Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Secret of a Heart Note

de Stacey Lee

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
9410230,801 (3.5)1
From critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love--while protecting her own heart at all costs--perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E. Lockhart. Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking--all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn't want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman's son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn't always a choice you can make. At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee's The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one's place in the world.… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Ver também 1 menção

Mostrando 1-5 de 10 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Second book to my Asian Readathon Month...This book was amazing, cute, and heartbreaking! It's truly beautiful. What I really loved is to get to know her aunt and that they fixed their relationship even though you know there are still some things for them to figure out. I am loving the ending, this was a cute ending. Even if I kind of saw it coming, I am still so happy! I am definitely going to read more books of Stacey Lee! ( )
  iamcmims | Apr 4, 2021 |
I think I'd like contemporary romance a lot better if the hero and heroine didn't always have a falling-out with each other near the end before making up, with the latter happening in only a few pages. I know it's part of the typical contemporary romance recipe, but for me it always destroys most of the feel-good aspect, unless there's a good long fluffy epilogue of them being happy together again (which rarely appears). ( )
  KendraJ. | Dec 10, 2019 |
Fifteen year old Mim works alongside her mother mixing love potions based on their powerful senses of smell. Due to the affect she has on others and with her future in matchmaking already mapped out, Mim had to beg her mom to let her experience high school, but already her school days are in jeopardy thanks to a boy she isn’t supposed to fall in love with, and a major mix-up on the job that she would prefer her mother doesn’t hear about.

While I sometimes longed for a bit more depth to the characters and their relationships, for the most part I enjoyed them, and many of my favorite scenes involved the romance Mim accidentally falls into, particularly whenever her love interest joined her on her quest to fix her mistake, they shared a really sweet chemistry.

With the jinx, the romance, Mim’s friendship troubles, the disclosure of someone’s sexuality, the love matches, and the strained mother/daughter and sister relationships, the book set in motion many interesting story threads, yet every one of them wrapped up with relative ease, not only did it seem a little unlikely for a character to juggle a zillion problems and have all of them work out so well, I also craved a little more creativity involved in the resolutions.

Still, this is a fun read, I don’t know that I’ve ever read anything where the sense of smell is so heavily woven into the narrative, I so enjoyed the link between scents and emotions, heartache smelling like blueberries, love smelling like butterscotch pudding, etc, it gave the book a unique feel. ( )
  SJGirl | Jul 4, 2019 |
i'm not a huge fan of contemporary reads, but i LOVED THIS BOOK SO COMPLETELY. it read almost like a light fantasy, and the complexities of the Mim's word amazed me. along side, the book is filled with wonderfully diverse characters like Kali and Pascha, and who can forget the dreamy Court?

i found Mim very relatable with her awkwardness around other people, and loved learning about how different emotions are scented. this was a fun and light book that made me happier as i read it. Brilliant storywork really helped my usually fantasy-laden brain really love this book.

( )
  ohkamikaze | May 6, 2019 |
Well written and I liked how original the world was. It is one of those 'Comedy of Errors' type books and I caught myself rolling my eyes because the MC kept digging her hole deeper and deeper it seemed. ( )
  NerdyHousewifey | Feb 1, 2019 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 10 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

From critically acclaimed author Stacey Lee, an evocative novel about a teen aroma-expert who uses her extrasensitive sense of smell to help others fall in love--while protecting her own heart at all costs--perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and E. Lockhart. Sometimes love is right under your nose. As one of only two aromateurs left on the planet, sixteen-year-old Mimosa knows what her future holds: a lifetime of weeding, mixing love elixirs, and matchmaking--all while remaining incurably alone. For Mim, the rules are clear: falling in love would render her nose useless, taking away her one great talent. Still, Mimosa doesn't want to spend her life elbow-deep in soil and begonias. She dreams of a normal high school experience with friends, sports practices, debate club, and even a boyfriend. But when she accidentally gives an elixir to the wrong woman and has to rely on the lovesick woman's son, the school soccer star, to help fix the situation, Mim quickly begins to realize that falling in love isn't always a choice you can make. At once hopeful, funny, and romantic, Stacey Lee's The Secret of a Heart Note is a richly evocative coming-of-age story that gives a fresh perspective on falling in love and finding one's place in the world.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.5)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2
2.5
3 5
3.5 2
4 4
4.5 1
5 3

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 163,193,900 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível