Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at…
Carregando...

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at… (original: 2006; edição: 2008)

de Roy Adkins (Autor), Lesley Adkins (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
289771,412 (3.69)4
An action-packed account of the sea battles of the Napoleonic War, a naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, beginning with Napoleon's seizing power and ending with the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, the authors draw on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life--shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war. This epic narrative history will appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.--From publisher description.… (mais)
Membro:Iznik
Título:The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo (PENGUIN BOOKS)
Autores:Roy Adkins (Autor)
Outros autores:Lesley Adkins (Autor)
Informação:Penguin Books (2008), Edition: Illustrated, 576 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:RN, Napoleonic, Naval History, Kindle

Detalhes da Obra

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo de Roy Adkins (2006)

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 4 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 7 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Detailed history of the men and battles of the British Navy around the turn of the 19th Century. I found the book too long, overly ambitious and filled with unnecessary accounts of minor individuals and details. True, Lord Nelson and Napoleon are featured, but so are a litany of minor figures from the times who you've probably never heard of before, and are unlikely to hear of again. If you're a true student of British Naval affairs, this is probably a good choice for you. If you're interested in a more adventurous read and an equal understanding of life at sea at the times, you can obtain that by reading some of Patrick O’Brien’s historical fiction on the same subject. ( )
  rsutto22 | Jul 15, 2021 |
What a great book! Feeling the need to add to my rather too small collection on Nelson I got this book as a present while visiting my son and started to (perhaps rudely?) browse through it as soon as I had unwrapped it. Voracious readers like you, and thankfully my son, will understand and forgive me for reading it more or less straight through over the next two days! I truly could not put it down.

This deeply researched but very readable history opens with an account of Sir Sydney Smith and recounts his adventures and almost personal battle with Napoleon and his services to the Royal Navy. Porter provides enough of these incredible brave events to prove Sir Sydney was arguably as great a naval hero as Nelson himself. The astonishing and unique defeat of the Emperor on LAND by this naval officer at Acre during Napoleon’s Egyptian Campaigns is astounding.

The accounts of Nelson’s battles are written in more human terms than technical and the irony that the fleet at Alexandria, when Nelson destroyed Napoleon’s fleet, included HMS Bellerophon – the “Billy Ruffian” as her seaman called her – being the chosen ship to transport the finally defeated Emperor to captivity many years later is described in sad detail. (See The Billy Ruffian: The Bellerophon and the Downfall of Napoleon by David Cordingly http://www.librarything.com/work/133989)

This work covers the war against Napoleon from 1798 to 1812, and includes some detail of the War of 1812 with America, but, as the authors had already published a thorough history of the Battle of Trafalgar and Nelson’s death, it is treated more lightly here. The authors seem to assume – probably correctly – that most of their readers are already somewhat familiar with the period, ship-board terms and history of the British Navy.

A book perhaps then for the well-read Naval buff, but also a great stand-alone account of this period of French Empire’s dramatic world war at sea.
  John_Vaughan | Feb 2, 2012 |
A really great account of naval history in the early 19th century. I thought starting the book with the account of Sydney Smith'sescape from the Temple and the reference to Rousseau's Ode a la Fortune was brilliant and will hook any reader with an interest in naval history or the napoleonic era. The book has nice breadth and depth and reads very well. I particularly enjoyed Adkins' accounts of the Diamond Rock actions and the Walcheren Expedition. The book inspired me to read Cordingly's Cochrane, which I also highly recommend. ( )
  chrisanderson | Jan 7, 2012 |
The War for All the Oceans covers all major, and some less well known, naval actions from the latter part of the revolutionary war, to the end of the Napoleonic. As is always the case with the Adkins's work, it is meticulously researched, well presented and very hard to put down.

Although it is crammed full with information, and could certainly be used as one, I consider this more than just a reference book: the term conjurers up lists of details and dates that can make for dry, academic reading. The War for All the Oceans tells a story, and tells it well, with a blend of authoritative commentary and original reference material that almost involves the reader in the research. It is a style that the Adkins are masters of, and makes their work extremely readable.

Extensive maps, illustrations (many of which were new to me), a comprehensive index and bibliography, and a selected reading list finish off the package perfectly. Fascinating and compelling reading: highly recommended. ( )
  AlaricBond | Dec 16, 2011 |
A must for all fans of Patrick O'Brian. A very interesting, easy to read history of Britain's navel power in the 18th and 19th centuries. Provides a great overview of the times. ( )
  hhornblower | Jan 22, 2011 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 7 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
The book’s central argument, again, is not only that the Royal Navy was key to Allied victory in the Napoleonic Wars but that it was the instrument of victory. Some historians and politicians have been enunciating this sort of position since 1815, but without much evidence or cogency. In the present instance, the authors have consulted a wonderful array of sources—especially primary sources. In particular, their Bibliography lists many memoirs from British naval personnel.
 

» Adicionar outros autores (3 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Roy Adkinsautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Adkins, LesleyAutorautor principaltodas as ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To Mick Sharp and Jean Williamson,
photographers and friends
par excellence
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
PREFACE
In 1789 the monarchs and aristocracies of Europe were shocked by the Revolution in France, and in subsequent years the execution of the French royal family and the bloodbath of the Terror lost the revolutionaries what little support they had among the ordinary people of other countries.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC
An action-packed account of the sea battles of the Napoleonic War, a naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, beginning with Napoleon's seizing power and ending with the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, the authors draw on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailor's life--shipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war. This epic narrative history will appeal to fans of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.--From publisher description.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.69)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 6
3.5 3
4 13
4.5 1
5 2

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 163,134,316 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível