Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The All of It: A Novel de Jeannette Haien
Carregando...

The All of It: A Novel (edição: 2011)

de Jeannette Haien (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
5622943,717 (3.79)48
JeannetteHaien's award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas-perfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor'sWise Blood-is "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.… (mais)
Membro:christinedux
Título:The All of It: A Novel
Autores:Jeannette Haien (Autor)
Informação:Harper Perennial (2011), Edition: Reprint, 145 pages
Coleções:Fiction
Avaliação:****
Etiquetas:Ireland, siblings, mystery, romance

Informações da Obra

The All of It de Jeannette Haien

Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 48 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Written in 1986, this novel burns with a subtle flame. ( )
  ben_r47 | Feb 22, 2024 |
Loved this book. Could have done without the fly fishing storyline. I know what it was supposed to represent, but it fell flat for me. Perhaps that is because the rest of the story was marvelous and I kept wanting to get back to it. ( )
  DebCushman | Aug 25, 2022 |
The All of It, is Enda's tale, told after the death of Kevin, her husband. She tells her and Kevin's story to the parish priest while Kevin lays dead. Her story is about two young people and love but not as you would expect. The priest is gripped by her story but struggles to know what to do, as it is also a story of sin. The next day he is fishing on a wet day and this gives him a chance to think. This novel, set in Ireland, spans the years from before motor cars to nearer the present day. It is a short novel and an enthralling read. ( )
  CarolKub | Mar 18, 2022 |
The title refers to Enda Dennehy's "come clean" tale told to her priest Father Declan just after her husband's deathbed confession. While this sounds dramatic and sordid, it is more a story of love and devotion, though less in the traditional marital sense. It also reveals Fr. Declan's own character as he initially tries to treat this a case for the confessional and traditional absolution, but Enda isn't having it. He becomes enthralled by her story and manner of telling and has a bit of inner turmoil about upholding his priestly duties and decorum, but is so in need of honesty and the removal of the barriers that his cloth and collar create. Endorsed winningly with an introduction by Ann Patchett, this book is a nice find and the Irishness of it is engaging. "A quiet little stunner" was a good blurb of praise and piqued my interest. ( )
  CarrieWuj | Oct 24, 2020 |
A short, sweet tale of a rural Irish priest who discovers that sometimes his faith doesn't give clear answers for all that happens to his parishioners. When a member of his flock dies, the widow, Enda, tells Father Declan an astonishing story of their life together, forcing Declan to rethink some of the certainties upon which he has always relied. Delightful. ( )
  auntmarge64 | Oct 21, 2019 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 29 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

» Adicionar outros autores (2 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Jeannette Haienautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Steinberg, JamesArtista da capaautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Ernest Ballard
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Thomas Dunn, the head ghillie at the Castle, wasn't telling Father Declan anything he didn't already know: the river too high and wild from all the rains, and the salmon, therefore, not moving, just lying n the bottom, not showing themselves at all, and the midges terrible, and only the two days left to the season so of course all but the least desirable of the river-beats, number Four, was let already; "and Frank and Peter'll be ghillieing for the Americans stayin' at the Castle, Father, so I'll have to give you Seamus O'Connor and he's hardly worth the pay and that on top of the twenty pounds for the beat and you know yourself, Father, how beat Four is after a rainfall such as we've been having, the piers awash and the banks slippery as grease.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Author's Note: In Ireland, stretches of a salmon-river which run through privately owned land are divided by the owner into sections, called "beats." Beats are let (rented) by the owner, by the day, to an angler. The angler is called the "rod." A "ghillie" (or "gillie") is a servant who attends to the rod.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

JeannetteHaien's award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas-perfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor'sWise Blood-is "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.79)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 6
2.5 1
3 26
3.5 11
4 51
4.5 12
5 16

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 209,018,912 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível