Picture of author.
36+ Works 4,963 Membros 167 Reviews 10 Favorited

About the Author

Ntozake Shange was born Paulette Linda Williams in Trenton, New Jersey on October 18, 1948. She received a bachelor's degree from Barnard College in 1970 and a master's degree in American studies from the University of Southern California in 1973. She adopted her African name while in graduate mostrar mais school. She wrote 15 plays, 19 collections of poetry, six novels, five children's books, and three essay collections. Her choreopoem, For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow is Enuf, opened on Broadway in 1976 and received an Obie Award. She also received an Obie in 1981 for her adaptation of Bertold Brecht's Mother Courage and Her Children. Her trilogy, Three Pieces, won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Poetry in 1981. She died on October 27, 2018 at the age of 70. (Bowker Author Biography) mostrar menos
Image credit: Photo by Lilithcat

Séries

Obras de Ntozake Shange

Sassafrass, Cypress and Indigo (1982) 576 cópias, 5 resenhas
Ellington Was Not a Street (2004) 416 cópias, 47 resenhas
Coretta Scott (2009) 322 cópias, 29 resenhas
Betsey Brown (1985) 303 cópias, 6 resenhas
Some Sing, Some Cry (2010) 212 cópias, 5 resenhas
nappy edges (1978) 127 cópias
I Live in Music (1994) 112 cópias, 2 resenhas
A Daughter's Geography (1983) 91 cópias, 2 resenhas
Three Pieces (1981) 76 cópias, 1 resenha
If I Can Cook/You Know God Can (1998) 74 cópias, 1 resenha
We Troubled the Waters (2009) 68 cópias, 8 resenhas
Float Like a Butterfly (2002) 57 cópias, 1 resenha
Freedom's a-Callin Me (2012) 53 cópias, 8 resenhas

Associated Works

Passing (1929) — Introdução, algumas edições2,777 cópias, 104 resenhas
Race, Class, and Gender in the United States: An Integrated Study (1992) — Contribuinte, algumas edições518 cópias
Cries of the Spirit: A Celebration of Women's Spirituality (2000) — Contribuinte — 376 cópias, 3 resenhas
Breaking Ice: An Anthology of Contemporary African-American Fiction (1990) — Contribuinte — 276 cópias, 1 resenha
African American Poetry: 250 Years of Struggle and Song (2020) — Contribuinte — 181 cópias, 4 resenhas
Erotique Noire/Black Erotica (1992) — Contribuinte — 161 cópias, 1 resenha
Black Book (1980) — Prefácio, algumas edições133 cópias, 1 resenha
Black Women Writers at Work (1983) — Contribuinte — 132 cópias, 1 resenha
The Penguin Book of Women's Humour (1996) — Contribuinte — 120 cópias
Deep Down: The New Sensual Writing by Women (1988) — Contribuinte — 116 cópias
Tenderheaded: A Comb-Bending Collection of Hair Stories (2001) — Introdução — 92 cópias, 2 resenhas
Nine Plays by Black Women (1986) — Playwright — 87 cópias, 1 resenha
The Virago Book of Wicked Verse (1992) — Contribuinte — 83 cópias, 1 resenha
Wild Women Don't Wear No Blues (1993) — Contribuinte — 81 cópias
Honey, Hush! An Anthology of African American Women's Humor (1997) — Contribuinte — 78 cópias
Rotten English: A Literary Anthology (2007) — Contribuinte — 76 cópias, 1 resenha
Choice Words: Writers on Abortion (2020) — Contribuinte — 75 cópias
A Literary Christmas: Great Contemporary Christmas Stories (1992) — Contribuinte — 70 cópias
Racism and Sexism: An Integrated Study (1988) — Contribuinte — 62 cópias, 1 resenha
Moving Parts: Monologues from Contemporary Plays (1992) — Contribuinte — 60 cópias
Trouble the Water: 250 Years of African American Poetry (1997) — Contribuinte — 57 cópias
Midnight Birds: Stories by Contemporary Black Women Writers (1980) — Contribuinte — 46 cópias
The Seasons of Women: An Anthology (1995) — Contribuinte — 46 cópias
Sisterfire: Black Womanist Fiction and Poetry (1994) — Contribuinte — 46 cópias
Modern and Contemporary Drama (1958) — Contribuinte — 43 cópias, 1 resenha
Prejudice: A Story Collection (1995) — Contribuinte — 42 cópias
Dream Me Home Safely: Writers on Growing Up in America (2003) — Contribuinte — 40 cópias
I Hear a Symphony: African Americans Celebrate Love (1994) — Contribuinte — 33 cópias
A Way Out of No Way: Writing about Growing Up Black in America (1996) — Contribuinte — 33 cópias, 2 resenhas
Catch the Fire!!! (1998) — Contribuinte — 30 cópias, 1 resenha
Best American Plays: 8th Series, 1974-1982 (1983) — Contribuinte — 19 cópias
Wonders: Writings and Drawings for the Child in Us All (1980) — Contribuinte — 19 cópias
Bittersweet (1998) — Contribuinte — 10 cópias
360: A Revolution of Black Poets (1998) — Contribuinte — 9 cópias
Heresies 6: On Women and Violence (1978) — Contribuinte — 2 cópias
The Little Magazine, v. 10, #1-2, Spring Summer 1976 — Contribuinte — 1 exemplar(es)
The Little Magazine, v. 11, #1, Spring 1977 — Contribuinte — 1 exemplar(es)

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Membros

Resenhas

Poems on being black and a woman. Courage and female voice
 
Marcado
PendleHillLibrary | outras 23 resenhas | Jul 16, 2024 |
This choreopoem is somewhere between a poetry collection and a play. I found the introduction in this new updated edition incredibly helpful, because while I feel like I have seen this book around and been aware of it for ages, I didn't really know anything about it. The introduction described how this grew from a collection of poems into a performance piece, and then how it was updated over time.

This book is that harrowing kind of beautiful, that gives dignity by bearing witness to people living through difficult/impossible situations, that recognizes people fighting for their joy where they can find it, people surviving how they can.

The introduction also places the work in time, from its very beginnings in the mid-seventies to the way audience reactions have changed over time, to the legacy it has created for itself.

If it isn't clear, while I would have enjoyed this collection without the introduction, that context and history increased my understanding/connection/enjoyment of this piece several-fold.

This is beautiful but difficult. Please check the content warnings.

Recommended for fans of The Vagina Monologues, Shonda Rhimes, The Color Purple
… (mais)
½
 
Marcado
greeniezona | outras 23 resenhas | Feb 22, 2024 |
There is a reason a lot of this author's work here was unpublishied to this point. This is a very uneven compilation of over four hundred pages. Some selections are very good and some are not. I liked her poetry best but the plays and essays are many times lacking. Shange rejects traditional language and spelling (could becomes cd) ala Jack Kerowuac. Also, there is constant namedropping that has the editor working overtime with footnotes.
 
Marcado
muddyboy | Nov 26, 2023 |
 
Marcado
hcs_admin | outras 7 resenhas | Aug 18, 2023 |

Listas

Prêmios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
36
Also by
50
Membros
4,963
Popularidade
#5,055
Avaliação
3.9
Resenhas
167
ISBNs
171
Idiomas
3
Favorito
10

Tabelas & Gráficos