Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Dog Stars

de Peter Heller

Outros autores: Veja a seção outros autores.

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
2,3952014,799 (3.94)290
Surviving a pandemic disease that has killed everyone he knows, a pilot establishes a shelter in an abandoned airport hangar before hearing a random radio transmission that compels him to risk his life to seek out other survivors.
Adicionado recentemente porcoffeymuse, biblioteca privada, Ncy, dirtfarmer, Plant2flower, snoorlax, harvrabb, Mgloege
  1. 70
    Station Eleven de Emily St. John Mandel (benjclark)
  2. 70
    The Road de Cormac McCarthy (IamAleem)
  3. 60
    Alas, Babylon de Pat Frank (benjclark)
  4. 30
    Earth Abides de George R. Stewart (amysisson, IamAleem)
  5. 20
    The Stand de Stephen King (labrick)
    labrick: Both about a pandemic and colorado is the setting for both, although The Stand has elements of the paranormal.
  6. 20
    Parable of the Sower de Octavia E. Butler (amysisson)
  7. 00
    Children in Reindeer Woods de Kristin Ómarsdóttir (whymaggiemay)
    whymaggiemay: Same feelings of loss and confusion
  8. 00
    Train Dreams de Denis Johnson (bookworm12)
  9. 00
    Join de Steve Toutonghi (jbizroe)
  10. 01
    The Pesthouse de Jim Crace (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: Spare prose and unexpectedly moving romances characterize these post-apocalyptic novels, set in bleak futures in which humanity has been decimated by horrible diseases.
  11. 34
    Peace Like a River de Leif Enger (BookshelfMonstrosity)
    BookshelfMonstrosity: A meditative tale of post-apocalyptic survival and a spiritual chronicle of murder, conviction, and pursuit share lyrical writing propelling their characters' journeys. The books' tones, dark and low-key, involve readers emotionally in their respective messages of the importance of family.… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 290 menções

Inglês (196)  Espanhol (2)  Alemão (1)  Francês (1)  Italiano (1)  Todos os idiomas (201)
Mostrando 1-5 de 201 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Well written apocalyptic novel, in the vein of THE ROAD, HUNGER GAMES, AGE OF MIRACLES, etc. Spare and beautiful. ( )
  wordloversf | Aug 14, 2021 |
Really liked this one a lot. ( )
  Jinjer | Jul 19, 2021 |
2.5 stars. America has been destroyed by a pandemic flu. Hig lives at an airport, with his dog (Jasper), his plane (the Beast), and a survivalist (Bangley.) Yet, something is missing and Hig goes off in his plane to find it, eventually flying beyond the point of no return. Eventually, he finds an elderly man and his daughter, and then become a family of sorts. While Heller writes well, this book did not do much for me. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
adult fiction. lone pilot/poet searches for happiness and companionship post-apocalypse. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
I wasn't sure at first if I was going to be able to get behind this book--the prose is stylistically very like Cormac McCarthy, and the plot reads a lot like The Road mixed with elements of I Am Legend. My doubt only lasted about a chapter though; before long, I was quickly sucked in. While the similarities remained, it is very much its own book, and one that I prefer far more to McCarthy for introducing way more empathy and humor into such a bleak post-apocalyptic situation. To be sure, it was all I could do to put it down (and I got it from the library just in time for my trip to Denver, so there's no shortage of awesome things awaiting me outside my sister's apartment, away from this book). My heart is still racing from all the tension, the attacks, the worry for all the characters, and god dammit OF COURSE I get to the part where Jasper dies right as it was time to get off the plane and I was doing a very poor job of trying not to be a blubbering mess in front of dozens of strangers. But as much as Heller created a dire landscape, I was continually surprised to find myself chuckling so frequently throughout the book. The prose was stunningly poetic, and Hig is just about the best protagonist ever. I love how flabbergasted he is every time he realizes that pretty much everyone he encounters is way better at this whole survival gig than he is, even though clearly it's Hig's humanity that endears fellow (cooperating) survivors to stick out their necks for him. I can't wait to put this in people's hands.

Also, I've now realized that my midlife crisis thing is going to be becoming a pilot.

*****
You know, it's been a month since I read this and I can't stop thinking about it. Another thing I really love about this book is how Heller handled Hig's marriage with his wife, the details of her succumbing to the disease, and how he navigates through his feelings for Cima. While of course I've never experienced the extreme environment of The Dog Stars, I could totally relate to the heart-breaking difficulty of having to let go of someone you still love, whether by force or by choice, and that we move on in spite of resisting it. Jesus, this book is so good. ( )
  LibroLindsay | Jun 18, 2021 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 201 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Heller's writing is stripped-down and minimalist, like a studio apartment in Sparta. It's an Armageddon book as written by Ernest Hemingway. The future is spare. If you see an adjective, kill it.
adicionado por WeeklyAlibi | editarWeekly Alibi, John Bear (Jul 26, 2012)
 

» Adicionar outros autores (4 possíveis)

Nome do autorFunçãoTipo de autorObra?Status
Peter Hellerautor principaltodas as ediçõescalculado
Deakins, MarkNarradorautor secundárioalgumas ediçõesconfirmado
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
To Kim
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
I keep the Beast running, I keep the 100 low lead on tap, I foresee attacks.
Citações
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
(Clique para mostrar. Atenção: Pode conter revelações sobre o enredo.)
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
Canonical LCC

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

Surviving a pandemic disease that has killed everyone he knows, a pilot establishes a shelter in an abandoned airport hangar before hearing a random radio transmission that compels him to risk his life to seek out other survivors.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.94)
0.5
1 12
1.5 1
2 37
2.5 4
3 141
3.5 49
4 341
4.5 67
5 200

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 162,222,009 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível