Picture of author.

Daniel Mallory (2) (1979–)

Autor(a) de The Woman in the Window

Para outros autores com o nome Daniel Mallory, veja a página de desambiguação.

3 Works 6,416 Membros 345 Reviews

Obras de Daniel Mallory

The Woman in the Window (2018) — Pseudonym; Autor — 6,222 cópias
End of Story (2024) 178 cópias
The Ways (2020) — Autor — 16 cópias

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

Nome padrão
Mallory, Daniel
Nome de batismo
Mallory, Daniel
Outros nomes
Finn, A.J.
Brown, Simon
Data de nascimento
1979-01-02
Sexo
male
Nacionalidade
USA
Local de nascimento
New York, New York, USA
Locais de residência
New York, New York, USA
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Ocupação
editor
publisher
author
Organizações
William Morrow and Company
Pequena biografia
I'm A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW -- a debut novel that Stephen King describes as "remarkable" and I call "the best I could do." Guess which quote appears on the jacket.

THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW has been sold in 43 territories around the globe. The film adaptation, starring Amy Adams, Gary Oldman, and Julianne Moore, will be released worldwide in autumn 2019. The movie directed by Joe Wright, written by Tracy Letts, and produced by Scott Rudin.

I spent a decade working in publishing in both New York and London, with a particular emphasis on thrillers and mysteries. Now I write full-time, to the relief of my former colleagues. THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW was inspired by a range of experiences: my lifelong love affair with suspense fiction, from the Sherlock Holmes stories I devoured as a kid to the work of Patricia Highsmith, whom I studied at the graduate level at Oxford; my passion for classic cinema, especially the films of Alfred Hitchcock; and my struggles with depression and mental health. The result, I hope, is a psychological thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Kate Atkinson, among others.

Stuff I love: reading; swimming; cooking; dogs; ice cream; travel. (Note that third semicolon. It's crucial. I do not love cooking dogs.) I collect first-edition books and enjoy spending time with my French bulldog, Ike.

Membros

Resenhas

Liked this. Some twists I got, some I didn't. My favorite bit was the mention of The Woman in the Window, as how one of the characters felt. Way to discretely plant the seed for reading an earlier work of the author, if you hadn't already (but I had, and that was in part why I picked up this one.) 2024 read.
 
Marcado
bookczuk | outras 6 resenhas | Jun 15, 2024 |
A reclusive author, Sebastian Trapp, contacts Nicky Hunter, who has been corresponding with him about his novels for years, and invites her to his home to write the end of his story. Nicky travels to CA, where she meets his wife, Diana, his nephew Freddy, and his daughter, Madeleine. There is an air of mystery around his home and his life as 20 years earlier, on NYE 1999, Sebastian's first wife, Hope and his young son, Cole, disappeared without a trace. Many think Sebastian is guilty of their murders, and Nicky is there to dig into the past. Both Madeleine and Nicky question Sebastian, and slowly he reveals more and more of himself.
I figured out part of the mystery partway through, as there are several obvious clues. However, I didn't know the final 2 mysteries. Not as tense as his first novel, but still an OK mystery.
… (mais)
 
Marcado
rmarcin | outras 6 resenhas | Jun 5, 2024 |
Such potential.All the elements were there for a great mystery. The plot got lost in the endless, boring descriptions of everything that wasn't necessary to move the mystery along.
Tedious!
I was bored but plodded along to find out the big Endowment. Yawn!
This should be taught in writing seminars as to how NOT to write a mystery.
A.waste of time.
I also disliked his debut thriller, The Woman in the Window.
I should have known.
Giving his future books a hard pass.
 
Marcado
silversurfer | outras 6 resenhas | May 29, 2024 |
Anna Fox mora sozinha na bela casa que um dia abrigou sua família feliz. Separada do marido e da filha e sofrendo de uma fobia que a mantém reclusa, ela passa os dias bebendo (muito) vinho, assistindo a filmes antigos, conversando com estranhos na internet e... espionando os vizinhos. Quando os Russells – pai, mãe e o filho adolescente – se mudam para a casa do outro lado do parque, Anna fica obcecada por aquela família perfeita. Até que certa noite, bisbilhotando através de sua câmera, ela vê na casa deles algo que a deixa aterrorizada e faz seu mundo – e seus segredos chocantes – começar a ruir. Mas será que o que testemunhou aconteceu mesmo? O que é realidade? O que é imaginação? Existe realmente alguém em perigo? E quem está no controle? Neste thriller diabolicamente viciante, ninguém – e nada – é o que parece. "A Mulher Na Janela" é um suspense psicológico engenhoso e comovente que remete ao melhor de Hitchcock.… (mais)
 
Marcado
GiselleJanuario | outras 337 resenhas | May 16, 2024 |

Listas

Prêmios

You May Also Like

Associated Authors

Estatísticas

Obras
3
Membros
6,416
Popularidade
#3,838
Avaliação
½ 3.7
Resenhas
345
ISBNs
90
Idiomas
13

Tabelas & Gráficos