Picture of author.

Amber Cowie

Autor(a) de Rapid Falls

5 Works 216 Membros 14 Reviews

Obras de Amber Cowie

Rapid Falls (2018) 112 cópias, 6 resenhas
Last One Alive (2022) 45 cópias, 1 resenha
Raven Lane (2019) 26 cópias, 4 resenhas
Loss Lake (2020) 18 cópias, 2 resenhas
The Off Season (2024) 15 cópias, 1 resenha

Etiquetado

Conhecimento Comum

There is no Common Knowledge data for this author yet. You can help.

Membros

Resenhas

If you love suspense novels, you're going to want to pick Amber Cowie's new book - The Off Season.

The set up for this tale was perfect! Jane has just married a man she's known for only six months, he's thirteen years older, has a teenage daughter and has been married already. Jane doesn't want children and is rebounding from something that went very bad in her work. A recipe for disaster? Maybe. How about adding in being caretakers for a remote lodge in the winter? Oh definitely yes...

The setting is wonderfully described. The lodge is large and luxurious. The forest surrounding the lodge beautiful - but also dangerous. And this crossed my thoughts...Redrum...

Cowie's character building is perfect. The dynamics between Jane and Dom are still in the honeymoon stage. But relations between Jane and Dom's daughter Sienna, are fractious, to say the least. The past is also a character in the plot. But is anyone telling the truth at all?

Oh my gosh - with every chapter Cowie builds and builds the tension in the lodge. There was no way I was going to stop reading! The plotting is great - I had no idea how things were to going to play out. Cowie kept me guessing right through to the last pages.

The Off Season is a fantastic entry for your summer reading list!
… (mais)
 
Marcado
Twink | May 14, 2024 |
SPOILERS: This book was out of my comfort zone. You can tell that the narrator is unreliable rather early on, and she definitely had a nasty personality. The story was told in two time lines (past and present). The ending was good for the story.
#amazonfirstreadsbacklog
#20booksofsummer23
 
Marcado
TheReadingNerd | outras 5 resenhas | Oct 22, 2023 |
Drugs, family dysfunction, and sexcapades of the semi wealthy and formerly famous play a big role in this domestic drama. I had high hopes for this one and while it started out well enough the pace was rather slow and the story dragged out longer than necessary. I would have enjoyed it more if any of the main characters had been likable. Perhaps others may enjoy it more than I did, I didn't really feel invested in the outcome.

I received an advance copy for review.
 
Marcado
IreneCole | outras 3 resenhas | Jul 27, 2022 |
The premise of Amber Cowie's new book, Last One Alive, hooked me right away.

What's it about? From the publisher: "A team of researchers exploring the myth of a witch find their numbers mysteriously dwindling in this irresistible psychological thriller for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari Lapena, and Lucy Foley."

I love 'locked room' mysteries. In this case, it's ten people on the site of an historic crime. And yes, one by one they die. But here's the thing that kept me guessing 'til the final pages. Is it the curse of the witch? Is there really something to the legends? Or is one of the ten turning on their fellow researchers?

Penelope is the organizer of the trip. While she has a good reason for the trip and says and does all the right things, I didn't like her. Or any of the ten for that matter. There's something 'off' with each and every one of them. Which only serves to have more suspects!

The setting descriptions easily conjured up a detailed picture in my mind. The isolation, the forest, the rocky beach, the old outbuildings and more all add to the unsettled feeling of the endeavor.

But what I enjoyed the most was trying to solve the whodunit - keeping track of who was where at a certain time, who was together, what was overheard, what was found. (I always wanted to be Nancy Drew.)

I did find some chapters ended quite abruptly and I would have to flip back to make sure I hadn't missed something.

Cowie's book is well written, not easy to suss out and kept me interested right through to the final pages.
… (mais)
 
Marcado
Twink | May 12, 2022 |

Listas

You May Also Like

Estatísticas

Obras
5
Membros
216
Popularidade
#103,224
Avaliação
½ 3.3
Resenhas
14
ISBNs
18

Tabelas & Gráficos