Página inicialGruposDiscussãoExplorarZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

Cover of Snow (2013)

de Jenny Milchman

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
4648441,722 (3.21)54
"Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown. and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"--"On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 54 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 85 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Not a bad first novel. I think the author has a good sense of pace, and story beats, and what keeps us page-turning. But she needs to develop her skill in dialogue writing. Some of the dialogue was downright confusing, and an editor should have addressed that. There were occasional turns of phrase that were misused - again, the book lacked polish. That being said, it's still not a bad little mystery. Don't set your expectations too high, and you won't be disappointed. If she writes another, I'll probably give it a shot to see if she's improved. ( )
  jlabarge | Aug 18, 2021 |
I tried to read this book, I really tried hard. But after the seventh chapter I just could not read it anymore. The book is 'scatter brained'. That is the only way I know how to describe it. It's not only the characters in the book, but the writing style itself comes off as hit and miss or "scatter brained". I don't know if that was the intention of the author or not, but I found it hard to keep my interest in the storyline and the actions of the characters and finally just set the book aside. ( )
  Barbwire101 | May 19, 2021 |
2.25 stars.

When Nora wakes up one morning, she discovers her cop husband, Brandon, has killed himself. Nora had no idea this was coming, and she must find out what led to it. While doing so, she uncovers not only personal secrets her husband kept from her, but also some disturbing things covered up by the small local police force.

I listened to the audio, and sadly, the narrator had a very monotone voice that did not keep me interested at all, though it sounds like something that should be interesting. I did hear some of the secrets that were uncovered at the end... maybe they were meant to be exciting twists and turns, but I missed so much in between that it just wasn’t all that interesting. It started interesting -- and even having now finished it – I do wonder what led Brandon to kill himself...? I’d kind of like to just find a summary with all the spoilers. ( )
  LibraryCin | Oct 9, 2020 |
This is one of those novels that you can't stop reading. It isn't particularly exciting or something that keeps the reader on the edge of their seats...but it does grab your curiosity and insist that you read just one more chapter since you Just have to find out what was going to happen to Nora next. Would the "good guys" win? Who exactly are the "good guys? Are they maybe the same as the "bad guys" with secrets that they have been willing to kill to protect for over 80 years. It's a mystery without the usual blood and guts that I usually read...but it was a really nice change of pace with a captivating story line. Bring your coat and boots there is LOTS of snow:) ( )
  Carol420 | Jun 26, 2020 |
I wasn't sure I was going to like this book at the beginning....it started off with a suicide and a woman devastated by her loss. I was afraid it was going to be one of my least favorite type of stories full of "woe is me" and "poor me, whatever shall I do". But it isn't.

The story turns into an interesting mystery in a small Maine town. I like the way Nora (the widow) begins to put clues together about her dead husband's past and suspects begin to show up everywhere. The story is populated by some interesting characters and has enough twists and turns to keep the suspense building. A good, strong, quick read. ( )
  Terrie2018 | Feb 21, 2020 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 85 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
When promo materials say there are deadly secrets buried within Cover of Snow—believe me, they are correct.
 
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
This one is for my mother and father,
who in their different ways gave me the gift of story.
And for Josh, who gave me everything.
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
My husband wasn't in bed with me when I woke up that January morning.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

"Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown. and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"--"On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Autor LibraryThing

Jenny Milchman é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal na LibraryThing.

página do perfil | página de autor

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.21)
0.5 1
1 14
1.5 1
2 15
2.5 12
3 44
3.5 15
4 47
4.5 7
5 12

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 164,486,405 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível