Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Jacaranda: A Novella of the Clockwork…
Carregando...

Jacaranda: A Novella of the Clockwork Century (edição: 2015)

de Cherie Priest

Séries: The Clockwork Century (5.1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
1639131,952 (3.64)5
Set in the world of Priest's Clockwork Century series, this stand-alone-novella takes readers to the Jacaranda Hotel on the island of Galveston, off the coast of southeast Texas, in an alternate 1895 where locals say a curse is killing the people who stay there.
Membro:gaea9
Título:Jacaranda: A Novella of the Clockwork Century
Autores:Cherie Priest
Informação:Subterranean (2015), Edition: Deluxe Hardcover Edition, Hardcover, 184 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Nenhum(a)

Detalhes da Obra

Jacaranda de Cherie Priest

  1. 00
    Maplecroft de Cherie Priest (PghDragonMan)
    PghDragonMan: Unnamed horror and a masterful use of suspense join these two stories together.
Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 5 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 9 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Spooky. ( )
  Jon_Hansen | Jul 14, 2021 |
This book is set 20-years after the end of The Clockwork Century series and it is loosely connected, returning to the original series with one character. You don't need to read the original series to understand Jacaranda, but the rest of the series will give you depth.

That said, it is an excellent book. A couple of things crossed my mind as I read it:

1. This is exactly what it feels like during a hurricane. Priest has that down cold.

2. Damn, this book would make an excellent movie; especially in the hands of someone like Guillermo del Toro.

It's gothic horror writ large with a twist of weird west noir. ( )
  authenticjoy | Mar 29, 2019 |
This is categorized as 'Clockwork Century #6' - so far, other than this, I've only read the first two, so was afraid that 'skipping ahead' might be an issue.

However, I needn't have worried. This story is only tenuously connected to what I've read so far, and fully works as a stand-alone. It's a classic-feeling haunted-hotel story, perfect for fans of The Shining or anything in what Stephen Kings calls the "Ghostly Room at the Inn" subgenre.

As this is a 'Clockwork Century' novel, the setting is an alternate 19th century. (But really, the 'alternate' part here isn't significant.)

In response to rumors that an untoward number of guests have been dying at the Jacaranda Hotel, and for some reason this in being ignored by local authorities, two paranormal investigators check in to the hotel to try to set things right.

Padre Rios is a gangster-turned-priest, and he's been summoned by an Irish nun with hidden strengths. But will their toughness be enough to combat the dark forces swirling beneath the Jacaranda and to save the remaining guests? Or will all be swept into a dark whirlpool of malevolence?

My only complaint is that I felt that some of the supporting characters could've been fleshed out a bit more... and we're left with some mysteries (to be explained in other books?)

But overall, this is an excellent and entertaining horror tale.

( )
  AltheaAnn | Feb 9, 2016 |
This is a novella. Short, but enjoyable. This book seems to be set some time after the rest of the series.


( )
  Schlyne | Nov 12, 2015 |
http://nwhyte.livejournal.com/2534041.html

ostensibly set in Priest's steampunk alternate timeline of Hugo-nominated Boneshaker, is really a ghost story about a haunted hotel. Lushly written, not so sure about structure. ( )
  nwhyte | Oct 11, 2015 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 9 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Cherie Priestautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Foster, JonArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Set in the world of Priest's Clockwork Century series, this stand-alone-novella takes readers to the Jacaranda Hotel on the island of Galveston, off the coast of southeast Texas, in an alternate 1895 where locals say a curse is killing the people who stay there.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.64)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 2
3 13
3.5 3
4 8
4.5 2
5 7

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 162,290,659 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível