Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The Romanov Empress: A Novel of Tsarina…
Carregando...

The Romanov Empress: A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna (edição: 2018)

de C. W. Gortner (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3175082,944 (4.26)30
Fiction. Literature. Historical Fiction. HTML:For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.
Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule.
Narrated by the mother of Russia's last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years.
Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage??as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie??now called Maria??must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love.
Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache.
From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it.
Advance praise for The Romanov Empress

"Through the voice of Maria, [C. W.] Gortner succeeds in adding a new perspective to the well-known story of Nicholas, Alexandra, and Rasputin. As a sister, wife, mother, and empress, she is a fierce and dynamic narrator."??Library Journal
"Gortner, an experienced hand at recreating the unique aura of a particular time and place, will deftly sweep historical-fictions fans into this glamorous, turbulent, and ultimately tragic chapter in history."??Booklist (starr
… (mais)
Membro:David_of_PA
Título:The Romanov Empress: A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna
Autores:C. W. Gortner (Autor)
Informação:Ballantine Books (2018), 448 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:*****
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Informações da Obra

The Romanov Empress de C. W. Gortner

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 30 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 51 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I really enjoyed reading this book! I'm so curious about the Romanov family, and this book was interesting! The author does an exemplary job with historical facts, combining it with fictional aspects.
A definite must read for historical fiction lovers! ( )
  Sassyjd32 | Dec 22, 2023 |
I really enjoyed listening to this historical novel. The narration was excellent and C W Gortner’s story was as always brilliantly told. ( )
  LisaBergin | Apr 12, 2023 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Fantastic read, very entertaining and enjoyable. Couldn't put it down!
  mermaidjoy | Jan 15, 2023 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Really good look at what the Tsarina endured during the last days of the Russian empire. Told by the Tsarina hertself, Revealing and interesting, it made me want to go and learn more about her and the history
( )
  SJWolfe | Sep 22, 2022 |
4.5 stars if I could. What a ride! ( )
  knittinkitties | Aug 23, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 51 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Literature. Historical Fiction. HTML:For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.
Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule.
Narrated by the mother of Russia's last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russia's most compelling women, who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in its final years.
Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage??as her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victoria's eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie??now called Maria??must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love.
Her husband's death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas's strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache.
From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it.
Advance praise for The Romanov Empress

"Through the voice of Maria, [C. W.] Gortner succeeds in adding a new perspective to the well-known story of Nicholas, Alexandra, and Rasputin. As a sister, wife, mother, and empress, she is a fierce and dynamic narrator."??Library Journal
"Gortner, an experienced hand at recreating the unique aura of a particular time and place, will deftly sweep historical-fictions fans into this glamorous, turbulent, and ultimately tragic chapter in history."??Booklist (starr

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Revisores inicias do LibraryThing

O livro de C. W. Gortner, The Romanov Empress, estava disponível em LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Autor LibraryThing

C. W. Gortner é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal na LibraryThing.

página do perfil | página de autor

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (4.26)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 10
3.5 5
4 37
4.5 7
5 38

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 205,997,006 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível