Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

In the Company of Ogres (2006)

de A. Lee Martinez

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
5621332,736 (3.68)12
An uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett! For someone who's immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency--he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment. Ogre Company is the legion's dumping ground--a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That's where Ned's rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company's newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevilpilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc. Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that's not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found outwhy he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . . In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez's previous novel,Gil's All Fright Diner, did for horror--and elves and goblins may never be the same!… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 12 menções

Inglês (12)  Alemão (1)  Todos os idiomas (13)
Mostrando 1-5 de 13 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Ok story. The humor wasn't very humorous... only mildly amusing. ( )
  richvalle | Jul 11, 2021 |
Synopsis: Never Dead Ned isn't particularly talented at anything beyond dying - and returning from the dead. He does well as a bookkeeper, but the people in charge send him to a Company of Ogres (an Amazon, a Siren, Elves, Orcs, Gnomes) to whip them into shape so that they make money for the people running the enterprise. Although they don't like him at first, the group comes to appreciate Ned, saving him from an evil wizard and teaching him about loyalty.
Review: An interesting story about accepting yourself and appreciating others. ( )
  DrLed | Aug 17, 2019 |
I love A. Lee Martinez, and there were many elements in this book that I thoroughly enjoyed. The characters always roll with the bizarre situations they find themselves in, the humor is subtle and entertaining, and I love the kooky cast of characters. However, it’s got some solid 2006-era sexism, in which the only two female characters throw themselves at our dim-witted main character for no particular reason and try to fight each other to the death over him. Suffice it to say, the book doesn’t pass the Bechdel test. The descriptions of Regina, the lusty Amazon who wants men to find her attractive and beats them up for saying so, would have been hilarious when it was written - I’m sure I would have laughed myself. But now it just made me sad. Still an entertaining book that I was annoyed to have interrupted during the big ending battle though. ( )
  Alliebadger | May 30, 2019 |
Never Dead Ned can't seem to stay dead...and it's really important that it stays that way.

Overall I found the characters fun and engaging, though they and their dialog felt a bit to modern for the fantasy setting and the “love triangle” was for the most part tired and annoying...though I did like it's outcome. I didn't particularly care much for or about Ned until the last third of the book but finding out his background made that feel like it was part of the plan all along. I was much more engaged in the other members of Ogre Company and I was glad the book focused on them as much as it did, I'd gladly read more stories about their further adventures.

The main plot twist in the story, while not all that original was well done and had a satisfying resolution and overall not one of the authors strongest books,it took me a few chapters to get into the feel of the world but once I did the rest of the book flew buy and was a fun and quick read. ( )
  Kellswitch | Oct 17, 2015 |
Enjoyable read, but did not completely work for me. I think it could not quite decide whether it wanted to be a comedy/parody or a serious story; plus the literal "deus ex machina" plot elements were, for me, a bit much. When problems can be solved via gods or god-like powers, it sort of reduces the human element. ( )
  NogDog | Aug 15, 2011 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 13 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores (1 possível)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
A. Lee Martinezautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Gerwig, KarenTradutorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado

Pertence à série publicada

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em alemão. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em alemão. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Für Mom, und zwar für beide. Für Michele (bitte hier eigenen Witz einsetzen). Für den DFW Writer's Workshop, der wo mir beigebracht hat, bessere Sachen zu schreiben. Für mich, weil ich dumm und dickköpfig genug war, es bis hierher zu schaffen. Und für Jim Varney.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em alemão. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Sein Name war Never Dead Ned, doch das war nur ein Spitzname.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em alemão. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em alemão. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês (1)

An uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett! For someone who's immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency--he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment. Ogre Company is the legion's dumping ground--a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That's where Ned's rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company's newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevilpilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc. Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that's not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found outwhy he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . . In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez's previous novel,Gil's All Fright Diner, did for horror--and elves and goblins may never be the same!

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Gêneros

Melvil Decimal System (DDC)

813.6 — Literature American and Canadian American fiction 21st Century

Classificação da Biblioteca do Congresso dos E.U.A. (LCC)

Avaliação

Média: (3.68)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 11
2.5 4
3 28
3.5 20
4 63
4.5 4
5 21

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 162,447,620 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível