Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Other Words for Home de Jasmine Warga
Carregando...

Other Words for Home (edição: 2019)

de Jasmine Warga (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4973338,082 (4.42)4
Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.… (mais)
Membro:Owlpower
Título:Other Words for Home
Autores:Jasmine Warga (Autor)
Informação:Balzer Bray (2019), 352 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:MS Summer 2020

Detalhes da Obra

Other Words for Home de Jasmine Warga

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 4 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 33 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Confession: I thought this was a picture book when I put it on my list.

I'm so glad that it wasn't.

This is a relevant, much-needed story of a young girl from Syria. It engenders empathy, understanding, and hope. Jude is a compelling and honest voice that, I felt, explored the complexity of life in our time. There was so much of her culture that I loved. I also thought it was interesting that differences, in her mind, created sameness and vice versa. An idea I'd like to explore.

At the beginning, I questioned whether this would accurately be classified as middle-grade instead of YA. The voice was older, but the story, what happened to the character, would benefit more those who are younger. In a teen book someone would have died. And I was quite surprised when no one did, because that would seem to be the most realistic option. I'm not sure what the accurate classification should be. ( )
  OutOfTheBestBooks | Sep 24, 2021 |
This contemporary realistic story that is told through free verse tells the story of a young girl, named Jude that must leave her home town in Syria, when things turn volatile. She leaves with her mother for the United States to go live with relatives in Cincinnati. The book is broken up into six sections of Jude’s journey; changing, arriving, staying, hoping, growing, and living. This lyrical novel in verse is beautifully real and honest as Jude faces life in America and new labels that follow her there like “Middle Eastern” and what the means. She has to deal with leaving her father and older brother behind and the difficulty of that separation and connection they fight to keep even with the distance separating them. Jude fights to find her place in this new world while also remembering who she already is. This new world offers Jude new possibilities, more family, new friends and opportunities to find herself.
  Verity2 | Jul 24, 2021 |
I didn’t mean to read this book in one sitting, but as soon as I cracked the cover I realized I didn’t stand a chance. Beautifully written in verse, Other Words for Home tells the story of Jude - young Syrian girl in America struggling to find what “home” means in English, in Arabic, and in herself. ( )
  SamBortle | Jul 23, 2021 |
"Other Words For Home" is a sweet verse novel for middle-school readers. The story follows Jude as she leaves Syria with her mother to live with her uncle and his family in the U.S. Through the lens of a child, the reader is given an insight into the life of a refugee trying to find a place to call home and keep her identity.

The only negative was the end. If finished abruptly and left me with questions unanswered. However, overall, "Other Words For Home" was an inspirational read. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jun 12, 2021 |
This book follows the story of a Syrian refugee and her mother who come to the united states. It shows the struggles that she has adjusting to the American way of life with her father and brother left at home. She does her best to keep up her pride for her religion and culture. This is difficult in the post-terrorism mindset of many Americans. ( )
  evelynlee | Apr 30, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 33 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores (2 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Jasmine Wargaautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Stempel-Lobell, JennaDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Syed, AnooshaArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This one's for the Nazeks,
especially my father, who crossed an ocean,
my uncle Abdalla, who loved me from across one,
and my cousin Jude, whose name I borrowed.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
It is almost summer and everywhere smells like fish,
except for right down by the sea
where if you hold your nose just right
you can smell the sprawling jasmine and the salt water
instead.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Newbery Honor Book! A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (4.42)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 7
3.5 7
4 30
4.5 4
5 54

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 163,135,947 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível