteries, Murder-Fiction, Legends and folklore-Fiction

Work Information

The Night Tiger de Yangsze Choo

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 46 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 39 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
A good read ( )
  oobiec | Nov 2, 2021 |
A good read ( )
  oobiec | Nov 2, 2021 |
Loved this one until the inevitable love interest kicked in and there were two crazies in the end instead of one. It was a bit far for even me to stretch my disbelief. And I really, really wanted Shin to be the evil one of the five because I'm tired of being unable to escape romance in books that are perfectly wonderful without them, I'm with Ji Lin's mom that loving your stepbrother is gross, and most of all because I got creepy vibes from him. I'm glad that that the story is open ended enough that I can imagine Ji Lin dumping him.

It's such a shame, because I loved this book so much, otherwise. The place descriptions made me want to go back to Singapore and Malaysia. The side characters were great--Choo has a way of telling us a little snippet that brings even revolving-door characters a bit of shine--and Ren and Ji Lin were both delightful. Ren is so sincere, and it's lovely to read a story that doesn't grind the child into a cynical pile of dust. It was also nice to see adults take genuine interest in his future, however unrealistic that may have been.

I loved Ji Lin's forthright personality, curiosity, and love for her mother. But I also liked the character of Dr. William Acton, who was a terrible bundle of flaws with some positive qualities that make you wonder if he'sredeemable. We don't get rock-solid answers from him by the end of the book, but after not one but two conveniently tied-up packages, I was very satisfied with a little bit of ambiguity.

I'm going for three stars but still putting this book on my "recommended" shelf. I don't know, if every single book with a woman main character has to have a romance, clearly it's just me who's so curmudgeonly about it and that's not going to detract from other people's enjoyment. Until almost 50 pages from the end, I was back in the lovely warm reading space that I haven't found since 2019, enjoying the experience of reading a book, meeting characters, and looking forward to reading instead of just plowing through even stories I enjoyed, like Gideon the Ninth, like chores instead of pleasure.

But man, this story was so wonderful just as it was. Ji Lin was wonderful just as she was. Why can't women characters ever just stand on their own?


Edit, 4/8/21: I recently reread my review of Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen, and I think I had similar feelings about these two books. I was excited to read them and I loved about the first 2/3, but once the romance hit I was just so disappointed that it impacted my enjoyment of the rest of the book. Though in this case there was the added fact that the stupid love interest was emotionally abusive, so I couldn't just roll my eyes and get on with it. ( )
  books-n-pickles | Oct 29, 2021 |
Such a fantastic read. I finished the audiobook on a 2 day trip across the country and it was fantastic. Kept me interested the entire time. Even when I predicted things about characters and the plot there was so much more I missed, leaving me intrigued and surprised at every turn. I wish Yangsze Choo had even more books available to read/listen to, as I love her style of writing and all of her characters! ( )
  Conni_W | Jul 7, 2021 |
Part ghost story, part love story. ( )
  KittyCunningham | Apr 26, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 39 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This book is for my father and mother, who were born and grew up in the Kinta Valley.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The old man is dying.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick INSTANTNEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER "A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." --Kirkus(starred review) An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee Quick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother's Mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been longing for. Eleven-year-old houseboy Ren is also on a mission, racing to fulfill his former master's dying wish: that Ren find the man's finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master's soul will wander the earth forever. As the days tick relentlessly by, a series of unexplained deaths racks the district, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous paths crisscross through lush plantations, hospital storage rooms, and ghostly dreamscapes. Yangsze Choo's The Night Tigerpulls us into a world of servants and masters, age-old superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzling, propulsive novel is the intimate coming-of-age of a child and a young woman, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible. "A work of incredible beauty... Astoundingly captivating and striking... A transcendent story of courage and connection." --Booklist(starred review)

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.79)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 11
2.5
3 46
3.5 15
4 69
4.5 9
5 40

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 164,377,057 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível