Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Phoebe and Her Unicorn (Phoebe and Her…
Carregando...

Phoebe and Her Unicorn (Phoebe and Her Unicorn Series Book 1) (Volume 1) (edição: 2014)

de Dana Simpson (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
7524030,368 (4.05)16
Phoebe is skipping rocks one day when she accidentally hits a unicorn. They become best friends and have lots of fun together including sleepovers (the pillow fight sort of failed), birthday parties (The Shield of Boringness really can stink sometimes), and lots more! It's a really funny book! I totally recommend it! ( )
  drm19 | Sep 23, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-25 de 40 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
This graphic novel is a story about a girl, Phoebe, who runs into a unicorn. The unicorn grants her one wish but Phoebe has a really had time deciding on what she wants her wishes to be. Although Phoebe has a hard time with coming up with this wish, she does have a vast imagination. This is especially true since Phoebe is the only one who can see the unicorn, Marigold. Phoebe finally decides that her wish is going to be that Marigold is her best friend. Together in the story they go on many adventures, joke together, and create a magical friendship together. This is the friend book of this series!

Although I don't think this book can be used to create thoughtful discussion topics, I think this is a great series to have in a classroom library for students to learn a love for reading. A great book for intermediate readers.
  kthomas22 | Apr 23, 2024 |
Aggressively similar to Calvin and Hobbes ( )
  boopingaround | Mar 6, 2024 |
Phoebe wants to be special and stop being overlooked when she runs across a Unicorn that is admiring its reflection in water. It offers Phoebe a wish and she asks that it become her best friend. Phoebe brings the unicorn to show and tell, takes her to a birthday party, and rides her to school.

Phoebe and Her Unicorn is a cute graphic novel about a girl who doesn't fit in and how she not only makes friends with a very self important unicorn, but also learns about what it takes to be a friend. Much of the book is a slice of life, detailing many things that the two do together. Also, there is a lot of snarky humor and sarcasm, much of which seems to be directed at adults. While the story does seem to drag in places, overall, Phoebe and Her Unicorn is a very fun and entertaining read. ( )
  ftbooklover | Aug 19, 2023 |
Super cute series! Phoebe and Marigold are a great pair. I will keep this series in mind the next time I need a quick pick-me-up. ( )
  Harks | Dec 17, 2022 |
I am going to break my normal routine for this one. Until this point, I haven't done a review for a comic and even though I read them, I don't "count" them as books. I loved Phoebe and Her Unicorn by Dana Simpson though and I wanted to bring attention to it.

The book is a bunch of illustrated stories about Phoebe and her Unicorn-Marigold Heavenly Nostrils. Phoebe finds Marigold while skipping rocks awakening Marigold who has been staring at her reflection in a pond. The two become best friends thanks to Phoebe's wish and have adventures together.

It is really hard not to draw comparisons to Calvin and Hobbes as there definitely seems to be an influence there, but Simpson has created two just as lovable characters in Phoebe and Marigold. Marigold is often not seen by others thanks to a Shield of Boringness, which allows others not to even think of Marigold because they are too busy with their lives to notice a unicorn.

Both characters have wonderful personalities and will often switch the straight person's role. Phoebe is just as funny as Marigold with Marigold being more sarcastic than slightly psychotic Phoebe. I really enjoyed this aspect of the storytelling.

The artwork at first seems pretty simply, but the more one looks at it, the more details one sees. In a sleepover portion, Phoebe braids Marigold's mane. It could have been a one off, but Simpson kept Marigold's mane braided for the rest of the sleepover story until Phoebe declares the sleepover finished. It was a nice detail that helped keep the story together.

I cannot recommend this book enough. I loved it so much that I ordered the other two books and pre-ordered the upcoming book. I have also reminded people that I am a grown-ass man and I am not ashamed to say I loved this one. It doesn't take much time to read, but it is a lot of fun and made the Calvin and Hobbes feelings come back. Phoebe and Her Unicorn is a great spiritual successor.

I gave this one (and probably the series) 5 stars. ( )
  Nerdyrev1 | Nov 23, 2022 |
When Phoebe throws a rock into a pond, she saves a unicorn from staring obsessively at her own reflection. Granted a wish in return, Phoebe decides to wish for her and the unicorn to be best friends. And so begins the adventures of Phoebe and her unicorn, Marigold Heavenly Nostrils.

