Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

Carregando...

The Testament of Jessie Lamb (2011)

de Jane Rogers

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaConversas / Menções
3793368,874 (3.23)1 / 116
In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism. The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will make The Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan's Y: The Last Man. "The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face. Like Jessie's, it is a small, calm voice of reason in a nonsensical world." --The Independent… (mais)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Grupo TópicoMensagensÚltima Mensagem 
 Booker Prize: The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers15 por ler / 15kidzdoc, Setembro 2011

» Veja também 116 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 33 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
Very British, minimally post apocalyptic story about a sort of daft girl who thinks she can help save the world. I disliked the ending, due to my personal beliefs about pregnancy and children. I read this mostly from curiosity, since it got lots of good reviews. ( )
  kwskultety | Jul 4, 2023 |
The narrator often annoyed me. I realize that’s because she rang mostly true, and I just don’t like her. Maybe I ended up respecting her by the end.

The SF premise is interesting and watching it play out kept me going. ( )
  DDtheV | Jun 14, 2022 |
I'm a little surprised at the accolades that this book has received; I found it in the new book section of my public library, and thought it was misfiled YA apocalyptic fiction. I was interested to read at the beginning of the story that the disease which was attacking the population was a modification of Creutzfield-Jakob, which is part of the family of prion diseases that have fascinated me for a long time, but there was not much further discussion about it, since Jessie did not have much firsthand contact with anyone with the disease. Overall, I though the book was styled much more like a young adult novel than an adult science fiction novel. Perhaps the faulty genre is why I felt it rated lower than it might have otherwise. ( )
  resoundingjoy | Jan 1, 2021 |
Not necessarily a great book, but I liked it quite a bit better than I expected to. Tonally, very reminiscent of Never Let Me Go (although I thought that was a better book). I don't expect to see it on the Booker shortlist, but I think it earned its place on the longlist. Recommended for fans of dystopian fiction. Especially if you liked The Handmaid's Tale. ( )
  GaylaBassham | May 27, 2018 |
Not necessarily a great book, but I liked it quite a bit better than I expected to. Tonally, very reminiscent of Never Let Me Go (although I thought that was a better book). I don't expect to see it on the Booker shortlist, but I think it earned its place on the longlist. Recommended for fans of dystopian fiction. Especially if you liked The Handmaid's Tale. ( )
  gayla.bassham | Nov 7, 2016 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 33 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha

Pertence à série publicada

Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Filmes relacionados
Epígrafe
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
'Another kind of light and life

Are to be mine...'

Iphigenia at Aulis, Euripedes
Dedicatória
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
For Wendy
Primeiras palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
The house is very quiet now he's gone.
Citações
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
You can't ever unknow things one you've heard them. They become part of you, they work inside you like yeast in the dough Sal and I made one weekend. You leave it on a board with a tea-towel over it, and it starts rising and changing its shape. It swells until it's become something else altogether.
To do something straightforward, where there would be no tangled argument and no compromise. Something that would make a difference to the world. Something it was within my power to do without having to rely on anyone else.
Últimas palavras
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico
LCC Canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism. The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will make The Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan's Y: The Last Man. "The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face. Like Jessie's, it is a small, calm voice of reason in a nonsensical world." --The Independent

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Autor LibraryThing

Jane Rogers é um Autor LibraryThing, um autor que lista a sua biblioteca pessoal na LibraryThing.

página do perfil | página de autor

Current Discussions

Nenhum(a)

Capas populares

Links rápidos

Avaliação

Média: (3.23)
0.5 2
1 7
1.5 1
2 13
2.5 6
3 27
3.5 10
4 32
4.5 5
5 9

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 208,803,044 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível