Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge: A Novel

de Paul Krueger

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3282179,167 (3.22)7
Fantasy. Fiction. HTML:In this sharp and funny urban fantasy novel, booze is magic, demons are real, and millennial Bailey Chen joins a band of monster-fighting Chicago bartenders instead of finding a "real" post-college job.

Bailey Chen is fresh out of college with all the usual new-adult demons: no cash, no job offers, and an awkward relationship with Zane, the old friend she kinda-sorta hooked up with during high school.

But when Zane introduces Bailey to his monster-fighting bartender friends, her demons become a lot more literal. It turns out that evil creatures stalk the city streets after hours, and they can be hunted only with the help of magically mixed cocktails: vodka grants super-strength, whiskey offers the power of telekinesis, and rum lets its drinker fire blasts of elemental energy. But will all these powers be enough for Bailey to halt a mysterious rash of gruesome deaths? And what will she do when the safety of a "real world" job beckons?

This sharp and funny urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, and grown-up readers of Harry Potter. Includes 14 recipes from a book of ancient cocktail lore.
… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 7 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 21 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
This was not a quick read for me due to some lag in the middle. But, I've given it a perfectly respectable three stars because it's an entertaining idea, I enjoyed our protagonist and her band of weirdos well enough, and the conflicts were good to scary. I adored how smart Bailey is when she isn't getting in her own way. I'm glad I read it, and if you like mixed drinks, diversity just because it's human, and magic and monsters, you'll probably enjoy this one, too.
  terriaminute | Dec 4, 2022 |
This was amazingly fun; I sped through this in practically one sitting. I love the idea of bartenders being the defense against supernatural monsters (tremens) that prey on inebriated humans, and use perfectly mixed cocktails to give themselves magical abilities - different abilities based on the drink and the base liquor. The story telling was interspersed with pages from the The Devil's Water Dictionary, the handbook-slash-recipe book-slash-history book for magical bartending. I thought it was a really neat way to give worldbuilding backstory and flair, and it introduced me to some new drinks as well.

This isn't a serious book. It's supposed to be light and funny, and it delivered. Yes, the plot was ridiculous. Yes, the characters were also ridiculous. But it was incredibly fun and I smiled throughout. I'm really looking forward to any further adventures of the Alechemists.

Also, huge cheers to the author for having an Asian protagonist and not devolving into Orientalistic mystic stereotypical claptrap.

Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley. ( )
  wisemetis | Sep 14, 2022 |
This was lacklustre and very messy.
Intriguing concept with a terrible execution.
I just could not bring myself to suffer any more.
(The recipes were the best part IMO)

FINAL VERDICT : MAYBE TRY BUT DON'T EXPECT MUCH ( )
  QuirkyCat_13 | Jun 20, 2022 |
The pluses: yay for an asian wopman main character, yay for a trans friend, yay for weird Canadians, yay for a super silly premise -- cocktails as super powers.

The minuses: takes itself a little too seriously, given that premise. The relationship drama is very high school and quite annoying. The plot kept skipping a beat here and there in confusing ways -- loyalties shifting, breakups and getting together with no conversations, endless in-moments -- not believable, and eventually just wanted the book to be over already because that aspect was annoying to me.

In summation: good world building, good face to the characters but no depth, and the plot left something to be desired. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
I started this hoping for “fun” and got it! There’s a great mix of characters, strong quips, a kooky magic system, nice diversity, fun and showy fight scenes, and basically that light urban fantasy zing I really go for. I was rooting for Bailey pretty heavily throughout, especially after the hints that the status was not, in fact, quo. It’s not a by-the-books urban fantasy, however. There were plenty of things I didn’t see coming, and some good depth to the character development.

(Also, I want this to be a series so I can keep following these people.)

Warnings: Alcohol? Nothing that I perceive as possibly triggery, but there’s booze in pretty much every scene, due to setting if nothing else.

8/10 ( )
  NinjaMuse | Jul 26, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 21 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fantasy. Fiction. HTML:In this sharp and funny urban fantasy novel, booze is magic, demons are real, and millennial Bailey Chen joins a band of monster-fighting Chicago bartenders instead of finding a "real" post-college job.

Bailey Chen is fresh out of college with all the usual new-adult demons: no cash, no job offers, and an awkward relationship with Zane, the old friend she kinda-sorta hooked up with during high school.

But when Zane introduces Bailey to his monster-fighting bartender friends, her demons become a lot more literal. It turns out that evil creatures stalk the city streets after hours, and they can be hunted only with the help of magically mixed cocktails: vodka grants super-strength, whiskey offers the power of telekinesis, and rum lets its drinker fire blasts of elemental energy. But will all these powers be enough for Bailey to halt a mysterious rash of gruesome deaths? And what will she do when the safety of a "real world" job beckons?

This sharp and funny urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, and grown-up readers of Harry Potter. Includes 14 recipes from a book of ancient cocktail lore.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Classificação decimal de Dewey (CDD)

813.6Literature English (North America) American fiction 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (3.22)
0.5
1 6
1.5
2 7
2.5
3 27
3.5 4
4 23
4.5 1
5 4

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 204,473,018 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível