Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Various Haunts of Men (2004)

de Susan Hill

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

Séries: Simon Serrailler (1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1,1917512,072 (3.62)267
A woman vanishes in the fog up on 'the Hill', an area locally known for its tranquillity and peace. The police are not alarmed; people usually disappear for their own reasons. But when a young girl, an old man and even a dog disappear no one can deny that something untoward is happening in this quiet cathedral town. Young policewoman Freya Graffham is assigned to the case, she's new to the job, compassionate, inquisitive, dedicated and needs to know - perhaps too much.… (mais)
Adicionado recentemente porArina42
Bibliotecas HistóricasLeslie Scalapino
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 267 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 75 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
slow and confusing. ( )
  AnnaHernandez | Oct 17, 2019 |
It's such a treat to find that the first book in a nice long series is excellent! I had a hard time putting this one down, and ordered the next volume before I was even half through. Dark, yes, and with a gut-punch of a twist, but oh so good. ( )
  JBD1 | Apr 29, 2018 |
police
bumped into this when looking up Joe Hill.... very good. ( )
  kmajort | Feb 9, 2018 |
I mostly enjoyed this novel. I felt there were a lot of loose ends - what happened to the boy with leukaemia, for example, and the psychic surgeon. I also did get fed up of getting to know a character who was then killed off - particularly towards the end of the book. ( )
  AJBraithwaite | Aug 14, 2017 |
This novel is well written, with interesting characters and well described settings. Although Simon is mainly seen through the eyes of two women, Cat and Freya, I did get to know him well enough to want to move on with the series. I was drawn in and will be going back for more. I listened to the Library of Congress audio version, which was well narrated by Eric Sandvold. ( )
  briellenadyne | May 24, 2017 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 75 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
if you write this sort of novel, your readers will expect a process of discovery leading to a form of resolution, a structure which gives the intellectual pleasure characteristic of this branch of the genre.

They won't find it here. The identity of the murderer is allowed to drift into the story three-quarters of the way through. Neither the reader nor police have much to do with it. The killer's motivation is so perfunctorily sketched that it fails to convince. The ending is arbitrary, unsatisfying and suspiciously convenient. A good crime novel follows its own logic. For all its undoubted virtues, this one sometimes loses the scent.
adicionado por KayCliff | editarIndependent, Andrew Taylor (Jun 17, 2004)
 
Hill is good at establishing the arcane web of connections in this investigation that result in wrong turnings and false leads. ... Fans of Morse and Midsomer will recognise this mix of rural calm and brutal carnage, choral music and pathology reports, and as the trilogy progresses may even learn to find in the steely gaze of Simon Serrailler some of the attraction that his sergeant finds so irresistible.
adicionado por KayCliff | editarThe Observer, Tim Adams (Jun 6, 2004)
 
frustrating and disappointing that Hill should have chosen such a traditional type of crime novel (serial killer, police procedural) to extend her range. This is the crime of small, fictional worlds, rattling tea-cups, genteel suspicions, cherished hatreds, of mists on the lamp-lit heath, grand moral gestures and lightly treading footsteps - always more Midsomer than Moss Side; more Watson or Marsh, say, than Peace or McDermid.
adicionado por KayCliff | editarThe Guardian, Robert Edric (May 29, 2004)
 

» Adicionar outros autores (7 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Susan Hillautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Pacey, StevenNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The Various Haunts of men
Require the pencil, they defy the pen.

~ George Crabbe, The Borough

Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For
My dearly loved Ghost
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
"The Tape" Last week I found a letter from you. I didn't think I had kept any of them. I thought I had destroyed everything from you. But this one had somehow been overlooked.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (2)

A woman vanishes in the fog up on 'the Hill', an area locally known for its tranquillity and peace. The police are not alarmed; people usually disappear for their own reasons. But when a young girl, an old man and even a dog disappear no one can deny that something untoward is happening in this quiet cathedral town. Young policewoman Freya Graffham is assigned to the case, she's new to the job, compassionate, inquisitive, dedicated and needs to know - perhaps too much.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.62)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5 3
2 19
2.5 13
3 83
3.5 37
4 149
4.5 14
5 41

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 157,278,366 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível