Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Le Bois Duncton de William Horwood
Carregando...

Le Bois Duncton (original: 1980; edição: 2007)

de William Horwood

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
8521719,118 (3.83)26
The epic million-copy bestseller, available as an ebook for the first time The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power. A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake's darkness. When Bracken falls in love with Rebecca, Mandrake's daughter, the moles must make life and death choices as their extraordinary search for freedom and truth begins ... Together Bracken and Rebecca will embark on moving journey that will challenge them in ways they could never have imagined. But can they save Duncton before it's too late? Duncton Wood is the first instalment in The Duncton Chronicles, an unforgettable six-book series now widely regarded as a fantasy classic. For readers of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques and Richard Adams' Watership Down, this is a quest into the heart of nature, the redemptive power of love and the triumph of spirit. The Duncton Chronicles Duncton Wood Duncton Quest Duncton Found (ebook coming soon) Praise for Duncton Wood ' An inspiring novel ... An epic in the tradition of The Lord of the Rings ' Sunday Times 'A breathtaking achievement' Washington Post 'A passionate, lyrical, appealing tale ... Consistently absorbing ... Enchanting ' Cosmopolitan 'A great big mole- epic with a great big theme' Daily Mail 'Horwood has placed his astute ear to the ground and fashioned ... a modern masterpiece ... Classic themes of conflict are here, good and evil, love and hate, the clash of traditional and modern values.' Houston Chronicle 'Destined to be a classic ... A beautiful story.' Little Rock Arkansas Gazette 'An earthy epic fantasy ... The themes of power, survival, passion, courage, sacrifice, love and devotion are presented with astonishing clarity.' Los Angeles Times Book Review ' An absolute spell-binder, by Lord of the Rings out of Watership Down. I found it enchanting, compulsive reading ... I am still haunted by its beauty' Magnus Magnusson ' The stuff of legend ... Horwood's natural world is lyrically realised, his mole empire a delight, his romantic tale full of adventure, suspense, battle and searchings ... A rich, cautionary fairy tale.' Publishers Weekly 'More readable and more rewarding than The Lord of the Rings ' The Times 'Special, endearing, successful ... truly touching ... This is a novel for the pure-at-heart and slightly naive, for the childishness in the weary, and the children we should be having ... Allegorically fabulous.' Village Voice ' Luxuriantly written ... richly drawn, painting a detailed and loving panorama.' Associated Pres.… (mais)
Membro:Menelon
Título:Le Bois Duncton
Autores:William Horwood
Informação:Librairie L' Atalante (2007), Broché, 747 pages
Coleções:Para ler, Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Detalhes da Obra

Duncton Wood de William Horwood (1980)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 26 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 17 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I borrowed this from Watford Library and read this soon after it was published back in the 1980s based on a recommendation from a friend. I really enjoyed the saga of the moles and now in April 2020 am just starting the audio book. ( )
  Lindsay_Wallace | Apr 16, 2021 |
Not for me ( )
  TCLinrow | Mar 17, 2021 |
Not for me ( )
  TCLinrow | Mar 17, 2021 |
Some really long books align themselves with the circumstances of your own like - at least chronologically, and sometimes emotionally. Anytime I think of "War and Peace," for example, it's easy to transport myself back to the 1980s, and the cold apartment I had west of Boston, in the snow. I suspect it will be true of this book, as well. Not perfect but first rate. There was a brief period about 600 pages in where I was momentarily skeptical of the storyline and how the author would bring it all home. But it's a wonderful story, full of characters that I will always remember. It was a hard book to find! Surprising that there has not been a reprinting somewhere along the line. ( )
  shaundeane | Sep 13, 2020 |
I first read this book when I was in junior school (which still surprises me, when I come back to some of the darkest bits) and if anyone asks 'what is your favourite book' it is this one that first comes to mind. It has shaped so many of the places I have visited and loved, and so much of the way I think about God and religion. I called my first dog Bracken.

I'm not sure I can write a review about whether it is actually a good book. Objectively, I can see things that people would not like about it. But the epic story of Bracken, Rebecca and Boswell, surviving plague and fire and always seeking love and the silence of the Stone is written deep on my heart. ( )
  atreic | Sep 6, 2019 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 17 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
William Horwoodautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Barber, JohnArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Chekha, AleksandraTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Fabrega, José CalsinaArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Goubert, PierreTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Hall, DouglasArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Korusiewicz, MariaTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Kramer, LiesbethTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Luna, Jorge OlmedoTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Milano, Giuseppe PiccaTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Palewicz, MariaTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Palewicz, RomanTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Polz, KarinTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Vacher, ChristopheArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série

Pertence à série publicada

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Leslie, with my love
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
September. A great grey storm swept its pelting rain up the pastures of Duncton Hill and then on into the depths of the oaks and beeches of Duncton Wood itself.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

The epic million-copy bestseller, available as an ebook for the first time The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power. A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to free Duncton Wood. Only by putting his trust in the ancient Stone, forgotten symbol of a great spiritual past, can he find the strength to challenge Mandrake's darkness. When Bracken falls in love with Rebecca, Mandrake's daughter, the moles must make life and death choices as their extraordinary search for freedom and truth begins ... Together Bracken and Rebecca will embark on moving journey that will challenge them in ways they could never have imagined. But can they save Duncton before it's too late? Duncton Wood is the first instalment in The Duncton Chronicles, an unforgettable six-book series now widely regarded as a fantasy classic. For readers of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques and Richard Adams' Watership Down, this is a quest into the heart of nature, the redemptive power of love and the triumph of spirit. The Duncton Chronicles Duncton Wood Duncton Quest Duncton Found (ebook coming soon) Praise for Duncton Wood ' An inspiring novel ... An epic in the tradition of The Lord of the Rings ' Sunday Times 'A breathtaking achievement' Washington Post 'A passionate, lyrical, appealing tale ... Consistently absorbing ... Enchanting ' Cosmopolitan 'A great big mole- epic with a great big theme' Daily Mail 'Horwood has placed his astute ear to the ground and fashioned ... a modern masterpiece ... Classic themes of conflict are here, good and evil, love and hate, the clash of traditional and modern values.' Houston Chronicle 'Destined to be a classic ... A beautiful story.' Little Rock Arkansas Gazette 'An earthy epic fantasy ... The themes of power, survival, passion, courage, sacrifice, love and devotion are presented with astonishing clarity.' Los Angeles Times Book Review ' An absolute spell-binder, by Lord of the Rings out of Watership Down. I found it enchanting, compulsive reading ... I am still haunted by its beauty' Magnus Magnusson ' The stuff of legend ... Horwood's natural world is lyrically realised, his mole empire a delight, his romantic tale full of adventure, suspense, battle and searchings ... A rich, cautionary fairy tale.' Publishers Weekly 'More readable and more rewarding than The Lord of the Rings ' The Times 'Special, endearing, successful ... truly touching ... This is a novel for the pure-at-heart and slightly naive, for the childishness in the weary, and the children we should be having ... Allegorically fabulous.' Village Voice ' Luxuriantly written ... richly drawn, painting a detailed and loving panorama.' Associated Pres.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.83)
0.5 2
1 3
1.5
2 9
2.5 8
3 35
3.5 6
4 63
4.5 7
5 49

GenreThing

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 160,310,619 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível