Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Queen's Accomplice

de Susan Elia MacNeal

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

Séries: Maggie Hope (6)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4032763,217 (3.79)17
Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. Historical Fiction. HTML:Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
England, 1942. The Nazis?? relentless Blitz may have paused, but London??s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper??s crimes. What??s more, he??s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill??s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed ??the Blackout Beast.? A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.
Praise for The Queen??s Accomplice

??Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.???Kirkus Reviews
??A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.???Booklist
??Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal??s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie??s next adventure.???Shelf Awareness
??Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense.???Historical Novel Society
??For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy.???Reviewing the Evidence
??MacNeal??s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays of
… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 17 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 27 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Trying hard to enjoy this book. But the feminist crusader tone is becoming a horrible distraction. Another minor annoyance is use of the term “serial killer” - the phrase was coined in the 1970’s with a few incidental mentions in 1960’s literature. It was not a term in the 30’s or 40’s.

The plotting seems so-so. The thriller glimpses of the killer are well done.

At nearly 90% through, I haven’t quite gotten my hands around the Queen’s accomplice reference, but there’s still a little time.

Back to our story.

After finishing: I figured out the title. But honestly, it is so unrelated to the main story, I can’t understand why it was used.

The rest of the above still applies. At this point, I don’t know that I will continue the series. ( )
  AMKitty | May 13, 2023 |
Maybe I just needed a break and was reading the others too close together, but I felt like this was one of the stronger entries in this series so far. ( )
  Malaraa | Apr 26, 2022 |
England, 1942. The Nazis' relentless Blitz has paused, but London's nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper's crimes. What's more, he's targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill's spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI5 quickly realize they need the help of Special Agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed "the Blackout Beast." A trap is set … ( )
  puttsplace | Oct 10, 2021 |
1942 London and during one of the night's blackouts an ARP warden discovers a female body. It seems that the body and the next are an reanactment of the killings of Jack the Ripper. Maggie Hope is seconded to the team of DCI Duggin who leads the investigation.
Meanwhile we also have the story of Maggie's half-sister in a Nazi prison camp, and the deployment of two SOE agents.
This is the first of the series that I have read and the only character I really liked was Duggin ( )
  Vesper1931 | Jul 29, 2021 |
In this sixth installment, Maggie Hope is based at the SOE in Baker Street in London. Sara Sanderson and Hugh are training at a country house to be dropped into Paris as husband and wife. A copycat Jack-the-Ripper is killing young women SOE recruits in London and Maggie is called in to help investigate those murders with DCI Durgin of Scotland Yard. Chuck and Griffin have moved into Maggie's renovated, inherited house, when their apartment blows up from a gas leak. A second concern of Maggie's the 1/3 of men's salaries that women in the SOE earn along with the fact that no treaty or convention covers women combatants. They do not have to be taken prisoners. She is also waiting for her half-sister Elise Hess to arrive from Berlin. ( )
  baughga | Jan 11, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 27 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Susan Elia MacNealautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Allen, VictoriaDesigner da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Duerden, SusanNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Wiggins, MickArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
In memory of Violette Szabo, June 26, 1921 - February 5, 1945, Posthumously awarded the George Cross and the Croix de Guerre, and among the 117 SOE agents who did not survive their missions to France
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The winds were changing.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fiction. Mystery. Thriller. Historical Fiction. HTML:Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as the New York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
England, 1942. The Nazis?? relentless Blitz may have paused, but London??s nightly blackouts continue. Now, under the cover of darkness, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper??s crimes. What??s more, he??s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill??s spies and saboteurs abroad. The officers at MI-5 quickly realize they need the help of special agent Maggie Hope to find the killer dubbed ??the Blackout Beast.? A trap is set. But once the murderer has his sights on Maggie, not even Buckingham Palace can protect the resourceful spy from her fate.
Praise for The Queen??s Accomplice

??Maggie is a thoughtful spy whose dangerous escapades never disappoint.???Kirkus Reviews
??A fine historical mystery given a feminist slant.???Booklist
??Plausible and elegant . . . Like all MacNeal??s novels, this one ends on a cliffhanger that will leave readers eagerly awaiting Maggie??s next adventure.???Shelf Awareness
??Works as a suspenseful stand-alone . . . interesting and informative . . . wartime London is vividly portrayed . . . recommended for those who like their historical mysteries with a large dose of suspense.???Historical Novel Society
??For those who are Maggie Hope diehards, this latest in the series is sure to satisfy.???Reviewing the Evidence
??MacNeal??s meticulous research shines through on every page, and pays of

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Autor LibraryThing

Susan Elia MacNeal é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal na LibraryThing.

página do perfil | página de autor

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.79)
0.5
1
1.5
2 7
2.5 3
3 22
3.5 6
4 47
4.5 3
5 19

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 206,038,269 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível