Picture of author.

Rafael Sabatini (1875–1950)

Autor(a) de Scaramouche

164+ Works 7,042 Membros 195 Reviews 33 Favorited

About the Author

Rafael Sabatini was born April 29, 1875 in Jesi, Italy. At a young age, Rafael was exposed to many languages, and attending school in Portugal and, as a teenager, in Switzerland. By the time he was seventeen, when he went to England to live permanently, he could speak five languages. He quickly mostrar mais added English and chose to write in his adopted language, because, he said, "all the best stories are written in English." After a brief stint in the business world, Sabatini went to work as a writer. He wrote short stories in the 1890s, and his first novel came out in 1902. It took Sabatini almost a quarter of century before he attained success with Scaramouche in 1921. It became an international best-seller. Captain Blood followed in 1922 and was equally as successful. Sabatini was a prolific writer; he produced a new book approximately every year. While he would never achieve the success of Scaramouche and Captain Blood, Sabatini still maintained a great deal of popularity with the reading public through the decades that followed. By the 1940s, illness forced the writer to slow his prolific method of composition. However, he did write several additional works even during that time. His body of work consists of 31 novels, 8 short story colections and 6 books of poetry. He died February 13, 1950 in Switzerland. He is buried at Adelboden, Switzerland. (Bowker Author Biography) mostrar menos
Image credit: Courtesy of the NYPL Digital Gallery (image use requires permission from the New York Public Library)

Séries

Obras de Rafael Sabatini

Scaramouche (1921) 1,764 cópias, 55 resenhas
Captain Blood (1922) 1,703 cópias, 57 resenhas
The Sea-Hawk (1915) — Autor — 637 cópias, 20 resenhas
Captain Blood Returns (1931) 172 cópias, 1 resenha
The Fortunes of Captain Blood (1936) 144 cópias
The Black Swan (1932) 142 cópias, 4 resenhas
The Life of Cesare Borgia (1912) 138 cópias, 5 resenhas
Mistress Wilding (1910) 128 cópias
Bardelys the Magnificent (1905) 111 cópias, 7 resenhas
The Tavern Knight (1904) 107 cópias, 2 resenhas
Bellarion (1926) 104 cópias, 3 resenhas
St. Martin's Summer (1909) 85 cópias, 1 resenha
Fortune's Fool (1923) 83 cópias
Captain Blood [1935 film] (1935) — Autor — 81 cópias, 2 resenhas
Master-At-Arms (1940) 77 cópias, 3 resenhas
The Snare (1917) 75 cópias
Scaramouche the King-Maker (1931) 74 cópias, 2 resenhas
The Hounds of God (1928) 67 cópias
The Lion's Skin (1911) 63 cópias
The Banner of the Bull (1915) 61 cópias
The Carolinian (1924) 61 cópias, 1 resenha
Venetian Masque (1934) 58 cópias, 2 resenhas
The Lost King (1937) 58 cópias, 1 resenha
Love-at-Arms (1907) 55 cópias, 1 resenha
The Trampling of the Lilies (1906) 53 cópias
The King's Minion (1930) 52 cópias, 2 resenhas
The Shame of Motley (1908) — Autor — 51 cópias
The Sword of Islam (1939) 47 cópias
The Romantic Prince (1929) 44 cópias
Chivalry (1935) 40 cópias, 2 resenhas
The Gates of Doom (1914) 34 cópias, 1 resenha
King in Prussia (1944) 34 cópias
The Gamester (1949) 34 cópias, 3 resenhas
The Stalking Horse (1933) 30 cópias
Scaramouche [1952 film] (2000) — Original novel — 28 cópias, 1 resenha
The Nuptials of Corbal (1927) 25 cópias
Columbus (1940) 25 cópias
The Suitors of Yvonne (1902) 22 cópias
A Century of Sea Stories (1935) 17 cópias
Turbulent Tales (1946) 12 cópias
The Rafael Sabatini Megapack (2012) 10 cópias
Justice Of The Duke (1900) 7 cópias
The reaping (1929) 5 cópias, 1 resenha
The Curate and the Actress 5 cópias, 4 resenhas
Heroic lives; (1934) 4 cópias
The Red Mask 4 cópias, 4 resenhas
The Outlaws of Falkensteig (2000) 3 cópias
A Fair Head of Fish Stories (1989) 2 cópias
Pavillon noir (1994) 2 cópias
Tartuffe (2015) 2 cópias
The Word of Borgia (2016) 2 cópias
Lásky kapitána Blooda (1992) 2 cópias
The Spiritualist 2 cópias
Saga of the Sea 2 cópias
Fortune’s Fool 1 exemplar(es)
Rytíř z taverny 1 exemplar(es)
HISTORIALLISIA ÖITÄ 1 exemplar(es)
Scaramouche Livro 1 (1991) 1 exemplar(es)
The Lust of Conquest 1 exemplar(es)
Avonturier of edelman 1 exemplar(es)
BARDELYS EL MAGNÍFICO 1 exemplar(es)
Capitán Blood 1 exemplar(es)
R. Sabatini - IL FAVORITO Sonzogno (1960) 1 exemplar(es)
Kapitan Blood 1 exemplar(es)
Bellarion : Annen del 1 exemplar(es)
Havr̜nen 1 exemplar(es)
De fiere vrijbuiter 1 exemplar(es)
En el umbral de la muerte (1947) 1 exemplar(es)
Kuningattaren lähetti (1973) 1 exemplar(es)
Il giocatore: romanzo 1 exemplar(es)
Sangue sul fiordaliso 1 exemplar(es)
Brethren of the Main (2015) 1 exemplar(es)
Door plicht overwonnen 1 exemplar(es)
Paola (1970) 1 exemplar(es)
El Hombre de paja 1 exemplar(es)
Novelas de aventuras 1 exemplar(es)
Casanova's Alibi and Other Stories (2010) 1 exemplar(es), 1 resenha
Wirgman's Theory (2014) 1 exemplar(es)
The Fool's Love Story 1 exemplar(es)
The Treasure Ship (2004) 1 exemplar(es)
Suurepärane bardelys (2005) 1 exemplar(es)
El favorito 1 exemplar(es)
El príncipe romantico (1975) 1 exemplar(es)
Historical Night' Entertainment 1 exemplar(es), 1 resenha
O gavião do mar 1 exemplar(es)
Lo sparviero del mare 1 exemplar(es)
Antonio Wilding novela 1 exemplar(es), 1 resenha
De dolende heilige 1 exemplar(es)
The Plague of Ghosts 1 exemplar(es)
The Fortunes of Lal Faversham (2005) 1 exemplar(es)
In dienst der Borgia's 1 exemplar(es)
De lelies vertrapt 1 exemplar(es)
Onder dubbele vermomming 1 exemplar(es)
Op de drempel des doods 1 exemplar(es)

Associated Works

The Big Book of Adventure Stories (2011) — Contribuinte — 118 cópias, 3 resenhas
Murder Most Scottish (1656) — Contribuinte — 94 cópias, 1 resenha
The Oxford Book of Historical Stories (1994) — Contribuinte — 41 cópias
The Black Swan [1942 film] (1942) — Original novel — 39 cópias, 1 resenha
Graphic Classics: Adventure Classics (2005) 25 cópias, 1 resenha
Great English Short Stories (1930) — Contribuinte — 19 cópias, 1 resenha
Fifty Strangest Stories Ever Told (1937) — Contribuinte — 8 cópias
Christopher Columbus [1949 film] (2011) — Original novel — 5 cópias, 1 resenha
The book of the sea trout (1917) — Editor — 5 cópias, 1 resenha
Fisherman's pie : an angling symposium (1926) — Introdução — 3 cópias, 1 resenha
Adventure Tales #7: Classic Tales from the Pulps (2014) — Contribuinte — 2 cópias
Adventure, June 3, 1921 (1921) — Contribuinte — 2 cópias
Ellery Queen's 1966 Anthology — Contribuinte — 1 exemplar(es)
Adventure [Vol. 3 No. 2, December 1911] (1911) — Contribuinte — 1 exemplar(es)

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Nome padrão
Sabatini, Rafael
Data de nascimento
1875-04-29
Data de falecimento
1950-02-13
Local de enterro
Adelboden, Switzerland
Sexo
male
Nacionalidade
Italy (birth)
UK (naturalization)
Local de nascimento
Jesi, Italy
Local de falecimento
Adelboden, Switzerland
Locais de residência
Iesi, Italy
Lancashire, England, UK
Porto, Portugal
Zug, Switzerland
Liverpool, England, UK
London, England, UK (mostrar todas 8)
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales, UK
Adelboden, Switzerland
Ocupação
translator
short-story writer
historical novelist
intelligence agent
Relacionamentos
Stuart, Hamish (friend)
Pequena biografia
"He was born with a gift of laughter and a sense that the world was mad," describes Sabatini's most famous character, Scaramouche, and perhaps the author himself. His works were an international success in his own time and are still popular. Best known are his swashbucklers -- many of whom have been made into films -- and his books about Cesare Borgia.

Membros

Resenhas

Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Having previously read Sabatini’s Captain Blood and Mistress Wilding I was drawn to this selection for the type of swashbuckling adventure that made Errol Flynn famous. These short works are mysteries in the vein of Doyle and Christie. Can hypnosis (mesmirism) be used to convince someone to commit a crime? Hmm. 🧐 We shall see. If the author hadn’t transitioned into adventure writing he could easily have been one of the great mystery writers of the early 20th century.
 
Marcado
varielle | outras 5 resenhas | Jul 15, 2024 |
A novel about Napoleon’s capture of the city-state that was Venice .
An Englishman travels to Venice in the hope he may help it protect itself from Napoleon. He also comes courting the daughter of a count. He gets involved in a case of mistaken identity. An exciting romp through an event we know only partially as Americans.
 
Marcado
waldhaus1 | 1 outra resenha | Jul 8, 2024 |
Esta resenha foi escrita no âmbito dos Primeiros Resenhistas do LibraryThing.
Rafael Sabatini was the master of swashbuckling adventure tales in the early years of the twentieth century that were consumed like candy and impossible to put down! The Sea Hawk, Captain Blood and Scaramouche were among the best of it's kind and I still have fond memories of discovering him in my early teens.

Early in his career Sabatini was apparently fascinated by hypnotism and the cult-like following that grew around that pseudo-science. The Hypnotic Tales of Rafael Sabatini, edited by Donald K. Hartman, gathers in one volume the two stories that Sabatini penned on the subject. The Avenger appeared in 1909 and features Roger Galliphant, a medical man who has transferred his interest to psychic research. With characters that are larger than life and typical of the era, the story of an evil mesmerist, foresaken love, heroic detective work and, of course, an imposing mist-ridden castle adds to the excitement. If you like hypnotic adventure tales, this is for you.
If anything, the second tale, The Dream may be even more interesting in concept. Our hero Galliphant appears again in this story but only at the end to solve the mystery and explain what we just witnessed. Good stuff!
… (mais)
 
Marcado
abealy | outras 5 resenhas | May 23, 2024 |
Old style romantic adventure with love but not explicit sex, violence but not graphic. Didn't know about prisoners from Monmouth rebellion being sold as slaves.
 
Marcado
ritaer | outras 56 resenhas | May 17, 2024 |

Listas

Prêmios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
164
Also by
15
Membros
7,042
Popularidade
#3,480
Avaliação
4.0
Resenhas
195
ISBNs
925
Idiomas
16
Favorito
33

Tabelas & Gráficos