This book is just so darn wholesome! The comics are full of charm, delight, and humour as Phoebe goes through life as a fourth-grader whose best friend is a rather vain unicorn. The introduction by Peter S. Beagle (yes, THAT [[Peter S. Beagle]]) compares the comics to Calvin & Hobbes and Peanuts and I don't think he's wrong. While the target audience is children, I think these comics are just as enjoyable for readers of all ages. Highly recommended. ( )
  MickyFine | Jul 27, 2022 |
I have fondest memories of the earlier "Ozzy and Millie" web comic which remains my favorite comic ever. While phoebe isn't perfect, it certainly shares a lot with OaM and I enjoy it a lot. ( )
  suzannekmoses | May 20, 2022 |
Well, I do love a narcissistic unicorn, as long as she is sufficiently sarcastic. And I appreciate that Pheobe's awkwardness does not seem to impact her self-esteem. Compares favorably with Calvin and Hobbes, and is a delightful way to pass the afternoon. ( )
  jennybeast | Apr 14, 2022 |
This is a great middle level grade book to have on shelves for students. It is a graphic novel, about a girl who finds a unicorn, and becomes friends with it. There is a great amount of stories and teachable moments throughout the novel, it is cute, funny, and has plenty of sarcasm. I think the main target audience would be girls, however I think there are a lot of topics within the story that boys would still find very interesting! ( )
  ryleesalvey | Apr 12, 2022 |
Cute and fun. The side one-pagers aren't clearly marked, so they become a jarring intrusion on the story arcs. ( )
  hissingpotatoes | Dec 28, 2021 |
A very sporadic cutesy graphic novel with short messages and moral good for reluctant readers with short attention spans as well as fans of sarcasm. ( )
  MorbidLibrarian | Sep 18, 2021 |
I think this graphic novel would be great for mid-elementary or upper elementary. In the graphic novel, Phoebe takes you though her life as a young girl that deals with mean girls, school, embarrassment, her hobbies, and even dealing with some magical hair. I think this would be a great book to have that kids can relate to and explore. ( )
  EmilyMcDonald | Mar 29, 2021 |
Phoebe is skipping rocks one day when she accidentally hits a unicorn. They become best friends and have lots of fun together including sleepovers (the pillow fight sort of failed), birthday parties (The Shield of Boringness really can stink sometimes), and lots more! It's a really funny book! I totally recommend it! ( )
  drm19 | Sep 23, 2020 |
Adorable. More books should feature narcissistic unicorns. I laughed out loud multiple times. ( )
  dcoward | Sep 22, 2020 |
Cute collection of comic strips about an awkward little girl and her haughty unicorn - not many big laughs for me here but lots of kid-appeal - I know this series has and will continue to have big fans. ( )
  scout101 | Sep 15, 2020 |
Great for kids that enjoy reading graphic novels. Similar to big Nate where the entire book doesn’t necessarily have the same storyline. ( )
  snickel63 | Aug 21, 2020 |
SUPER CUTE. And funny! I laughed at this quite a few times. It reminds me in all the best ways of Calvin and Hobbes but with a girl protagonist and also a unicorn. Loved it and highly recommend it. ( )
  bookbrig | Aug 5, 2020 |
This is super freakin adorable.

I love me a good unicorn. This comic is so funny and cute. I lol’d many times. So glad I picked it up, I read a third of it by the time I got up to the register. There are seven volumes and I am so ready to take on this adventure.

AND Peter S. Beagle wrote the introduction, which is awesome. He is awesome. ( )
  Shahnareads | Oct 22, 2019 |
Been missing Calvin and Hobbes? Mount your trusty steed of choice and get yourself a copy of this one (and the next one or two while you're at it, 'cause...well....UNICORN!) Can't begin to describe the delightfulness of this concept. Phoebe is a rising fourth grader with all summer to skip stones, when one of her throws bops a unicorn on the snout, breaking the narcissistic spell that has kept it staring at its own reflection in the water. This odd rescue results in the granting of a wish -- just one, and no, Phoebe, it can't be "infinity wishes". But what could beat having a unicorn (Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, specifically) as your best friend? There are other great characters, too. Like Todd, the Candy Dragon and Max, Phoebe's spelling partner back at school. It's all sparkly and wry...just the break all us pointy-headed intellectuals (that's unicorn humor) need from time to time. ( )
  laytonwoman3rd | Aug 31, 2019 |
An introduction by Peter S. Beagle (author of The Last Unicorn) compares Phoebe and Her Unicorn to Calvin and Hobbes - and not without reason. Like Calvin, Phoebe has a big imagination and the kids at school think she's weird. Like Hobbes, Marigold Heavenly Nostrils thinks very highly of herself, and she alternates between teasing/sarcasm and kindness to Phoebe. Also, she has a Shield of Boringness so she remains uninteresting to non-Phoebe characters most of the time.

"Can you fix Dakota's hair?"
"Of course."
"Can you fix her personality?"
"Why aren't you more impressed that I can fix her hair?"
(Phoebe and Marigold, 98)

*

Re-read July 2021 ( )
  JennyArch | Aug 22, 2019 |
What if you could have a unicorn as your best friend? Phoebe and her unicorn are a great duo as they have hilarious adventures together. Enjoy this sparkly, magical series!
  mcmlsbookbutler | Jun 28, 2019 |
A cute graphic novel that all ages can enjoy. It was a pleasant way to spend a few hours. ( )
  readingover50 | Jun 11, 2019 |
Though it is marketed as middle grade, this comics collection about a fourth-grader and her unicorn best friend would appeal far beyond the 8-12ers. It reminded me of both Calvin and Hobbes and Wallace the Brave but is fully its own thing too. Phoebe is a little bit of an outsider, so when she rescues a unicorn and is granted a wish, she wishes for the unicorn to be her best friend. And then adventures ensue, including run-ins with a mean-girl at school and summertime adventures. The humor stands out and I love Marigold Heavenly Nostrils and her commentary on human life. I'll be reading more. Recommended. ( )
  lycomayflower | Jun 7, 2019 |
Perfect for all ages - delightful, fun, and witty. ( )
  bookwyrmm | Jun 1, 2019 |
This was cute, but not really my thing. ( )
  redwritinghood38 | Nov 6, 2018 |
Mostrando 1-25 de 40 (seguinte | mostrar todas)

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (4.05)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 2
3 16
3.5 4
4 62
4.5 6
5 34

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 207,544,229 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível