Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Barrow

de Mark Smylie

Séries: Sword & Barrow (1), Artesia (Sword & Barrow 1)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
15413175,012 (2.91)5
Fantasy. Fiction. Thriller. HTML:Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominated Artesia comic books.

To find the Sword, unearth the Barrow. To unearth the Barrow, follow the Map.
When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place.
Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books...or get them all killed.
… (mais)
mom (25)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 5 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 13 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
I couldn’t finish this book, I lost interest. Too much talk about all the different “religions” and I could keep track. This is for someone who wants a deep dive into a fantasy world. I just wanted the adventure part of the story not a history lesson of a time that didn’t exist. ( )
  Ro1350 | Jun 22, 2023 |
Loses one star for gratuitous and nonconsensual sex. Obviously an RPG world - places and history described in loving, exacting detail, while characters are superficially intriguing but ultimately barely sketched and/or inconsistent. Absolutely no character growth, and not a lot of character agency. Plot is remarkably by-the-numbers dungeon crawl. Some interesting scenes showed promise, but no follow through. Reading was a slog but I kept up because there were sparks, and one and a half fascinating characters - or perhaps I should say that their potential is fascinating. Writing and editing pretty solid, just lacking depth. Sad.

[EDIT] after some thought, while everything I said still stands, I have to admit the final twist was ingenious, and it reflects back on prior events, showing some hints that are not quite effective foreshadowing, but are clever nonetheless. I'd give another half star, if I could. ( )
  anverie | Mar 30, 2023 |
I won't hold back - this is a train wreck of a book. At first pass, these are the stock characters every GM has dealt into an ongoing campaign, the initial quest as straight forward as they come: rob the ancient tomb, plunder some gold, get the magic sword.

Why read it, then? There's an argument there. You could say its because it's a Michael Bay train wreck, a Wachowski style production. Larger than life explosions, Brandon Frazier as one of the male leads, over the top dungeon crawler.

And then chapter one starts.

The Barrow is a well written tale of gritty fantasy. The biggest problem this book faces, I think, is that if you haven't read the comic it's a prequel to, then there's no way to filter the volume of information being dumped on you. What's important? What's filler? I couldn't tell, and that's a problem. In a sea of gritty fantasy epics, this is certainly dark, more adult than most of its competition. Sadly, it didn't work for me, but it wasn't from a lack of style or ability, so your mileage may vary.

The ARC for this novel was kindly provided to me by Pyr for review. ( )
  kodermike | Jul 31, 2020 |
Setting aside just after 10% in. This book is dense with details - lavish descriptions of the heroes and their caparisons that made Mr Dee ask if this was a romance, endless travel particulars, and when I decided I'd had enough it had just gone on for multiple pages about the many and varied whores available and their relative charms. Just too much stuff, and too much of it quite generic fantasy. Plus the single female character so far is most developed in her sexual insecurities.
  cupiscent | Aug 3, 2019 |
An unusual band of adventurers sets off to raid a wizard's barrow and retrieve a mythical sword. It's a nice, simple premise for a standalone fantasy novel. But The Barrow strives to be something more.

Mark Smylie can write. At times, the story just chugs along and is a joy to read. At times...

While there's a good solid story here, it is too often bogged down by paragraph after paragraph (or sometimes page after page) of needless world building. I appreciate the obvious thought put into the world, but those details would have been better explored in future books or appendices rather than dropped into the exposition. These details made the book unpleasant to read. I just don't care about the Earl of Whosis' brother who was descended from the Baron of Somewhere. The book felt something like the Peter Jackson Hobbit adaptation. A nice, simple adventure tale is bogged down by extraneous stuff that waters the whole down.

Smylie has supposedly been working on a sequel/second book set in the same universe. When/if it comes along, I'd likely give him a second chance. But jeeze, I hope he cuts down on the extraneous stuff.

*The Barrow is related to Smylie's comic series. However, the book is sold as a standalone and it did work as a standalone tale. ( )
  jseger9000 | Feb 15, 2019 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 13 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

Pertence à série

Artesia (Sword & Barrow 1)
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Fantasy. Fiction. Thriller. HTML:Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominated Artesia comic books.

To find the Sword, unearth the Barrow. To unearth the Barrow, follow the Map.
When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place.
Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books...or get them all killed.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Classificação decimal de Dewey (CDD)

813.6Literature English (North America) American fiction 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (2.91)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 10
2.5
3 8
3.5 3
4 4
4.5 1
5 3

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 202,008,234 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível