Página inicialGruposDiscussãoMaisZeitgeist
Pesquise No Site
Este site usa cookies para fornecer nossos serviços, melhorar o desempenho, para análises e (se não estiver conectado) para publicidade. Ao usar o LibraryThing, você reconhece que leu e entendeu nossos Termos de Serviço e Política de Privacidade . Seu uso do site e dos serviços está sujeito a essas políticas e termos.
Hide this

Resultados do Google Livros

Clique em uma foto para ir ao Google Livros

The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel de Sam…
Carregando...

The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel (edição: 2010)

de Sam Torode (Autor)

MembrosResenhasPopularidadeAvaliação médiaMenções
3392357,161 (3.55)2
A new novel for fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash. PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY says: "While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued." Semifinalist for the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.… (mais)
Membro:keenanblack
Título:The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel
Autores:Sam Torode (Autor)
Informação:CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2010), Edition: 3, 278 pages
Coleções:Sua biblioteca
Avaliação:
Etiquetas:Fiction, humor, romance, faith, religion, baptist, Texas, hobo, race relations

Detalhes da Obra

The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel de Sam Torode

Nenhum(a)
Carregando...

Registre-se no LibraryThing tpara descobrir se gostará deste livro.

Ainda não há conversas na Discussão sobre este livro.

» Veja também 2 menções

Mostrando 1-5 de 23 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
The Dirty Parts of the Bible
Sam Torode
Loved this book! It was about a over zealot preacher who sends his son to Texas to finding hidden money and the crazy adventures the son has along the way. The son, Tobias, befriends a hobo before finding family in Texas. His family in Texas take him in and he learns more about his dad and life. A fun, enjoyable, and thoughtful read. Could not stop once I started.
This is the second time I read it. Read it by ebook in 2015 and received an Audible book from freeaudiblecodes and finished it today. Still loved it. ( )
  MontzaleeW | Feb 17, 2021 |
Picked this up awhile ago on my Kindle. It is a fictional coming of age story about a young man named Toby who is the son of a fundamentalist pastor who gets drunk one night, loses his church and his eye sight to bird poop. Because Toby's dad can no longer provide for his family, he sends Toby back to Texas (where the family is from) to dig up a buried treasure from his singing days before he found Jesus.

Toby goes to Texas, but loses all his money in a whorehouse, loses his faith in God and loses the map to his father's buried treasure. But he does find a grand-guru-hobo-guide, his father's family farm and the girl of his dreams--a depressive, cursed woman named Sarah and in the end he finds faith.

This is a depression era retelling of the book of Tobit. This story is also partly based on the author's (Sam Torode) grand parents, who met and fell in love in the 1930s. This is a humorous book, a little tedious at times but entertaining. Toby and Craw are good characters. Sarah comes across a little wooden and flat. Not great literature but fun. ( )
  Jamichuk | May 22, 2017 |
A simple novel about a journey from the north to the Deep South; Tobias sets out on a quest to save his family. He returns home wiser and richer for the effort. ( )
  BoundTogetherForGood | Mar 31, 2017 |
This is the story of Tobias, the son of a Baptist preacher. Tobias' father is removed from his pulpit pulpit and because of that he sends Tobias to his family home in Texas where he has money hidden away. The story was okay. There were parts of the story that stalled, especially in the beginning which made it difficult to get into it. I did enjoyed Craw one of the characters Tobias meets on his journey and I wish the author would have spent more time on the characters. ( )
  mmoj | Mar 2, 2017 |
Well I didn't know what to expect by the title. This was the sweetest most heartfelt book of the year. It's a simple read with a lot of humor. Tobias is growing up in Remus, Michigan with a Baptist Bible beating preacher for a father. It's the 1930's and one day husband, Malachi pushes mama too far with his "wives be ye subject to your husband for he is the head of the house"so she cusses him right out of the house. He gets in his New Plymouth, after all the preacher needs a nice car to drive in the funeral processions, and ends up in a obscure little tavern. Now the Baptists are teetotalers all the way, so when the barkeep threatens to throw his vagrant ass out unless he orders. He orders apple juice. No apple juice ever graced the doors of that tavern and alter drinking a mug of hard cider and another and another, Malachi ends up with that shiny Plymouth halfway inside the church and he's arrested for being inebriated. The story gets better and better as Tobias moves on in search of kin folk in Texas, spending some time as a hobo. He meets. Craw, and finds kin and then Sarah. You will love this beautiful story based on the retelling of the ancient Jewish story of Tobias and Sarah.
The author dedicated it to his grandparents with a quote from the song of soloman:
"For love is stronger than death."Solomon 8:6 ( )
  jothebookgirl | Jan 3, 2017 |
Mostrando 1-5 de 23 (seguinte | mostrar todas)
sem resenhas | adicionar uma resenha
Você deve entrar para editar os dados de Conhecimento Comum.
Para mais ajuda veja a página de ajuda do Conhecimento Compartilhado.
Título canônico
Título original
Títulos alternativos
Data da publicação original
Pessoas/Personagens
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Lugares importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Eventos importantes
Informação do Conhecimento Comum em inglês. Edite para a localizar na sua língua.
Filmes relacionados
Premiações
Epígrafe
Dedicatória
Primeiras palavras
Citações
Últimas palavras
Aviso de desambiguação
Editores da Publicação
Autores Resenhistas (normalmente na contracapa do livro)
Idioma original
CDD/MDS canônico

Referências a esta obra em recursos externos.

Wikipédia em inglês

Nenhum(a)

A new novel for fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash. PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY says: "While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued." Semifinalist for the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

Não foram encontradas descrições de bibliotecas.

Descrição do livro
Resumo em haiku

Links rápidos

Capas populares

Avaliação

Média: (3.55)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 5
2.5 1
3 33
3.5 5
4 26
4.5 2
5 13

É você?

Torne-se um autor do LibraryThing.

 

Sobre | Contato | LibraryThing.com | Privacidade/Termos | Ajuda/Perguntas Frequentes | Blog | Loja | APIs | TinyCat | Bibliotecas Históricas | Os primeiros revisores | Conhecimento Comum | 157,049,507 livros! | Barra superior: Sempre visível