Where did everybody go?

DiscussãoShort Stories

Entre no LibraryThing para poder publicar.

Where did everybody go?

Este tópico está presentemente marcado como "inativo" —a última mensagem tem mais de 90 dias. Reative o tópico publicando uma resposta.

1jldarden
Jan 18, 2012, 10:00 pm

Recently got back into short stories after not reading any for a number of years. This is partly due to Eary Reviewers and Member Giveaway (I won some!). Went to my local St. Vinnie's and picked up a few collections, but this group appears inactive for some months.

2AnnieMod
Jan 19, 2012, 12:27 am

Around - waiting for someone else to show up :)

3aulsmith
Jan 19, 2012, 7:58 am

1: so what are you reading?

I'm currently reading more of The New Space Opera. The stories are mostly novellas, so I only read a couple and then give the book back to the library for a while.

4AnnieMod
Jan 19, 2012, 1:11 pm

I loved The New Space Opera when it got published. The New Space Opera 2 was equally good. :)

I am reading Detection by Gaslight just now. Plus a few fiction magazines.

5sqdancer
Jan 19, 2012, 1:27 pm

I've been dipping into Moonlight Sketches.

6ReadHanded
Jan 19, 2012, 2:09 pm

I recently finished Dagoberto Gilb's Before the End, After the Beginning. Pretty solid collection of short stories.

7jldarden
Jan 19, 2012, 5:55 pm

>3 aulsmith:; Starting Aesop Revisited from the member giveaway, then have New Stories from the South 2004 waiting.

8silloftheworld
Jan 20, 2012, 4:41 pm

I just joined the group. I write about short stories often on my blog (and often participate in a short story meme hosted on another blog).
http://thesilloftheworld.blogspot.com/p/short-fiction-recommendations.html

I look forward to discussions and recommendations from people here.

9alans
Jan 23, 2012, 1:11 pm

I just finished reading Zsuzsi Gartner's Better Living Through Plastic Explosives. I picked up this collection because it was the only short story book nominated for a Giller prize this year. I really didn't care for the selection. The stories were very sarcastic and they are written in this
hyper hysterical manner. A lot of short story writers today are writing in the vein of Stephen Millhauser and George Saundersand this collection reminded me somewhat of their work.

10jldarden
Mar 22, 2012, 9:28 pm

Just picked up New Stories from the South 2008 from ZZ Packer and Best New American Voices 2003 guest edited by Joyce Carol Oates at my friendly neighborhood St. Vinnies!

11Polaris-
Mar 28, 2012, 3:06 pm

Just joined this group - hello everyone! I've always loved short stories and am currently enjoying Our Story Begins by Tobias Wolff - a collection of selected and new stories from the American author of This Boy's Life and the fine novella The Barracks Thief.

12AnnieMod
Mar 28, 2012, 3:16 pm

Then welcome :)

I need to remember to post here when I am reading stories...

13Polaris-
Mar 28, 2012, 3:23 pm

Thanks Annie. I wasn't sure whether to post here or on the 'currently reading' thread?

14AnnieMod
Mar 28, 2012, 3:26 pm

Whichever you choose :) Or start a new one "What are you reading in 2012?" :) Does not really matter. The group is slow going so any of the topics is good enough :)

15Poquette
Mar 29, 2012, 7:18 pm

Thanks to AnnieMod, I just found this group! Been reading a collection of Angela Carter's short stories called Burning Your Boats. Love short stories, and looking forward to the April challenge!

16AnnieMod
Mar 29, 2012, 7:38 pm

Welcome on board :)

I've read The Bloody Chamber - I like her style; I do not really care for the stories much.

17Poquette
Mar 29, 2012, 7:52 pm

You might like Saints and Strangers better. That's the collection that introduced me to Carter, and I loved it. The Bloody Chamber wasn't too bad, but Fireworks I didn't care for at all. I guess there's something for everyone somewhere in there. The trick is to find it.

18AnnieMod
Mar 29, 2012, 7:55 pm

Yeah -- I may pick up Saints and Strangers -- I usually would give an author more than one chance to impress me :) Thanks for the recommendation.

19Polaris-
Mar 30, 2012, 5:52 am

I just have to say that I am really loving Tobias Wolff's short stories. I had a feeling I would as I really loved what I read of him last year. He is so subtle and believable. Great writing.

20Dampam88
Mar 30, 2012, 5:56 am

Este utilizador foi removido como sendo spam.

21dmsteyn
Mar 31, 2012, 4:18 am

Also found this group thanks to AnnieMod. I'm busy reading David Medalie's The Mistress's Dog: Short Stories 1996-2010. I know David personally - he's a professor in the English Department at the University of Pretoria - so I was a bit tentative about reading and commenting on his work, but I must say that it is very good and gives a wonderful sense of contemporary South Africa.

22AnnieMod
Mar 31, 2012, 4:49 am

For whoever had not seen the thread yet: http://www.librarything.com/topic/135063

Everyone is welcome in the challenge - if you want to read just 3 stories, then we call this Variant 5 and you are in :)

Welcome dmsteyn :)
Now this sound interesting...

23letterpress
Mar 31, 2012, 5:51 am

> 19

A while ago I read a collection of Wolff's short stories called In The Garden of North American Martyrs which I loved. It sounds like I need to seek out Our Story Begins.

24Polaris-
Mar 31, 2012, 9:14 pm

>23 letterpress:

It has four stories in it from In The Garden Of North American Martyrs and they were excellent. But there are about another twenty stories in the collection too. You'll love it.