Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

How the In-Laws Wrecked Christmas

de Fiona Gibson

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaConversas
1111,424,252 (3)Nenhum(a)
A funny, festive short story from bestseller Fiona Gibson. Just the thing to curl up with on a cold winter night. "I was gutted when it finished...a Christmas must!" Reader review Christmas in the country. What could be better? All you need is one country house, one gorgeous boyfriend and a liberal dusting of snow. Right? That's what Anna thinks and she can't wait for the festivities to start. But then she meets her gorgeous boyfriend's awful parents. And their drunk friends. And she starts to hear all about a certain ex-wife. Suddenly this doesn't look like a very merry Christmas after all... Christmas doesn't always go to plan, and Fiona tells it like it is. The perfect festive read for fans of 'Outnumbered' and Fern Britton.… (mais)
Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

What I Thought:

Sadly, I think that this book has gotten a lot of grief purely for the fact that it is short. However, I find this rather absurd, as the blurbs and descriptions all say that it is a short story! That being said, I am only just delving into this world of short stories and flash fiction. I have always been more of a series, high fantasy, 700 page book malarkey, but I started seeing the beauty of having the option to read a great story in a single evening. I think it is especially great for parents or busy business people, as they don't always know when they'll have the option to read again!

With all this in mind, I knew I was getting into a short story, at about 60 pages, and expected a slightly speedier pace, as there was a lot less time to create and develop. I do think this story would have been fantastic as a full length read, but I did enjoy it.

I found the main character both lovely and infuriating. She was put in a bad position, when she went to meet her longterm boyfriend's parents, coined the in-laws. They were still hooked on their son's previous partner, and now ex-wife. With a young child involved and the divorce taking place, for whatever reason, just a year ago, it is actually something we might see in real life. Of the families I know, who have divorced relatives, it is mentioned years and years after because marriage is a tight bond. However, the poor girl is made to feel as though she is not wanted, doesn't fit in and she starts to believe both that she is in well over her head and that she may not be right for her partner.

We watch as their holiday unfolds, with drama upon drama. I found myself starting to resent the main character, but I still also disliked the family. I found this fantastic, as any situation like this, where someone is in the middle, would result in such emotion, i believe.

The end, has twists and turns, as any relationship in jeopardy might, especially one that is getting close to making the leap into a more serious stage. I found it intriguing, infuriating, emotional and a bit of fun. It is not the absolute best read I have experienced, but it is fun for a short, fast read. ( )
  naturalbri | Dec 24, 2014 |
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

A funny, festive short story from bestseller Fiona Gibson. Just the thing to curl up with on a cold winter night. "I was gutted when it finished...a Christmas must!" Reader review Christmas in the country. What could be better? All you need is one country house, one gorgeous boyfriend and a liberal dusting of snow. Right? That's what Anna thinks and she can't wait for the festivities to start. But then she meets her gorgeous boyfriend's awful parents. And their drunk friends. And she starts to hear all about a certain ex-wife. Suddenly this doesn't look like a very merry Christmas after all... Christmas doesn't always go to plan, and Fiona tells it like it is. The perfect festive read for fans of 'Outnumbered' and Fern Britton.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 2
3 1
3.5
4 2
4.5
5

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 163,388,972 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível